Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Hook Up an External Mic to the Kindle Fire?

OP FlashFire1

25th November 2011, 07:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
So I read on the Amazon Forums that you can use a iPod headset(with mic included) on the KFire like a microphone. So basically it's like a headphone and a microphone in one jack. Would this work?

Here is are some examples:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003KW...asin_lnk<br />

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/s/ref=is...ix=iphone+head

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to FlashFire1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th November 2011, 08:20 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
That could well be - the plug on those headsets have an extra conductor to handle the mic + stereo. Anyone try them?
25th November 2011, 09:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I was wondering this also. Has anybody tried this? I would like to know before I buy the headset.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
Last edited by FlashFire1; 26th November 2011 at 12:13 AM.
26th November 2011, 12:17 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
So no-one has tried this? I'd try it myself but I don't have an iPod headset. I have a gaming headset but it has two separate jacks for microphone/headphone.
26th November 2011, 12:22 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have a pair of those somewhere, but unfortunately no Kindle Fire just yet.
26th November 2011, 12:39 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I see. Man if only someone could try and see if this works.
26th November 2011, 03:18 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Wait a sec, would a 3.5 mm jack splitter (the one that makes 2 things plug into 1 port) work for this? That could help those that have separate mic and headphones possibly anyways. I mean obviously it's not the best method but that should let us check proof of concept.
26th November 2011, 03:21 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelVash7886

Wait a sec, would a 3.5 mm jack splitter (the one that makes 2 things plug into 1 port) work for this? That could help those that have separate mic and headphones possibly anyways. I mean obviously it's not the best method but that should let us check proof of concept.

That's exactly what I was referring to. The iPod headsets and some other brands have that feature. I do not have a pair and wanted someone to test it before buying.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
Last edited by FlashFire1; 26th November 2011 at 03:23 AM.
26th November 2011, 04:09 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
A splitter wouldn't help. I'm looking at one now, and it has a 3-conductor plug (called a TRS), just like a plug for stereo headphones. The plug on a mic/headphones combo is a TRRS, and has 4 conductors. I thought I had one laying around, but the plug size is 2.5mm, from an old Blackberry I had.
I'm gonna go and look in the trunk of my car. I'm sure I have one...
26th November 2011, 04:14 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by grvthang

A splitter wouldn't help. I'm looking at one now, and it has a 3-conductor plug (called a TRS), just like a plug for stereo headphones. The plug on a mic/headphones combo is a TRRS, and has 4 conductors. I thought I had one laying around, but the plug size is 2.5mm, from an old Blackberry I had.
I'm gonna go and look in the trunk of my car. I'm sure I have one...

See if you can find one to test. Download Google Voice and call yourself and see if the microphone works. Get someone to go to another room and see if you can talk to them.

If this works then we can use Skype and GVoice.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes