Thread Closed

[APP] PDroid - The Better Privacy Protection [2012-03-18: Bugfixes in Patch 1.32]

OP svyat

26th April 2012, 09:13 AM   |  #1291  
Uzephi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 444
 
1,332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jahrule

I agree with you but then you would need root.

Already pretty much requires root. It needs a rom that is deodex'd which almost all of them are custom roms which are rooted.

One reason you need to patch it in cwm or bsr is due to it needing to 'fix' jar files. If you read why this isn't a background app (security issues and holes at start up and system may shut it down when memory is needed)

The way it works is tweaking with the permissions given to apps and changes values they receive.

End rant

sent from my CM7'd X2 using XDA
Last edited by Uzephi; 26th April 2012 at 09:17 AM.
26th April 2012, 09:21 AM   |  #1292  
Uzephi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 444
 
1,332 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicholasQ

I think he needs to just have the app patch roms. This seems like too much trouble and lots of confusion. Would be better to have the app with a button that patches, reboots and you're done.

Sent from my Nexus S using xda premium

There is an app like that. It needs root. Called privacy blocker. The "patching" takes 10-20mins depending on your phone/tablet and sometimes it doesnt work.

Also Privacy blocker doesnt notify you when it blocks something. And because of the nature of the app, most newer apps or updated ones block it.


in short, an app that does what you want is time consuming and does violate the copyright agreement of apps since it would be 'modifying' something some one owns and has distributed on the google play store. This app svyat made doesn't modify the app that is owned by its creator but modifies how an open source OS (android OS) deals with it's permissions


sent from my CM7'd X2 using XDA
Last edited by Uzephi; 26th April 2012 at 09:38 AM. Reason: last paragraph
26th April 2012, 11:57 AM   |  #1293  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I have a problem with the PDROID patch I made for Cyanogenmod 7.2 Rc1 (kang, unofficial build by Adfad approx 20th April) on Lg Optimus One. I try to patch the rom, it completes, I flash it but when it comes to boot the bootanimation freezes and to use the phone I have to remove the battery and flash again the "restore" patch. What am I doing wrong? I've already tried mounting /system.
Thanks.
26th April 2012, 01:07 PM   |  #1294  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnaPolymerase

I have a problem with the PDROID patch I made for Cyanogenmod 7.2 Rc1 (kang, unofficial build by Adfad approx 20th April) on Lg Optimus One. I try to patch the rom, it completes, I flash it but when it comes to boot the bootanimation freezes and to use the phone I have to remove the battery and flash again the "restore" patch. What am I doing wrong? I've already tried mounting /system.
Thanks.

Try pdroid 1.31 or 1.27

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to c-pimp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 02:53 PM   |  #1295  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 371
 
847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krzych

HEY!!! Where's the LINUX PATCHER?!? (I mean official one in the original first post)

The 'official' Linux patcher got discontinued. There are still older versions floating, as were reposted a few posts above your question, but if you want PDroid in Linux, your best bet is either patching the source directly or running a Windows VM.
26th April 2012, 10:01 PM   |  #1296  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnaPolymerase

I have a problem with the PDROID patch I made for Cyanogenmod 7.2 Rc1 (kang, unofficial build by Adfad approx 20th April) on Lg Optimus One. I try to patch the rom, it completes, I flash it but when it comes to boot the bootanimation freezes and to use the phone I have to remove the battery and flash again the "restore" patch. What am I doing wrong? I've already tried mounting /system.
Thanks.

Same here, Checkrom V6 and 1,27
26th April 2012, 10:28 PM   |  #1297  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by svyat

Thanks for all the bug reports guys. I'll look into them when I'm done with the ICS port. BTW, if you want to get notified as soon as it's ready, you can follow me on Twitter (@svyath).

Can't wait to test the upgrade! I refuse to upgrade to ICS until this works. Once you have PDroid, you can't go back to a ROM without it!

Anything I can do to help, let me know!
26th April 2012, 10:52 PM   |  #1298  
Bartapuce's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by douglatins

Same here, Checkrom V6 and 1,27

Again, for Checkrom V6 search the rom thread.

Patch made by Sileshnair and working perfectly.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ostcount=14144
27th April 2012, 12:43 AM   |  #1299  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlPapu

Can't wait to test the upgrade! I refuse to upgrade to ICS until this works. Once you have PDroid, you can't go back to a ROM without it!

Anything I can do to help, let me know!

Same here, since the first leaked roms for SGSII, only upgrade permanently after PDroid for ICS comes out
27th April 2012, 01:41 AM   |  #1300  
mnjm9b's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 149
 
917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
+1 I have no interest in upgrading without Pdroid...

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, block, pdroid, permissions, privacy, protection
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Apps and Games by ThreadRank