Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][12-7]TPC v3 2.3.5 | Da_G OC Kernel | IMG Flash | ATT | Rogers |

OP twopumpchump

25th November 2011, 09:23 AM   |  #21  
CZ Eddie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 1,082
 
3,754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
About 30 hours now on TPC ROM + 0.3 and 0.4 Da_G kernel.
No problems really.
But 4G HSPA download speeds have never gone above 6Mbps, while I can often get up to 9Mbps at certain times of the day in certain locations.
So I'm missing up to 3Mbps download speeds.

---------- Post added at 02:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:40 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie

About 30 hours now on TPC ROM + 0.3 and 0.4 Da_G kernel.
No problems really.
But 4G HSPA download speeds have never gone above 6Mbps, while I can often get up to 9Mbps at certain times of the day in certain locations.
So I'm missing up to 3Mbps download speeds.

Just flashed SkyROCKeteer and it's not doing any better download-wise either.
25th November 2011, 06:06 PM   |  #22  
twopumpchump's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 359
 
4,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie

About 30 hours now on TPC ROM + 0.3 and 0.4 Da_G kernel.
No problems really.
But 4G HSPA download speeds have never gone above 6Mbps, while I can often get up to 9Mbps at certain times of the day in certain locations.
So I'm missing up to 3Mbps download speeds.

---------- Post added at 02:23 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:40 AM ----------



Just flashed SkyROCKeteer and it's not doing any better download-wise either.

Data speeds vary so much it is virtually impossible to test on rom over another one unless you have two phones testing at the same time. There is no reason I can think of that would make this rom have slower data speeds...all of the apn/csv files came from the att stock rom and i haven't changed anything in build.prop. I have tested my speeds and they seem to be around the same as they were with the att stock, but like i said it is nearly impossible to be for sure.
1st December 2011, 01:22 AM   |  #23  
twopumpchump's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 359
 
4,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
v2 up, link in OP.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to twopumpchump For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st December 2011, 03:31 AM   |  #24  
CZ Eddie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 1,082
 
3,754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Data works (non-LTE user) & has 4G icon.
Phone works.
Shutdown screen has that ugly red Rogers animation.
Shutdown menu is pretty nice.
It may have a Da_G kernel but it does not have options to overclock using ROM Toolbox.
Even though I wiped everything I normally do, it still had my snowy lake background wallpaper from my previous ROM. That's weird.
Antutu score was 6482 on second try (class 10 sd card).
I had to sync twice with Google account for some reason. CM7 ROM was making me do that also.
MMS sent & received a picture quicker than it ever has. Super impressed right there.
Speedtest is getting average HSPA speeds that I'm used to for this time of day.
Weather is in Celcius.
Don't see Navigation or Maps installed.
I downloaded & installed Maps.
Told it I wanted to go to Taco Bell.
And it gave me directions from my location in Texas to a Taco Bell in freakin Canada. LOL
But at least it was in MPH and not that silly KPH stuff.
Reboots are pretty quick.
Nice ROM!
Last edited by CZ Eddie; 1st December 2011 at 03:45 AM.
1st December 2011, 04:03 AM   |  #25  
DANIEL133337's Avatar
Senior Member
Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 35
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
First ROM for my SR that i am considering on flashing!! Awesome work! Thanks alot!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
1st December 2011, 04:33 AM   |  #26  
topprospect's Avatar
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 2,641
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Yes, agreed, this rom is fast. As a bonus I installed Da_G's 0.3 kernel and went from AnTuTu ~6400's to ~6900's. (that's with overclocking to 1782 though)
1st December 2011, 04:35 AM   |  #27  
twopumpchump's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 359
 
4,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie

Data works (non-LTE user) & has 4G icon.
Phone works.
Shutdown screen has that ugly red Rogers animation.
----i will get rid of that for next version
Shutdown menu is pretty nice.
It may have a Da_G kernel but it does not have options to overclock using ROM Toolbox.
--OP says it is the stock kernel, only unsecured and with init.d support....go flash Da_G kernel if you want to oc.
Even though I wiped everything I normally do, it still had my snowy lake background wallpaper from my previous ROM. That's weird.
---my walpaper gets restored by my google act when i flash
Antutu score was 6482 on second try (class 10 sd card).
---again, go flash Da_G's kernel...for stock kernel that is a good benchmark
I had to sync twice with Google account for some reason. CM7 ROM was making me do that also.
--i only had to sync once, not sure why you had this happen
MMS sent & received a picture quicker than it ever has. Super impressed right there.
Speedtest is getting average HSPA speeds that I'm used to for this time of day.
Weather is in Celcius.
Don't see Navigation or Maps installed.
I downloaded & installed Maps.
Told it I wanted to go to Taco Bell.
And it gave me directions from my location in Texas to a Taco Bell in freakin Canada. LOL
But at least it was in MPH and not that silly KPH stuff.
--you must have deleted data after you flashed my rom? maps and alot of other apps are in the /data/app/ folder. Maps show local restaurants for me and others on IRC, check in settings and see what the default country is. There is a script that runs at boot that changes it to english_US if that didnt run for you i suggest you reflash doing a factory reset before you flash my rom.
Reboots are pretty quick.
Nice ROM!

Thanks
1st December 2011, 04:41 AM   |  #28  
CZ Eddie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 1,082
 
3,754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by twopumpchump

Special thanks to Da_G for all his help with the rom, and providing us with a great custom kernel

I misunderstood this to mean the ROM included DA_G's kernel.
Yes, I did delete cache/data after flashing the ROM.
1st December 2011, 05:07 AM   |  #29  
twopumpchump's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Kentucky
Thanks Meter: 359
 
4,053 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie

I misunderstood this to mean the ROM included DA_G's kernel.
Yes, I did delete cache/data after flashing the ROM.


I think if you re-flash and not wipe data afterwards you will have a much better experience The rom wipes data, system, cache for you...you only have to delete dalvik cache and it will be fine.
1st December 2011, 05:31 AM   |  #30  
Global Swag's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
After flashing i had 4g(no lte in area) after putting the correct wap.cingular apn. Then put wifi on for a while. Turned wifi off, and it never connects back to 4g. No way to manually make it happen. Rebooted, and it did the same thing all over again. Doesnt seem to be able to connect back to 4g after having wifi for a while. Good job otherwise though...back to flashing stock :/

Sent from my SGH-I727 using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes