Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,958 Members 52,437 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM][BETA 4.0.3][Evervolv-ICS-2.1.0-01MAR-HeroC]

Tip us?
 
jaybob413
Old
(Last edited by jaybob413; 1st March 2012 at 05:21 PM.)
#1  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2667
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROM][BETA 4.0.3][Evervolv-ICS-2.1.0-01MAR-HeroC]

This is now considered a beta version of Ice Cream Sandwich for the HeroC. Please keep all comments/communication about this ROM in this thread, and keep the Development thread clean for people actively working on the ROM.

No guarantees that anything will work, or that your phone will not be turned into a brick or a toaster. Please backup if you value what is currently on your phone.

You can use this with or without gapps. If you load them both on the initial setup, be sure to select "Setup Wizard" when the system first comes up.

In its current state this ROM with GAPPS needs around 155M in /system. I am currently running firerats at 160/20 just to be safe for testing purposes. I would recommend at least 155 for system.

There are some obvious places where we can reduce the size, but that will come as we continue to refine and move forward. Performance in not great, but overall it is fairly functional. Gapps are just some a minimal version to get Market working.

THIS ROM TAKES A LONG TIME TO BOOT (ESPECIALLY FIRST BOOT).

Boot animation has been added in 26NOV version. Please be patient.
This is a work in progress and there remain many Opportunities for Improvement (the gentle euphemism for Defects).

Working (at least for me):
  • Touchscreen
  • Trackball
  • Phone
  • Data
  • WiFi
  • MMS
  • Audio
  • Bluetooth
  • SD Card
  • Market
  • GPS
  • Gallery
  • Boot Animation
  • LatinIME Keyboard
  • Prediction/Dictionary
  • Network Stats (Data Usage)
  • Headsets (Audio Jack & HTC 11 Pin)

Not Working:
  • Camera
  • Gallery2
  • Graphics Acceleration
  • TBD (Lots of other stuff)

25-NOV-2011 Initial Alpha release
TeamICS-4.0.1-25NOV-HeroC.zip

26-NOV-2011 Update with working GPS. Disabled broken qcom egl so that Google Maps works (slowly). FIXED LINK
TeamICS-4.0.1-26NOV-GPS-HeroC.zip

28-NOV-2011 Updated kernel for better alignment with ICS. Lots of additional updates. Updated to fix wifi issue (wlan.ko replacement)
TeamICS-4.0.1-28NOV-NEWKERN.zip

01-DEC-2011 Updated kernel to support network stats (Data usage). Modified LatinIME to show entire keyboard. Synced with CM/AOSP repos.
TeamICS-4.0.1-01DEC-HeroC.zip

06-DEC-2011 Updated with test fix for random app crashes (phone, exchange, popups, etc.)
TeamICS-4.0.1-01DEC-HeroC.zip

18-DEC-2011 Updated to latest AOSP/CM 4.0.3 source base. Fixed trackball. Replaced Gallery2 with older Gallery for the time being. This has major changes to the source base and limited testing, so backup is recommended.
TeamICS-4.0.3-18DEC-HeroC.zip - Currently offline while resolving some issues

18-DEC-2011 Updated to latest AOSP/CM 4.0.3 source base. Update from earlier post to add audio driver fixes, and su updates that restore Superuser functionality.
TeamICS-4.0.3-18DEC-HeroC-AUDIOFIX.zip - Currently offline while resolving some issues

20-DEC-2011 Back to 4.0.1 for the time being, until 4.0.3 issues can be resolved. This version has all of the standard fixes including radio/data, trackball, and audio. Also includes Gallery instead of Gallery2.
TeamICS-4.0.1-20DEC-HeroC.zip

22-DEC-2011 Minor update to include fixes for Headset (Audio Jack) and Dictionary/Prediction.
TeamICS-4.0.1-22DEC-HeroC.zip

25-DEC-2011 Add basic Bluetooth functionality. Additional testing in progress. Classification changed to Beta, as all major functionality is working except for Camera and Hardware Acceleration.
TeamICS-4.0.1-25DEC-HeroC.zip


01-MAR-2012 Integrating development with Evervolv team. Brings alignment with ICS 4.0.3 development.
Evervolv-ICS-2.1.0-01MAR-HeroC.zip

GAPPS
You can use the latest ICS Gapps from here. Or other Gapps of your choice.
The Following 63 Users Say Thank You to jaybob413 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaybob413
Old
(Last edited by jaybob413; 30th November 2011 at 04:05 AM.)
#2  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2667
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default FAQ / Fixes

DATA ISSUES
If you are having issues with Data try the following settings:
  • "Data enabled" checked
  • "Data roaming" unchecked
  • "System select" Home only
If you still have issues with data, please capture the output of "adb logcat -b radio" from boot to completely booted and post it to pastebin or equivalent.

KEYBOARD ISSUE
Attached below is a replacement keyboard that doesn't have the bottom row off-screen. This is just a quick hack to get a functional keyboard. After some clean up and testing, I will include it in the releases going forward. Just replace the existing /system/app/LatinIME.apk with this one for the time being.
Attached Files
File Type: apk LatinIME.apk - [Click for QR Code] (5.05 MB, 570 views)
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to jaybob413 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jaybob413
Old
#3  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2667
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Reserved 2

This is also reserved for later use.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to jaybob413 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MrDowntown12
Old
#4  
MrDowntown12's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 175
Posts: 496
Join Date: May 2010
Nice.

Sent from my HERO200 using XDA App
Sprint HTC One
The Following User Says Thank You to MrDowntown12 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Freeroot
Old
#5  
Freeroot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 377
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
I've got work in an hour........ so here we go, I'll let you know what happens.
The Following User Says Thank You to Freeroot For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Majin101
Old
(Last edited by Majin101; 25th November 2011 at 10:12 AM.) Reason: feedbacks
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 405
Posts: 1,630
Join Date: May 2010
whoa man, already? YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME!!

p.s- happy thanksgiving btw!!

edit:btw downloading it right now,, going to give it a go

---------- Post added at 10:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

hmmm after the HTC screen, i get a black screen showing nothing. Plugged the charger and shows charging light.. Still waiting for it, it's been like 3 minutes. im on 170 40 mtd settings. K nvm it setup just appeared. For those that are trying, wait for it.

EDIT: K been messing around with it (sorry for all these edit, just trying to prevent a lot of posts and I am awake this late so might as well show some heads up) but problems I found
1) Keyboard is half (missing space bar and the alt function)
2) Screen orientation is choppy
3) Im missing the actual market app, might be firerats issue

I found a pointless feature.. but using the trackball brings up a cursor lol didn't know it'd do that. Making it "click" u have to press the ball then scroll quickly rather than just keep clicking the ball.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Majin101 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sippi4x4man
Old
(Last edited by Sippi4x4man; 25th November 2011 at 12:10 PM.)
#7  
Sippi4x4man's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 442
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Gulfport, MS
Thank you ICS Team. Other than the items listed in the OP, I cannot get data to work. Phone is stuck on No Service and every few minutes will jump to roaming and then back to no service. If I try to call a number with the dial pad, the dial pad disappears after I press send, I assume this is because I have no cell signal. Could not test google apps due to no data. I was still able to play with the home screen, widgets, etc.

@ Majin101, my keyboad seems to be working ok, I do have the market app but haven't tried to use it yet. I am not using firerats mod. If anyone else tries to flash this, make sure you wait a few minutes for the rom to boot as mentioned in the above post. You will see a blank screen but it will eventually boot.
HTC One
Liquid 4.4.2

-Retired-
Samsung Galaxy Showcase
Motorola Milestone X2
Motorola Milestone X
HTC Hero CDMA

Team C Spire
C Spire HTC One Files/Tools
Stock C Spire ROM DUMP
The Following User Says Thank You to Sippi4x4man For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ubnub82
Old
#8  
ubnub82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 472
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sterling Heights
This is going to be a great rom. If you use a different keyboard you also get space and alt to show up.
Current Phones:
Htc One
Rom: Android Revolution

Past phones:
Samsung Moment
HTC Hero CDMA
Nexus S 4G

 
Freeroot
Old
#9  
Freeroot's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 377
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seattle
Default Findings.

Okay, Seems nice. There is no bootscreen, so be patient, when setting up, choose "setup wizard"(this is kind of a no brainer, but you never know). Alright:
1. Data isn't working, I changed the roaming settings, but it didn't help.
2. As mentioned in an earlier post, the keyboard is missing some keys.
3. I do however have the market application. I used the gapps in the op and am using firerats 160 40
Really amazing work. The fact that this is even running on my hero amazes me. And they thought it would have trouble with eclair
 
jaybob413
Old
#10  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2667
Posts: 825
Join Date: Dec 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeroot View Post
Okay, Seems nice. There is no bootscreen, so be patient, when setting up, choose "setup wizard"(this is kind of a no brainer, but you never know). Alright:
1. Data isn't working, I changed the roaming settings, but it didn't help.
2. As mentioned in an earlier post, the keyboard is missing some keys.
3. I do however have the market application. I used the gapps in the op and am using firerats 160 40
Really amazing work. The fact that this is even running on my hero amazes me. And they thought it would have trouble with eclair
Data is working well for me with the following settings:
  • "Data enabled" checked
  • "Data roaming" unchecked
  • "System select" Home only

Try that, and if you still have issues with data, please capture the output of "adb logcat -b radio" from boot to completely booted and post it to pastebin or equivalent.

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to jaybob413 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes