5,593,293 Members 32,686 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GApps on the Nook Tablet

Tip us?
 
anlog
Old
(Last edited by anlog; 20th November 2011 at 11:14 AM.) Reason: Cleaned up entire original post...
#1  
anlog's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 495
Join Date: May 2006
Default GApps on the Nook Tablet

Ok (after rooting) here is how I installed GApps (Market, Google Framework, etc) on the Nook Tablet, as well as the steps I took to stabilize everything...

1. Downloaded GApps package from goo-inside.me and extracted files.
2. Deleted the setupwizard.apk file from the set of extracted files (in the system\app folder).
3. Copied "system" folder from extracted files to tablet via USB.
4. Used Root Explorer to remount /system and copy files into their designated locations, and also set permissions (644) on all copied apk's in /system/app folder.
5. Rebooted.
6. Ran the market, signed in with my Google account, and downloaded/installed Superuser. Ran the binary update within the app.
7. Install any additional apps from Android Market.
8. Profit.

Known issues...

1. If setupwizard.apk ends up on your tablet you will not be happy.
2. A factory reset is recommended after installing GApps (though probably not necessary).
3. Not all apps show in the Market. Perhaps a build.prop tweak will fix this???


Enjoy!!!
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to anlog For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ms2003
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 121
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ShangHai
this is a second good news after rooting!
 
Indirect
Old
(Last edited by Indirect; 20th November 2011 at 10:39 AM.)
#3  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2939
Posts: 2,317
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
anlong:
Use either wireless adb found here: https://market.android.com/details?i...es.adbWireless
or use debugging toggle found here: http://code.google.com/p/secure-sett...a.apk&can=2&q=
^ instructions for that:
Download ADBWidget.apk
Copy ADBWidget.apk to /system/app (you can use root explorer or something.)
Add ADBWidget to your home screen



My Google Plus account
My Twitter
Shiftless evo shift developer
Nook Tablet developer-found root (here)

Quote:
Without developers this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.
Developed on the following devices: Evo View, Nook Tablet, Evo Shift, Nexus S 4G (private), Evo 4G (private), Mytouch 4g Slide, Evo LTE, HTC One (In Progress), Moto X
The Following User Says Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
trippmcnealy
Old
(Last edited by trippmcnealy; 20th November 2011 at 04:14 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 213
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Anlog,

I was able to get SuperUser installed following the directions on the other discussion! Thanks for much for all your hard work.

Working on getting Google Apps installed right now.

Update: Well I have SuperUser on my Nook, but whenever I try to copy anything to \system\app it tells me I don't have permissions. Looks like I can't get root to actually run.
 
Indirect
Old
#5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2939
Posts: 2,317
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
run chmod 4755 /system/bin/su



My Google Plus account
My Twitter
Shiftless evo shift developer
Nook Tablet developer-found root (here)

Quote:
Without developers this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.
Developed on the following devices: Evo View, Nook Tablet, Evo Shift, Nexus S 4G (private), Evo 4G (private), Mytouch 4g Slide, Evo LTE, HTC One (In Progress), Moto X
 
bkerk25
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Mar 2011
which version of Gapps do I need Cyanogen 6 MDPI?
 
anlog
Old
#7  
anlog's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 495
Join Date: May 2006
Make sure root is fully working before you try to install GApps. Use the latest ones for CM7 (I think its from August). You need to remount /system as RW before copying the files and setting permissions. Root Explorer lets you do all of that.

All of this could be done with an ADB script as well, but I won't have time to write one today. Anyone?
 
Drewmungus
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 538
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by anlog View Post
3. Not all apps show in the Market. Perhaps a build.prop tweak will fix this???


Enjoy!!!
Chainfire should fix it too, and youll be able to run all the tegra 2 also.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus(Prime!)CDMA/LTE:CM9
HTC EVO 3D: CM7
B&N Nook Tablet:Waiting for CM7/9
HTC EVO 4G:CM7
HTC G1:CM7
HTC Hero(CDMA):CM7
 
RussianMenace
Old
#9  
RussianMenace's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 499
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewmungus View Post
Chainfire should fix it too, and youll be able to run all the tegra 2 also.
Do not install chainfire! I just tried it and it boot-looped, had to force factory restore.
Are you new to XDA?
Did someone help you? Did they answer your question? If so, THANK THEM!
-#-#- Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Some JB ROM -#-#-
 
bkerk25
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 379
Join Date: Mar 2011
Finally figured out what was wrong initially, root does not seem to work unless you manually enter commands. Attempted market setup, for some reason it is still force closing every time. Any chance someone who got it working could upload exact files they used.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes