Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[DEV] - HomeCatcher Redirect n Button to any Launcher

OP gojimi

21st November 2011, 09:17 AM   |  #1  
gojimi's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 811
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
OK, Based on feedback here sounds like this is working properly. I have uploaded a new version 2.1 this is mostly just code clean up on my end as well as a better icon etc.

Installation Instructions:

Sideload HomeCatcher, also make sure you have an Alternative Launcher installed ie. ADW, Launcher Pro, VTL.Launcher.

Here is the key as HomeCatcher is a Background Process it works in the background no need to even open the app itself, that part of the app is there for information purposes only.

After install the first time you press the (n) you are presented with a menu asking you to select which app to complete the action with one of the options will be HomeCatcher if you select HomeCatcher while also selecting "use as default" on that popup menu the next press of the (n) button will present you with a menu asking which Alternative Launcher you wish to use and also allows you to set that option as default.... the content of this popup depends on the alternative Launchers you have already installed, ex. ADW, VTL.Launcher, GoLauncher.

following setting both HomeCatcher as default and then your Alternative Launcher as default.

When you hit the (n) button depending on your setup first push brings up little bottom screen nook menu second push it should make it act like a normal home button taking you to your alternative launcher. Some setups may operate differently. Just uninstall the app to return n button to normal nook operation.

If you have any issues during install (ie. selecting the wrong option as default etc.) you can kind of reset those defaults with two actions. Number one. Uninstall HomeCatcher. Navigate to the Settings/Applications section and find all the alternative launcher apps you have installed and open each ones details page and if the Clear Defaults Button is clickable Click it... also do this for the Main Nook Home app. Once you have done this reboot your Nook Tablet and reinstall HomeCatcher... making sure to read and select appropriately each popup box when pressing the (n) button for the first few times.

Please Provide Feedback..... Constructive Feedback Please (ie. Logs, errors, etc.)

********** ROM Devs can feel free to INCLUDE it in any work no prior permission required. *********************


http://vegantab.gojimi.com/download/HomeCatcher2_1.apk
Last edited by gojimi; 24th January 2012 at 08:25 PM. Reason: Better instructions etc.
The Following 58 Users Say Thank You to gojimi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 09:23 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,961
 
2,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Perfect! just what I was looking for! We already removed home and it doesn't do anything too bad, says it cant start intent: com.bn.blah.blah
21st November 2011, 09:24 AM   |  #3  
gojimi's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 811
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
well... I may need the home apk from the tablet if this doesn't work so that I can get the proper intent.... so if you have it available post it up for me. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to gojimi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 09:25 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,961
 
2,324 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
intent is:
<action android:name="com.bn.intent.action.home" />


been working on this all night so had it ready.
21st November 2011, 09:26 AM   |  #5  
gojimi's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 811
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
well that's the one I am attempting to override.... so hopefully it works!
21st November 2011, 09:28 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
This seems to work. The only thing I notice is that you press it once and it brings up the bottom toolbar, press again and it gives you the "complete using" dialog. I like it. Do you know if there is a way to make long press on the n act like the menu button. Dont know if that is possible but if it is, it would be amazing! Thank you for releasing this.
21st November 2011, 09:30 AM   |  #7  
gojimi's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 811
 
245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Long press is usually not overrideable..... but I will look into that.
The Following User Says Thank You to gojimi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 10:23 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Works perfectly for me, thanks!
21st November 2011, 02:20 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Works good, not sure what i think about it bringing up the menu first tho. Would be nice to have the option to disable that if possible.

But yea i prefer it even as-is more than button savor. Good job!
21st November 2011, 03:24 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Works great for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes