FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROM]Phantom's Blazer Rom[Yo][8/2/12][v0.1.5][FF18]

25th April 2012, 03:08 PM |#6251  
CyberpodS2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NE Pennsylvania Boonies
Thanks Meter: 461
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by toobz

Hello, I just got an E4GT. I played with it a little bit stock rooted, but I went ahead and tried out this rom. So far so good! After downloading the ICS keyboard app I like this rom quite a bit. I'm using the EL29 kernel, and have it set to 800 mhz with SetCPU. I will test out battery life today. Is there a better kernel I should check out that has better battery life and performance? As for the modem I'm using FD19. I seem to lose 4G every now and then however. Is there a way to fix that?

I have seen no difference in battery between the stock kernel and Gunslinger 1.4.1 (what I run) http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1341564


This is my setup so far... I keep playing with stuff but always find myself restoring back to this. LOL

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7&postcount=14
 
 
25th April 2012, 03:13 PM |#6252  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Thanks! Is the undervolting thing worth it?
25th April 2012, 03:17 PM |#6253  
fearwillkeepus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttrain721

Is there a zip file for it?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...52310&page=103

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fearwillkeepus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2012, 03:46 PM |#6254  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
I just ran speed tests on FC24 and FD24. I'm getting an average of 8.8Mbps on FC24 and 4.5Mbps on FD24.
25th April 2012, 06:18 PM |#6255  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ttrain721

I just ran speed tests on FC24 and FD24. I'm getting an average of 8.8Mbps on FC24 and 4.5Mbps on FD24.

Like we always say, newer modem doesn't mean better. Depends on location, your phone, etc. Just gotta test out what works best for you. I'm about try FD24 myself..we'll see how it goes. For me, FC24 or FD16 worked great.
25th April 2012, 10:33 PM |#6256  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanekz

Like we always say, newer modem doesn't mean better. Depends on location, your phone, etc. Just gotta test out what works best for you. I'm about try FD24 myself..we'll see how it goes. For me, FC24 or FD16 worked great.

Yeah, I've tried quite a few different modems and FC24 always comes out on top, no other modems have been able to compare.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ttrain721 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2012, 10:39 PM |#6257  
sjsharksfan420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 830
 
More
I tested FD19 vs FD24, FD19 is twice as fast.. and Fd19 for me has been faster than all prior as well.. on AoKPb34 for me at the moment.

Update:

I have done some additional tests and have confirmmed that the FD24 modem with thw FD24 kernel (on ICS) is as fast as its been. on blazer4.1, i cant tell much difference for the better.

sj

Sent from my sgs2e4gt on AoKPb34 FD19 aOS 4.0.4 using Tap@Talk 2 Beta 5
Last edited by sjsharksfan420; 27th April 2012 at 08:45 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sjsharksfan420 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th April 2012, 11:18 PM |#6258  
dragonOL2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Flashing the newer modems and kernels, just as easy as a flash through CWM and that's it? Am I missing a step? Maybe a nandroid backup just in case?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA
25th April 2012, 11:20 PM |#6259  
nibrwr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 288
 
More
Don't flash Fxxx kernels with GB. No backup necessary for modems. Flash away
Last edited by nibrwr; 26th April 2012 at 10:42 AM.
25th April 2012, 11:55 PM |#6260  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nibrwr

Don't flash Fxxx modems with GB. No backup necessary for modems. Flash away

Ughh did u mean don't flash Fxxx kernels with GB? Flashing newer modems with GB will NOT cause problems.


Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to kanekz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
echo echooo echooooo, febtober, overstew was here, roms we don't need roms
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes