FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[HOWTO] enable on-screen buttons in ICS rom

486 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,352
 
By evilisto, Senior Member on 27th November 2011, 10:10 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread



sorry for my poor english.. i write this guide by request.

this is pretty simple thing..


1. decompile framework-res.apk
- you need apktool.jar 1.4.3 version to decompile ics apk.
download 1.4.3 : http://code.google.com/p/android-apktool/downloads/list
download 1.4.2 : http://code.google.com/p/android-apk...r.bz2&can=1&q=
(if you have problems with 1.4.3, use 1.4.2 instead)

2. open /res/values/bools.xml with a text editor

3. find "config_showNavigationBar" and set to true




4. to turn off capacitive buttons backlight, maybe you need to edit arrays.xml
- it does not work on my nexus s but seem to be working well on some other devices..



-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
* 5 [WVGA devices only] it would be better to slightly resize navigation bar height to avoid keyboard overlapping problem (see this post).
(or you have to lower lcd density but that cause app compatibility issues)
: open dimens.xml and find the line "navigation_bar_height".



and you need one more step to compensate buttons sizes.

download : http://www.mediafire.com/?758mnayrlt3dee4
this zip include 4 png files. add those files to SystemUI.apk (/res/drawable-hdpi/) using 7-zip or other program. (replace original PNGs to these files).
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

6. recompile
- you need new aapt.exe from latest platform-tools.
download : http://www.mediafire.com/?0q52u6v8vdkpq1i

7. done


*if you don't know how to modify apk file, read this post first.
-
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	howto-ics-buttons_01.jpg
Views:	25097
Size:	34.7 KB
ID:	796576   Click image for larger version

Name:	howto-ics-buttons_02.jpg
Views:	24792
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	796577   Click image for larger version

Name:	howto-ics-buttons_03.png
Views:	19695
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	817589  
Last edited by evilisto; 1st March 2012 at 09:59 AM. Reason: add some more tweaks(?)
The Following 116 Users Say Thank You to evilisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
28th November 2011, 05:24 PM |#2  
KBanause's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 347
 
Donate to Me
More
Where did you get apktool 1.4.2?
28th November 2011, 11:09 PM |#3  
ciscogee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wa State
Thanks Meter: 192
 
Donate to Me
More
How would I disable the onscrwen keys in twlauncher 4. 5? Cause we already configured the ics keys to be our softkeus?

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium
29th November 2011, 12:34 AM |#4  
Fr4gg0r's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Bremen
Thanks Meter: 686
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBanause

Where did you get apktool 1.4.2?

yes interesting question
29th November 2011, 11:22 AM |#5  
evilisto's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,352
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBanause

Where did you get apktool 1.4.2?

here it is : http://www.multiupload.com/YWJHOSZ7GJ

you can find it here


Quote:
Originally Posted by ciscogee

How would I disable the onscrwen keys in twlauncher 4. 5? Cause we already configured the ics keys to be our softkeus?

Sent from my SCH-I400 using xda premium

sorry but you'd better ask your rom dev to do it..
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to evilisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th November 2011, 11:44 AM |#6  
KBanause's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 347
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilisto

here it is : http://www.multiupload.com/YWJHOSZ7GJ

you can find it here

Thanks. At least I was able to recompile the framework-res.apk wothout any errors. Now I have to check if I can use it without bootloops
30th November 2011, 11:03 AM |#7  
Perka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,137
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilisto

here it is : http://www.multiupload.com/YWJHOSZ7GJ

you can find it here




sorry but you'd better ask your rom dev to do it..

Worked for me with this apktool

Edit: decompile that is

THX!
2nd December 2011, 12:29 PM |#8  
pingpongboss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 300
 
Donate to Me
More
Could you got a little more in-depth on step 5? Whats the correct way to recompile the apk with aapt?
2nd December 2011, 03:00 PM |#9  
evilisto's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,352
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pingpongboss

Could you got a little more in-depth on step 5? Whats the correct way to recompile the apk with aapt?

just put aapt.exe in the same folder as apktool.jar. that's all
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to evilisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd December 2011, 03:14 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
can someone please help me with using apktool and decompiling my framework-res?
5th December 2011, 07:51 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Southgate
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
I'm not having any trouble with decompiling, but after making the necessary changes to bools and array, I can not get it to recompile.

What am I doing wrong here?

to decompile....

Code:
apktool d framework-res.apk
....make the changes, then...

Code:
apktool b framework-res
and i get this:

Code:
c:\apktool>apktool b framework-res.apk
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.directory.PathN
otExist: apktool.yml
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.readMetaFile(Androlib.java:142)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:159)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:154)
        at brut.apktool.Main.cmdBuild(Main.java:182)
        at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:67)
Caused by: brut.directory.PathNotExist: apktool.yml
        at brut.directory.AbstractDirectory.getFileInput(AbstractDirectory.java:
103)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.readMetaFile(Androlib.java:138)
        ... 4 more

c:\apktool>
Any help would be much appreciated.

EDIT -

Just noticed that I typed....

Code:
apktool b framework-res.apk
...instead of...
Code:
apktool b framework-res
When I tried it without the .apk, I get this....
Code:
c:\apktool>apktool b framework-res
W: Could not find sources
I: Checking whether resources has changed...
I: Building resources...
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/drawable-sw600dp-h
dpi
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/layout-sw600dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/layout-w600dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-h720dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-sw600dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-sw600dp-w10
24dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-sw600dp-w12
80dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-w360dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-w480dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-w500dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-w600dp
invalid resource directory name: c:\apktool\framework-res\res/values-w720dp
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.common.BrutExce
ption: could not exec command: [aapt, p, -F, C:\Users\BRANDO~1.AMY\AppData\Local
\Temp\APKTOOL5284591862303952400.tmp, -x, -S, c:\apktool\framework-res\res, -M,
c:\apktool\framework-res\AndroidManifest.xml]
        at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.jav
a:193)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResourcesFull(Androlib.java:301)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResources(Androlib.java:248)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:171)
        at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:154)
        at brut.apktool.Main.cmdBuild(Main.java:182)
        at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:67)
Caused by: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec command: [aapt, p, -F, C:\U
sers\BRANDO~1.AMY\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL5284591862303952400.tmp, -x, -S, c:\
apktool\framework-res\res, -M, c:\apktool\framework-res\AndroidManifest.xml]
        at brut.util.OS.exec(OS.java:83)
        at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.jav
a:191)
        ... 6 more
Last edited by sixfearstheseven; 5th December 2011 at 07:56 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ics on-screen buttons
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes