5,598,718 Members 38,567 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Gen9] Rooted 3.2.69 firmware v0.1 with superuser.apk for SDE

Tip us?
 
letama
Old
(Last edited by letama; 5th December 2011 at 10:21 PM.)
#1  
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2297
Posts: 1,675
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Gen9] Rooted 3.2.69 firmware v0.1 with superuser.apk for SDE

Hello All,

Here is a stock repackaged firmware to be used if you enabled SDE like described here.

To install it:
1) Extract zip file content
2) Copy rooted_withsu.squashfs.secure to internal storage root. You can do it the usual way or with adb with this:
adb push rooted_withsu.squashfs.secure /data/media
3) Reboot
4) On boot menu, select "Recovery system"
5) Select "developer edition menu"/"flash kernel and initramfs"
6) A drive should appear on your PC, copy zImage and initramfs.cpio.gz to it.
7) Select OK, the kernel should flash.
8) Select OK to reboot.
9) Select SDE in boot menu, you should be rooted and SuperUser functional.

Download firmware here.

And let me know if it worked for you,

LeTama
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to letama For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
letama
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2297
Posts: 1,675
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
* reserved *
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
The Following User Says Thank You to letama For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cajl
Old
#3  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 166
Posts: 837
Join Date: May 2008
Location: near PARIS (94)

 
DONATE TO ME
It is ok
http://www.jbmm.fr/?p=23638
The old man of Archos
All Archos from JUKEBOX 6000 to GEN XX
see that
http://www.jbmm.fr/2010/10/23/ma-folie-archosienne/
THANKS for your THANKS
 
trevd
Old
#4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1132
Posts: 862
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hull

 
DONATE TO ME
All working for me too. Good work people
The Following User Says Thank You to trevd For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hotrodder
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: May 2007
How do you get to "developer edition menu"/"flash kernel and initramfs"

Currently if I press and hold power / volume down to boot I get 3 options. Android, Developer Edition and Recovery System. If I select Developer Edition and press the power button it comes up with Booting Developer Edition and then appears to reboot this then loads standard android.

Can I just check that im doing this correctly?
Thanks

---------- Post added at 09:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Lol. Im a dumbass... Recovery menu then developer edition menu.
 
letama
Old
(Last edited by letama; 25th November 2011 at 09:34 AM.)
#6  
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2297
Posts: 1,675
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
My bad, as I don't have the boot menu, I didn't write proper description:

On boot menu, select "Recovery System" then you'll see a menu with the "developer edition menu" entry. First post modified to reflect that.
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
The Following User Says Thank You to letama For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hotrodder
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: May 2007
All done :). If I boot developer edition I have root, If I boot standard I dont - Thank you very much :)
One thing I note is that superuser apk doesnt retain its memory after a reboot.

So far i have just tried a couple of tools that reboot / shut down your archos (as for me thats all im desperate for doing as im installing the device into my cars dash and have no access to the button). Reboot and Shutdown works fine, but if you ask for the bootloader it seems to mess up - will look at writing something fresh anyway as all I really need is the ability to send it to sleep on ac power disconnect
 
letama
Old
#8  
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2297
Posts: 1,675
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrodder View Post
All done :). If I boot developer edition I have root, If I boot standard I dont - Thank you very much :)
One thing I note is that superuser apk doesnt retain its memory after a reboot.

So far i have just tried a couple of tools that reboot / shut down your archos (as for me thats all im desperate for doing as im installing the device into my cars dash and have no access to the button). Reboot and Shutdown works fine, but if you ask for the bootloader it seems to mess up - will look at writing something fresh anyway as all I really need is the ability to send it to sleep on ac power disconnect
Thanks for the feedback, I'll check the superuser problem.

You know about the reboot_into command, right ?

syntax: reboot_into sde|android|recovery
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
 
letama
Old
#9  
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2297
Posts: 1,675
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by letama View Post
Thanks for the feedback, I'll check the superuser problem.
Ok, I believe I know why you loose settings: If you reboot into "regular" android (ie, without root), android detects that the superuser application was removed from the firmware and removes associated data. I'm not sure I can do anything about this, don't boot into regular android is probably the best advice I could give

After all, no need to go there anymore.
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
 
hotrodder
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: May 2007
Wow, thats a real help :) many many thanks. If i call reboot_into -s sde post booting then it should always boot back into sde even if it boots off due to battery power yeah?

I know im a bit of a noob when it comes to android (been a windows coder for a while).

There isnt a way to put the device into "deep sleep" using the command line is there? Basically the whole aim of rooting this device for me is to make it so I can either put it to sleep or power down when external power is removed. I should now be able to shut it down, but id like to make it "sleep" instead if possible as that will come to life a lot faster. The aim being that i will add external power when i flick the key in my car (waking the device up), and then when i switch off it will lose power and be put into sleep mode. If the battery dies then it will recharge when i flick the key again and do a full boot anyway - which i should be able to force into sde as above.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes