FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

IMEI Null, have nv_data.bak , not able to overwrite :(

366 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By jackdowsan, Senior Member on 1st December 2011, 11:11 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So,
I tried the Galaxy S unlock software from the market, and now I am getting null/null as IMEI and I am not able to use it on any network..

Now, I saw in my sd card, there is a file nv_data.bak , that is around 20mb file...now I am trying to overwrite the one that exits in the efs folder, but its not letting me do it, saying I don't have enough space...

I am not even sure if the nv_data.bak is the actual file, I mean its like 20mb..is it supposed to be this big?

Would really appreciate if someone can tell me how to proceed from here...
I am currently on 2.2.1 Froyo.VUVKD1 kernel and 2.6.32.9 firmware.

Thanks
 
 
1st December 2011, 11:23 AM |#2  
tehgyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Easton, PA
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdowsan

So,
I tried the Galaxy S unlock software from the market, and now I am getting null/null as IMEI and I am not able to use it on any network..

Now, I saw in my sd card, there is a file nv_data.bak , that is around 20mb file...now I am trying to overwrite the one that exits in the efs folder, but its not letting me do it, saying I don't have enough space...

I am not even sure if the nv_data.bak is the actual file, I mean its like 20mb..is it supposed to be this big?

Would really appreciate if someone can tell me how to proceed from here...
I am currently on 2.2.1 Froyo.VUVKD1 kernel and 2.6.32.9 firmware.

Thanks

I've actually had that happen while flashing ROMs before... I crapped myself.
I fixed it by flashing to another ROM then to stock. Not promising a fix, but it worked for me, hell, its worth a shot eh?
The Following User Says Thank You to tehgyb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st December 2011, 11:41 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Thanks...so should I try and flash back to Stock?
1st December 2011, 11:55 AM |#4  
tehgyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Easton, PA
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdowsan

Thanks...so should I try and flash back to Stock?

I would, yeah. When It happened to me I was flashing to a GB ROM, so I ended up flashing to another GB ROM and it was the same so I flashed back to 100% stock and it was back to normal. No clue on how or why it happened XD
1st December 2011, 12:01 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
flashed stock again...still NULL IMEI...I think I should flash one other rom before stock? Can you tell me which one you did?
1st December 2011, 12:04 PM |#6  
tehgyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Easton, PA
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdowsan

flashed stock again...still NULL IMEI...I think I should flash one other rom before stock? Can you tell me which one you did?

To be honest with you man I haven't the slightest clue. Mine may have fixed itself by random chance, or the reasons behind the problem are different. I just flashed a few times out of frustration and blind hope XD
1st December 2011, 12:05 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Also, can you tell me what is the size of your original nv_data.bin?
I have a backup on sd card, that is like 20mb...and the one in efs folder is like 2 mb.... strange
1st December 2011, 12:13 PM |#8  
tehgyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Easton, PA
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdowsan

Also, can you tell me what is the size of your original nv_data.bin?
I have a backup on sd card, that is like 20mb...and the one in efs folder is like 2 mb.... strange

Im not finding a .bin titled nv_data. I've got an nv.log in my efs folder, thats the closest I see, its 400-some bytes.
1st December 2011, 12:20 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
It should be in efs\root\afs\settings

Would be great if you can look once and tell me...
1st December 2011, 12:24 PM |#10  
tehgyb's Avatar
Senior Member
Easton, PA
Thanks Meter: 171
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackdowsan

It should be in efs\root\afs\settings

Would be great if you can look once and tell me...

Herp derp im a tard! XD
Its 256kb
The Following User Says Thank You to tehgyb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st December 2011, 12:32 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
No problems..thanks mate, atleast now I know that 20mb is of no use...

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes