Post Reply

[Q] Nook device won't show up in adb?

21st November 2011, 03:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Currently I'm trying this guide:
Nook Tablet "One Click Root" + gapps ADB script
but I've been trying various guides all day. The drivers are there, debugging enabled, auto mount disabled, robot in the bottom corner but when I run ADB Devices, no dice. Anyone have any clues what the problem could be or atleast anyone else having this problem? At first I thought it might be because I was using a different USB cord but it still doesn't work even with the Nook cord
21st November 2011, 03:37 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Bend
Thanks Meter: 265
 
1,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
The problem you describe is almost guaranteed to be a problem on your computer and the driver installation.

For the folks here to help, they will need to know platform (PC or mac) and version of operating system.

If Windows, they will need to know how the device appears to Device manager. If it shows up as a disk drive - you will have to disconnect from the Nook side. ADB Composite should be good.

For either platform, confirm that adb_usb.ini is in the right place and modified correctly.
Last edited by rmm200; 21st November 2011 at 02:59 PM. Reason: Typo
21st November 2011, 03:39 AM   |  #3  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,957
 
2,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
No, you're wrong dude above me.

OP: Run this in cmd prompt
Code:
echo 0x2080 > %username%\.android\adb_usb.ini
You need to have your nook tablet unplugged when you run that then you would see nook tablet in the device manager when you plug it back in.
Last edited by Indirect; 21st November 2011 at 03:44 AM.
21st November 2011, 03:45 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indirect

No, you're wrong dude above me.

OP: Run this in cmd prompt

Code:
echo 0x2080 > %username%\.android\adb_usb.ini

"Cannot find the path specified." But I can locate the file myself in that directory??

I'm running Windows 7 64-bit, device shows up as android phone>androud ADB interface.
21st November 2011, 03:51 AM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,957
 
2,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
My bad it's
Code:
echo 0x2080 > "%USERPROFILE%\.Android\adb_usb.ini
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 03:58 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Check, still nothing in ADB, i did restart the server too. To be clear, the .ini file only has the "0x2080" line in it now, nothing else. I'm assuming that's ok because the other stuff was commented out anyway, am I right?

(thanks for your help! )
21st November 2011, 04:00 AM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,957
 
2,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
1) look in device manager now though, you need to install the drivers.
The Following User Says Thank You to Indirect For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 04:06 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I still see it listed under android phone > android ADB interface and not mass storage or anything like that, you think that's still the problem though?

*Edit*
SUCCESS!! I uninstalled the "Android ADB Interface" and "Android Composite ADB Interface" appeared in its place!!(??) Whatever happened the device show up now. Thanks for the help and keep up the good work Indirect!
Last edited by Benjyp; 21st November 2011 at 04:12 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Benjyp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 06:48 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indirect

My bad it's

Code:
echo 0x2080 > "%USERPROFILE%\.Android\adb_usb.ini

I was having problems seeing the Nook Tablet in adb devices, but this fixed it for me.
21st November 2011, 10:54 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Bossier City
Thanks Meter: 4
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I was having the same issue for a bit, restarted my nook and it worked haha.

Sent from my BNTV250 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nook Tablet General by ThreadRank