Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,909 Members 37,849 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ALPHA 2 - DEC 22] Arch Linux ARM + Gnome 3

Tip us?
 
crimsonredmk
Old
(Last edited by crimsonredmk; 24th December 2011 at 08:16 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 27
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ALPHA 2 - DEC 22] Arch Linux ARM + Gnome 3

Arch Linux ARM for TouchPad ALPHA 2

Run pacman -Syu and reboot for a MUCH better, perfect touchscreen!

Now with Gnome 3!

The purpose of this build is to be lightweight and to bring together the community to package up a distribution for the TouchPad and share our findings with good documentation and easy code, and to demonstrate what is working and what is not.

The following is the official Arch Linux ARM forum thread: http://archlinuxarm.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1948

All the documentation will be in text files and in the README here: https://github.com/crimsonredmk/ArchLinuxARM-TouchPad

Download
Read the README here: https://github.com/crimsonredmk/ArchLinuxARM-TouchPad and make sure you understand what works and what does not.

Download here (only when not following Installation.md)

Issues
No webcam. No sound. No Bluetooth.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	7391
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	826661   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	4997
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	826662   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	4282
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	826663   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	15208
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	826664   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	4689
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	826665  

Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	3715
Size:	31.6 KB
ID:	826666  
The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to crimsonredmk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crimsonredmk
Old
(Last edited by crimsonredmk; 22nd December 2011 at 04:39 PM.)
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 27
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Changelog

Dec. 22 - Gnome 3 is out with the 2nd alpha build. Touch support is a little bit better and xinput_calibrator is included in the menus. Gnome Shell is not working yet, but if you've been avoiding Gnome 3 on a desktop because it's too tablet-centric...well...no more excuses. If you've installed alpha 1, you can either reformat with mkfs.ext3 /dev/store/arch-root and follow the rest of the guide, using this new alpha build instead. Also, the boot logo has been confirmed working.

Dec. 18 - Huge new release for developers and people who like being frustrated. I forgot to install fonts, so pacman -Ss ttf for a list. Also, you need to tell wicd to use "eth0" as the wireless interface in the preferences. Also of importance - we've renamed the LVM partition to be arch-root. The new kernel must be installed to use this new root. If you want to see our logo, don't set verbose on and download the .tga file from our Github and stick it in /boot.

Nov. 28 - Moboot 0.3.5 is out! This means the public can install and use Arch Linux ARM on the TouchPad, natively. Read the README!
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to crimsonredmk For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Adonis K.
Old
#3  
Adonis K.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 293
Join Date: Aug 2011
Finally

cant wait for a fully functional native Archlinux port (mostly, i want a touchscreen keyboard while waiting for the one i ordered to come)
 
Puenos
Old
(Last edited by Puenos; 26th November 2011 at 11:15 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 150
Join Date: Aug 2010
finally DD

seems like we can now only see more and more great things to happen

would be impressed so see some progress on dynamic binary transmission or what it's called too..

did u use lvm or what jcsullins was talking about?
 
BigJeff
Old
#5  
BigJeff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 180
Posts: 801
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stanwood
Would this be a triple boot? anyway when I have Ubuntu chrooted in cm7 a2 and a3, it always fails apt-get and apt-get update, so no GUI for me :/ any help?
 
Adonis K.
Old
#6  
Adonis K.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 293
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puenos View Post
finally DD

seems like we can now only see more and more great things to happen

would be impressed so see some progress on dynamic binary transmission or what it's called too..

did u use lvm or what jcsullins was talking about?
im pretty sure its via lvm since he credits jcsullin's lvm method for it
 
rohan32
Old
#7  
rohan32's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5038
Posts: 1,986
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

 
DONATE TO ME
Wow, this is great! I'll try it out on my Touchpad when I get home since its just sitting in a room doing nothing... haha
If I can turn it into an Arch PC using this, it would be great! Thanks for your hard work!
 
crimsonredmk
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 27
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
I didn't notice that Googling moboot 0.3.4v would bring up a total of 2 results. You guys should really wait for 0.3.5 to come out. Don't bother anyone to hurry up with it.
 
BigJeff
Old
#9  
BigJeff's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 180
Posts: 801
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stanwood
moboot 0.3.5 reaaaaally needs to drop cuz I need my Ubuntu! great job devs!
 
jcsullins
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1201
Posts: 159
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default moboot 0.3.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreygtab View Post
moboot 0.3.5 reaaaaally needs to drop cuz I need my Ubuntu! great job devs!
OK. Done.

Note that this release only adds the "verbose boot" option (see README
for details). It does NOT add the boot from lvm or general config support.

Get it here: http://code.google.com/p/moboot/downloads/list

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jcsullins For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes