Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more
Post Reply

Whatsapp installing

OP wout1976

27th November 2011, 05:26 PM   |  #1  
wout1976's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 14
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It is possible to install Whatsapp on a Asus tablet.

But you must have Whatsapp already working on your Android phone.
Just make a backup All apps and data with Titanium backup from Whatsapp on your phone.
Go into the TitaniumBackup folder at your phone and copy the three files starting with com.whatsapp to your Asus tablet. U have to put these files in a folder named TitaniumBackup.
Then download Titanium Backup on your tablet.
In settings, applications, Development enable USB debugging and allow mock locactions. At applications enable Unknown sources.

Go to Titanium Backup and scroll to the com.whatsapp file.
Restore app and data.
Now you should have working Whatsapp !
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to wout1976 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th November 2011, 10:15 PM   |  #2  
Pimmr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Hey it works! Great and so simple :)
Only although I have all contacts on my TF, only the phone numbers appear at my whatsapp chats. Any fix for this?

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
27th November 2011, 11:55 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wout1976

It is possible to install Whatsapp on a Asus tablet.

U have to put these files in a folder named TitaniumBackup.
Then download Titanium Backup on your tablet.
In settings, applications, Development enable USB debugging and allow mock locactions. At applications enable Unknown sources.

Go to Titanium Backup and scroll to the com.whatsapp file.
Restore app and data.
Now you should have working Whatsapp !

do i just put the 3 files straight into the titanium back up folder since i had it installed before or do i need to make a new folder and search for it with titanium back up?
the .comwhatsapp files are not showing up in titanium backup after i put then in titanium back up.
Last edited by salbalboa; 28th November 2011 at 12:21 AM.
28th November 2011, 12:52 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It works!

Yeah, just put those three files in titaniumbackup folder and restore with the app (app + data ofc.)

The contact problem can be solved in app by pressing a contact with only a number and clicking "add to existing contact" and selecting the right one from your contacts.

Hope this helped!

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Premium App

Edit. Not working as i thought, first it seemed to work.
Last edited by miicco; 28th November 2011 at 04:18 PM. Reason: wrong information
28th November 2011, 02:31 PM   |  #5  
Pimmr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miicco

It works!

Yeah, just put those three files in titaniumbackup folder and restore with the app (app + data ofc.)

The contact problem can be solved in app by pressing a contact with only a number and clicking "add to existing contact" and selecting the right one from your contacts.

Hope this helped!

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Premium App

Great, I'll try it tonight.

Another question, I resumed an existing chat with a friend and all replies returned in whatsapp on the TF but not on my phone.
Next I asked my GF to send me a message in an existing chat, and the messages came on my phone and not the TF.
So, can I conclude only replies to a message initiated from the TF get returned to the TF but when someone apps me it always appears on the phone?



*edit* well, I just noticed that when I was away today I received some apps on my TF which did not arrive on my phone so as long as I cannot synchronize this it nis not very handy...
Last edited by Pimmr; 28th November 2011 at 08:22 PM.
30th December 2011, 10:44 AM   |  #6  
pjfriend's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 86
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Just to add to this and hopefully make sharing with your phone easier.

1) Install Droidwall from the market on phone and tab (assuming you've got whatsapp working as above).
2) Change to blacklist mode on Droidwall and select both settings for whatsapp (3G and WIFI).
3) Save rules
4) Then just turn on the firewall on the device that you don't want to receive messages.

You can switch in seconds between the two. I've been using this for a couple of weeks with no problems. You obviously need to be rooted but Titanium requires that anyway.

Hope that helps.
Last edited by pjfriend; 30th December 2011 at 10:46 AM. Reason: Typo
The Following User Says Thank You to pjfriend For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st January 2012, 05:06 PM   |  #7  
b00b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by wout1976

It is possible to install Whatsapp on a Asus tablet.

But you must have Whatsapp already working on your Android phone.
Just make a backup All apps and data with Titanium backup from Whatsapp on your phone.
Go into the TitaniumBackup folder at your phone and copy the three files starting with com.whatsapp to your Asus tablet. U have to put these files in a folder named TitaniumBackup.
Then download Titanium Backup on your tablet.
In settings, applications, Development enable USB debugging and allow mock locactions. At applications enable Unknown sources.

Go to Titanium Backup and scroll to the com.whatsapp file.
Restore app and data.
Now you should have working Whatsapp !

This worked for me on my TF101, and i tell you whatsapp looks nice on the bigger screen
3rd January 2012, 07:46 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Theley
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Hey there,

is there an option to use whatsapp like gtalk?

what i mean:

i use an samsung galaxy i9000 and an asus transfomer tf101. so when i text a message on my phone, i see it on the tablet und also when i write on tablet i see it on the phone. i mean it synchronized itself

can whatsapp do it similar?
3rd January 2012, 08:27 AM   |  #9  
pjfriend's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 86
 
247 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oggy512

Hey there,

is there an option to use whatsapp like gtalk?

what i mean:

i use an samsung galaxy i9000 and an asus transfomer tf101. so when i text a message on my phone, i see it on the tablet und also when i write on tablet i see it on the phone. i mean it synchronized itself

can whatsapp do it similar?

Not at present unless whatsapp change something fundamental. Failing that you'd have to keep swapping files with titanium but that would be a real mess.
3rd January 2012, 09:07 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Theley
Thanks Meter: 1
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
hm. ok. i thought this already :(

another question:

if i install it on both, i can write from both on same time?
example:
i receive an message on my phone, but i answer from the tablet.
sure, i can't see the messages from tablet on the phone, but my fried receive the messages?
or rather: receive both devices the message, or do only one?

background:
it' s only interessant when i'm @home, because tablet has only wifi, so i text @home with tablet and "on the road" with the phone...

u now what i mean?!
( sry for the bad english, i'm from germany )

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes