5,814,720 Members 52,440 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is Kies safe?

Tip us?
 
tin_95
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rijeka
Question [Q] Is Kies safe?

Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers
Current phone:
Samsung galaxy S3 I9300 (international)
---------------------------------------
rooted and constantly changing roms

Previous phones:
HTC Wildfire (BUZZ)- my dad uses it
----------------------------
Alpharevx S-OFF
Root
Clockworkmod recovery
Rempuzzle rom

SAMSUNG Galaxy Ace (GT-S5830)-my brother uses it
-------------------------------------
ROM:CM10 Jellaxy
Recovery:CWM Touch

With this link you can give me 250mb additional dropbox space!
 
droidtwoseven
Old
#2  
droidtwoseven's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 571
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Subic
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95 View Post
Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers
its safe. no doubt. its official fw anyway..
Hit Thanks button If you think I helped.
The Following User Says Thank You to droidtwoseven For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sid_gamer
Old
#3  
sid_gamer's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mumbai
It's absolutely safe..Go Ahead..

Sent from my Galaxy Ace using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to sid_gamer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tin_95
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rijeka
Well i updated it, and it sort off works, but it has become unstable and randomly soft reboots. So I'm considering to flash the unofficial cyanogenmod.
Tnx for your replies anyway

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App
Current phone:
Samsung galaxy S3 I9300 (international)
---------------------------------------
rooted and constantly changing roms

Previous phones:
HTC Wildfire (BUZZ)- my dad uses it
----------------------------
Alpharevx S-OFF
Root
Clockworkmod recovery
Rempuzzle rom

SAMSUNG Galaxy Ace (GT-S5830)-my brother uses it
-------------------------------------
ROM:CM10 Jellaxy
Recovery:CWM Touch

With this link you can give me 250mb additional dropbox space!
 
droidtwoseven
Old
#5  
droidtwoseven's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 571
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Subic
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95 View Post
Well i updated it, and it sort off works, but it has become unstable and randomly soft reboots. So I'm considering to flash the unofficial cyanogenmod.
Tnx for your replies anyway

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App
Did you wipe data and partition after update? You should!
Hit Thanks button If you think I helped.
 
SuperAce609
Old
#6  
SuperAce609's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,351
Posts: 3,639
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bani, Dominican Republic
It might be official but a lot of users report problems with it and bricking their phones so I don't really recommend it. I my self haven't had those problems with it and I've only used it twice. Don't plan on using it again though.
.:Galaxy S3 (i9300) [SuperAce Edition]:.

Boeffla Kernel
7000mAh Zero Lemon battery
ArchiDroid (4.4.4)
Achievement Unlocked: Attain the ultimate phone.
 
domnic79
Old
#7  
domnic79's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 888
Posts: 1,366
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Panaji
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperAce609 View Post
It might be official but a lot of users report problems with it and bricking their phones so I don't really recommend it. I my self haven't had those problems with it and I've only used it twice. Don't plan on using it again though.
I never heard anyone bricking their fone while flashing unofficial cyanogenmod. I've flashed it 7-10 times without any bricking my fone.

Sent from Galaxy Ace GT-S5830 using Grif's Cyanogenmod & allinone ram script.
Dont jus say thanks, use d 'THANKS' button. [XDA RULE]


Phone: Galaxy Note II GT-n7100
Rom: Phanthom v6
My Work for Galaxy Ace 5830i:
Simplicity

Dont jus say thanks, use the THANKS button. [XDA RULE]
 
tin_95
Old
(Last edited by tin_95; 30th November 2011 at 10:11 AM.)
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 89
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rijeka
I wiped data after install, but it didn't help. I'm flashing cm for sure, i just need some time because teachers decided to put all the exams in this week -.-

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App
Current phone:
Samsung galaxy S3 I9300 (international)
---------------------------------------
rooted and constantly changing roms

Previous phones:
HTC Wildfire (BUZZ)- my dad uses it
----------------------------
Alpharevx S-OFF
Root
Clockworkmod recovery
Rempuzzle rom

SAMSUNG Galaxy Ace (GT-S5830)-my brother uses it
-------------------------------------
ROM:CM10 Jellaxy
Recovery:CWM Touch

With this link you can give me 250mb additional dropbox space!
 
InverseSandwich
Old
#9  
InverseSandwich's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 580
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hampshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tin_95 View Post
Kies just notified me that there is a new firmware update for my phone, it says:
"your version: PDA:KPE/Phone:KP6/CSC: KP2 (VIP)
newest version: PDA:KS1/PHONE:KS2/CSC:KS1 (VIP)"

I read somwhere in the SGA thread that it's not safe to flash trough kies because it uses too much RAM(What RAM, Phone RAM or PC RAM?), so im not shure is it safe to update. Also i have rooted my phone with the 2.3.x upd_1 zip from the sticky tutorial in Anroid development subforum. Will this somehow interrupt or efect the firmware update?

Thanks in advance for your answers
It worked on my Ace, and the PC was fine too, as it is pretty weedy.
 
xdaboy122
Old
#10  
xdaboy122's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 78
Posts: 357
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: punjab
only use kies if you have min2gb ram on PC .but still their is danger.before using kies kill unnecessary processes and tasks.


sent from my phone and don't forget to hit thanks button if I helped you in any means ......
If i helped u in any means then hit the thanks button

Tags
croatia, firmware update, kies, update
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more

Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more