5,599,478 Members 38,339 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CIQ - Canadian carriers officially announce, they don't have it!

Tip us?
 
kriEv
Old
(Last edited by kriEv; 1st December 2011 at 08:22 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 403
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Default CIQ - Canadian carriers officially announce, they don't have it!

Rogers and Telus confirm there is no CarrierIQ present in their handsets. No word from Bell however.

Seems to be a practice that canadian carriers don't want to get involved with.

So anyone sporting a T989D, don't fear unless you rooted it and installed a T-Mo based ROM/Kernel that hasn't been CIQ cleaned out. Why are american carriers allowing this to happen though?


Here's the article:

EDIT: Bell and Videotron also confirm CIQ is not present in their devices

http://mobilesyrup.com/2011/12/01/ro...their-devices/
Phone: ROGERS i747M Samsung Galaxy S3
ROM: STOCK TW 4.3 I747MVLUEMK5 - ROOTED

Tablet: Nexus 7 (FLO)
ROM: STOCK 4.4 - ODEXED with ART
 
AllGamer
Old
#2  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1571
Posts: 11,517
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
interesting... i wonder if Rogers is as saint

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
mintharis
Old
#3  
mintharis's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mississauga
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllGamer View Post
interesting... i wonder if Rogers is as saint
Haha I nearly spit my drink out at that one.

Sent from my SGH-T989
 
Rekzer
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Since nearly all the roms on here were based on T-mo, are there any lasting CIQ related effects from installing it. Im currently on Beastmod which is supposed to have it removed anyway, but im just wondering if CIQ tries to stay in.
 
AllGamer
Old
#5  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1571
Posts: 11,517
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
AFAIK all our custom ROMs has it removed

if you are unsure just look for this file in your phone com.carrieriq.tmobile or anything that says something.carrieriq.something

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
quest4fire
Old
#6  
quest4fire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 294
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
With Mr. X's ROM he mentions in his OP there is no CIQ. However the other Devs OPs fail to mention it with theirs. I know Bullet Kernel mentions it.
Current: TMobile Samsung Galaxy S2 Hercules. ROM: CM9
Samsung Galaxy Nexus GSM ROM: Stock Jellybean (on loan)
LG G2x. ROM: Eaglesblood (Sold)
TMobile Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant. ROM: Bionic 1.3.1 (Sold)
 
Romanbb
Old
#7  
Romanbb's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 7026
Posts: 3,587
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllGamer View Post
AFAIK all our custom ROMs has it removed

if you are unsure just look for this file in your phone com.carrieriq.tmobile or anything that says something.carrieriq.something
That's the package name -- I think the actual apk is SystemManager.apk right?
 
kriEv
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 403
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Edit to main post..

Bell and Videotron confirm: no CIQ also.
Phone: ROGERS i747M Samsung Galaxy S3
ROM: STOCK TW 4.3 I747MVLUEMK5 - ROOTED

Tablet: Nexus 7 (FLO)
ROM: STOCK 4.4 - ODEXED with ART
 
Rekzer
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 572
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanbb View Post
That's the package name -- I think the actual apk is SystemManager.apk right?
Ive never once seen this on any rom ive run. I usually go through after a flash with titanium to restore data/freeze apps and never seen it.

Right now im on BeastMOD and i know hes removed it.
 
Blue1k
Old
#10  
Blue1k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 172
Posts: 539
Join Date: Feb 2008
LIES. Two phones identified with ciq. See mobilesyrup.com

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
Follow me on twitter @Blue1k ...thephonecollector

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...