Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

Change where weather pulls from?

23rd November 2011, 12:34 AM   |  #1  
jayochs's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
8,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
any devs out there have any idea how to change where the HTC weather app/clock widget poll for weather?

Accuweather is garbage; it constantly says cloudy for me, despite the fact that it's raining the past day and will for the next day. I already complained to accuweather, but they have nothing to say because they're idiots. I'm hoping we can change where it gets weather from, like weather.com or google or weatherbug.
23rd November 2011, 12:47 AM   |  #2  
AtLemacks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mishawaka, Indiana
Thanks Meter: 194
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
Mine has been dead on. Is your location accurate? Obviously the weather isn't going to be correct to your house. And wherever your weather is being reported from is either wrong, or different from your actual location.
23rd November 2011, 01:06 AM   |  #3  
k_flan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aurora, IL
Thanks Meter: 45
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
This would not be as easy as pointing to a different weather provider, by say changing a url. The data has to be sent to the provider as expected and returned as data the app can understand. If it wasn't written to work with a provider, it will be difficult to make it work.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to k_flan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd November 2011, 01:26 AM   |  #4  
jayochs's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
8,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
ah, yeah. i remember in the inc days, nils was checking out how to do it, but we were never successful.

basically, even on the accuweather website for my town, it shows cloudy, when it's always raining lol it's very annoying.
23rd November 2011, 02:00 AM   |  #5  
AtLemacks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mishawaka, Indiana
Thanks Meter: 194
 
1,623 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
So whoever is reporting the weather data to them is wrong. Not accuweathers fault.
23rd November 2011, 04:39 AM   |  #6  
jayochs's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Central NJ
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
8,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
i assume it's one of the local weather stations, because there's only like one in my town.....and they report to weatherbug...and weather.com........and they're both right lol

it's accuweather;

http://www.accuweather.com/en/us/bri...1-2191985_1_al

click; see how it says current conditions, cloudy? go look at the map now, we're COVERED in rain and it hasn't stopped since like 3pm today. yet they think current conditions are cloudy. kind of annoying lol
23rd November 2011, 09:58 PM   |  #7  
xRogerxC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Seven Seas
Thanks Meter: 46
 
289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayochs

any devs out there have any idea how to change where the HTC weather app/clock widget poll for weather?

Accuweather is garbage; it constantly says cloudy for me, despite the fact that it's raining the past day and will for the next day. I already complained to accuweather, but they have nothing to say because they're idiots. I'm hoping we can change where it gets weather from, like weather.com or google or weatherbug.

Well, you could always try out Fancy Widgets. I belive you have a choice of 3 different weather providers, and the weather accuracy has always been great!

Sent via my HTC Rezound using XDA premium app.
23rd November 2011, 10:06 PM   |  #8  
didiwags's Avatar
Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 2
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I agree accuweather is garbage. It is always wrong for my area too! I NEVER use it. I use weatherbug or google. I downloaded beautiful widgets(had it on my X) and switch it to google weather!
23rd November 2011, 10:14 PM   |  #9  
jbh00jh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 150
 
2,167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Accuweather has been terrible for the last 5 years at least, thats why I use google weather & weather channel.

Sent from my Galaxy Tab 10.1
23rd November 2011, 11:44 PM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Central CT
Thanks Meter: 4
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xRogerxC

Well, you could always try out Fancy Widgets. I belive you have a choice of 3 different weather providers, and the weather accuracy has always been great!

Sent via my HTC Rezound using XDA premium app.

+1 Fancy Widgets is great!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes