Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyway to s off apart from xtc clip

OP adz63

27th November 2011, 09:23 PM   |  #1  
adz63's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sesame Street (England)
Thanks Meter: 584
 
1,858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
My gf has this pile of junk and i wanna root it but can't find anything apart from get an xtc clip. Is there another way to do it yet . I see alpharev also has nothing also
28th November 2011, 05:23 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 256
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
No. Only xtc clip can do it
28th November 2011, 08:32 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Pile of junk? Way to get help.

Sent from my A810e using Tapatalk
28th November 2011, 09:48 AM   |  #4  
adz63's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sesame Street (England)
Thanks Meter: 584
 
1,858 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert456

Pile of junk? Way to get help.

Sent from my A810e using Tapatalk

It really is tho so there's no need to beat around the bush
28th November 2011, 12:55 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
No, there's no way to get S-OFF apart from using a XTC Clip.
What you can get is a temp root while S-ON, but without write permission in system directories.

I'm not sure about this (someone can correct me if I'm wrong), but I believe you can't even flash OTA Factory ROMs without S-OFFing this phone.
28th November 2011, 03:44 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
It is what it is, if you want a high end android look elsewhere- if you want a keyboard there ain't many options.

It could be better I agree- but junk?

I prefer it to a desire-z that I had before!

Sent from my A810e using Tapatalk
28th November 2011, 05:38 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 256
 
341 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by astro11


I'm not sure about this (someone can correct me if I'm wrong), but I believe you can't even flash OTA Factory ROMs without S-OFFing this phone.

you cannot apply OTA updates, but can flash official RUU using the gold card method
28th November 2011, 08:27 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajeevlal

you cannot apply OTA updates, but can flash official RUU using the gold card method

this question can be really stupid, but what is the difference between OTA updates and official RUUs?
actually, what is the difference between a ROM and a RUU? What does it mean?
30th November 2011, 03:47 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Does anyone tried androidadvices.com/root-install-custom-recovery-htc-chacha-tutorial ?
30th November 2011, 08:42 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Zrenjanin
Thanks Meter: 10
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
I have simlocked phone, so i don't know, should i try this?

I don't know how to unlock phone, for free?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes