TWRP 2.8.3.0 Available for Supported Devices

The TeamWin Recovery Project (or TWRP, for short) has quickly become one of the most popular … more

Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is Kies safe?

OP tin_95

26th November 2011, 08:47 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Rijeka
Thanks Meter: 10
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers
26th November 2011, 09:16 AM   |  #2  
droidtwoseven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Subic
Thanks Meter: 100
 
571 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95

Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers

its safe. no doubt. its official fw anyway..
The Following User Says Thank You to droidtwoseven For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th November 2011, 09:39 AM   |  #3  
sid_gamer's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
It's absolutely safe..Go Ahead..

Sent from my Galaxy Ace using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to sid_gamer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th November 2011, 01:59 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Flag Rijeka
Thanks Meter: 10
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Well i updated it, and it sort off works, but it has become unstable and randomly soft reboots. So I'm considering to flash the unofficial cyanogenmod.
Tnx for your replies anyway

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App
28th November 2011, 12:46 AM   |  #5  
droidtwoseven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Subic
Thanks Meter: 100
 
571 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95

Well i updated it, and it sort off works, but it has become unstable and randomly soft reboots. So I'm considering to flash the unofficial cyanogenmod.
Tnx for your replies anyway

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App

Did you wipe data and partition after update? You should!
28th November 2011, 04:45 AM   |  #6  
SuperAce609's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bani, Dominican Republic
Thanks Meter: 1,359
 
3,659 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
It might be official but a lot of users report problems with it and bricking their phones so I don't really recommend it. I my self haven't had those problems with it and I've only used it twice. Don't plan on using it again though.
28th November 2011, 04:51 AM   |  #7  
domnic79's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Panaji
Thanks Meter: 909
 
1,395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperAce609

It might be official but a lot of users report problems with it and bricking their phones so I don't really recommend it. I my self haven't had those problems with it and I've only used it twice. Don't plan on using it again though.

I never heard anyone bricking their fone while flashing unofficial cyanogenmod. I've flashed it 7-10 times without any bricking my fone.

Sent from Galaxy Ace GT-S5830 using Grif's Cyanogenmod & allinone ram script.
Dont jus say thanks, use d 'THANKS' button. [XDA RULE]
30th November 2011, 11:08 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Flag Rijeka
Thanks Meter: 10
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I wiped data after install, but it didn't help. I'm flashing cm for sure, i just need some time because teachers decided to put all the exams in this week -.-

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App
Last edited by tin_95; 30th November 2011 at 11:11 AM.
30th November 2011, 11:27 AM   |  #9  
InverseSandwich's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 153
 
580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95

Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers

It worked on my Ace, and the PC was fine too, as it is pretty weedy.
30th November 2011, 12:00 PM   |  #10  
xdaboy122's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag punjab
Thanks Meter: 78
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
only use kies if you have min2gb ram on PC .but still their is danger.before using kies kill unnecessary processes and tasks.


sent from my phone and don't forget to hit thanks button if I helped you in any means ......

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
croatia, firmware update, kies, update
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes