Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,443 Members 50,388 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WiFi Connected but No Internet - I FIGURED IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tip us?
 
bmx0964
Old
(Last edited by bmx0964; 2nd December 2011 at 12:32 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default WiFi Connected but No Internet - I FIGURED IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here is basically a run-down of what I did. I hope this helps everyone out.

Device specs:
  • Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0 Rooted

Network Specs:
  • DSL Modem
  • Router (DHCP with WPA security and does not have MAC Filtering)
  • 4 Access Points (all on same channel broadcasting same SSID with same WPA security DHCP)
  • 2 Servers - Static IPs
    -Server 1 - DNS (not sure if it is actually a DNS server or just forwards the requests). Also storage/application server.
    -Server 2 - Storage/Application/SQL server
  • Many clients on network (unsure of total amount but somewhere around 30 would be my guess)

Problem (note this is only on this network, every other network wifi
works just fine):
  • Wifi Connected but no internet.
  • My Windows 7 laptop (same network) gets internet access with no problems
  • No reports of any other clients on the network having this issue
  • Device has assigned a good DHCP IP address
  • Subnet, Gateway, and DNS IPs are all correct (they match the ones on my laptop)
  • Connection strength is great (speed is 52mbps)
  • Device has full local access (intranet). It can access all files and other devices on the network.
  • On occasion the device will get "internet" access for a brief period of time but will go back to "intranet" access only after a few minutes.

Tests Performed (My android device will be referred to as "device" my laptop will be reffered to as "laptop". All tests were performed with both laptop and device connected to the network in question, unless otherwise specified, and device was not able to access internet):
  • Ping from laptop to device - Successful
  • Ping from device to laptop - Successful
  • Ping from laptop to gateway - Successful
  • Ping from device to gateway - Failed
  • Resolve DNS IP on device - Successful
  • Resolve DNS IP on laptop - Successful
  • Ping from laptop to google - Successful
  • Ping from device to google - Failed
  • Small FTP file transfer from laptop to device - Successful
  • Small FTP file transfer from device to laptop - Successful
  • Device has no problems on other networks (tried un-secured, WEP, and WPA/WPA2)
  • Connect device using Google public DNS servers
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - Failed
    -Resolve DNS IP - Successful
  • Connect laptop using Google public DNS servers
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - Successful
    -Resolve DNS IP - Successful
  • More that I cannot remember right now. Will add as they come to me.

At this point I gave up for a few days. Every test and every bit of research returned nothing. I had spent many many hours trying to figure this out and testing theories and nothing ever pointed me in the right direction of where to go. Nothing made sense EVERY single setting is the same is on my laptop. Started thinking maybe there was something in the router that could be blocking Android devices (since it is a work network). Although I am not a aware of a router feature to do that I figure I would try some more tests.

Testing Round 2 (same conditions as initial tests):
  • Configured laptop to be a Wifi hotspot.
    -From CMD command 1: netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=AP key=XXXXXXXXX
    -From CMD command 2: netsh wlan start hostednetwork
    -From network and sharing center: Shared the physical wireless network connection with the Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter.
    -The above commands create a virtual wireless adapter and set it broadcast the specified SSID with the specified WPA security key. Then you can choose any available, connected, physical, internet connection and share it's internet connection with the virtual connection, thus theorectically turning my laptop into a 5th access point on the network.
  • Connected device to the SSID "AP"
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - SUCCESSFUL

Horray!!!! Progress! So with the above information I went to our IT guy and we sat down and looked at some stuff (settings in the router, access points, and servers). After digging and digging around within the settings we came up with.... you guessed it NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I was in "Its on!" mode and decided I wasn't going to stop until I found out at least what was causing the problem. My IT guy was also very determined to figure this out as he doesn't like to get beat either. So we both went at it. We decided the first thing to do was make a very detailed network map containing every piece of information we could possibly find. We did this all from his machine (laptop with Windows 7) and wrote everything down on paper (we even used a piece of our 36" wide roll paper from our plotter to make sure everything would fit) and made an excel spredsheet with all the info. Now with the newly aquired network information I decided I was going to do more testing.

Testing Round 3 (same conditions as initial test):
  • Map the entire network again gathering every piece of information possible just like before but this time using MY DEVICE (not my laptop).
  • Compare

Finally! I have found the problem! As stated before my device was getting the correct gateway IP (XXX.XXX.XXX.1) which is the same as my laptop). However the assigned MAC address OF THE GATEWAY (router) to my device is XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB but the MAC address OF THE GATEWAY (router) to my laptop is XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA. Got back with our IT guy and we found (by looking the router config) that the XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA is the LAN MAC address for the router. The XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB is the WAN MAC address for the router.

Testing Round 4 (same conditions as intial test):
  • Connected laptop to network, confirmed XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA MAC address was assigned for the gateway by running "arp -a" in CMD.
    -Pinged google - Passed
    -Changed assigned MAC address of gateway by running "arp -s XXX.XXX.XXX.1 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB" in CMD
    -Verified new MAC address assignment by running "arp -a" in CMD
    -Pinged google - Failed
    -Changed the MAC back and pinged google again - Successful
  • Connected device to network, confirmed XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB MAC address was assigned for the gateway by running "arp -a" in Terminal.
    -Pinged google - Failed
    -Changed assigned MAC address of gateway by running "su" then "arp -s XXX.XXX.XXX.1 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA" in Terminal
    -Verified new MAC address assignment by running "arp -a" in Terminal
    -Pinged google - Successful
    -Changed the MAC back and pinged google again - Failed

Conclusion:
For some reason the device is getting assigned the correct gateway IP but the wrong gateway MAC. This is allowing the device to connect to the network but not communicate with the router. Since it can't communicate with the router any "Internet" requests time out because the packets have to go through the router to make it to the "Internet". Since it is not blocked from the network it can still connect and communicate with other clients on the "Intranet" but not the router.

Our IT guy thinks there is a client somewhere on the network in the same subnet that is configured in this matter and it just so happens that for some reason my device is picking that up when it connects. He is going to look into it more when time permits but since we are very busy and we have already spent way too much time on this, and I now know at least what the issue is, he is going to move on for now.

Why would my device be picking up the WAN MAC address of the router?

What would be responsible for assigning a WAN or LAN MAC address?

How can I prevent this?

Has anyone ever experienced anything like this?



Temporary Solution (must be rooted):
  • Open your favorite terminal app on your device.
    -Enter "su" (without quotes)
    -Enter "arp -s [Your gateway IP here] [Your gateway's LAN MAC address here]
  • Browse away!!!!!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bmx0964 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cesedy
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 26
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hello.
I had the same problem, that I could connect to router but had no connection to internet.
Read this post and started to do some research on my router. When I configurated my router, there was an option to clone MAC address. And of course to get it done fast I cloned MAC. And now I checked that it cloned my laptop MAC. Changed MAC from laptop to Routers MAC (must be on label under router) and got a really nice internet connection.
 
ultra_omar
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hi, I think I have the same problem with the same device, Samsung Galaxy Player 4, but even if my device is rooted I still can't excecute the "arp" command from the Terminal application (there is no "arp" command). How can I check/modify the arp list on my device???

I really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance!!!
 
bmx0964
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2011
I use the terminal emulator app. It works just fine for me and I never had to download any other software to be able to run the ARP command.
 
may_east
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx0964 View Post
Here is basically a run-down of what I did. I hope this helps everyone out.


Temporary Solution (must be rooted):
  • Open your favorite terminal app on your device.
    -Enter "su" (without quotes)
    -Enter "arp -s [Your gateway IP here] [Your gateway's LAN MAC address here]
  • Browse away!!!!!
anyone found a solution to this ?
just updated to ics4 and cannot connect to the internet.
 
greeky510
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 372
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Norwalk, CT
You only have one device that assigns IP adresses, right?
How about changing the channel to see if that works? or maybe even the security protocol
 
may_east
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeky510 View Post
You only have one device that assigns IP adresses, right?
How about changing the channel to see if that works? or maybe even the security protocol
the only thing that worked for me is to turn on the dhcp option
in my router. previously, i was using static ips
 
Bigdidi
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by may_east View Post
the only thing that worked for me is to turn on the dhcp option
in my router. previously, i was using static ips
I had the sams problem. I could connect with my wifi but had no internet acces. The solution here was the wifi encription.
My smartphone could not encript the hard encription I think. With WEP encription it all works well.
 
thrdstooge
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hey guys,

Here's a run down of the problem I'm currently having. A few months ago I purchased a Dapeng A75 currently running ICS 4.0. Although a beautiful and fast phone, just recently it started going out of wack.

- Youtube and Play Store hang on "Loading" screen
- My Gmail accounts won't sync
- I can no longer search on Google.com with ANY browser through WiFi. (I do not have data service on my phone)

I've tried several attempts at troubleshooting this, all which have failed.

- I restored my phone to factory default.
- Uninstalled and reinstalled these apps.
- Downgraded the apps to previous versions.
- Cleared my cache on just about everything.
- Release and renewed my IP in Terminal.

Just recently I noticed a CWM recovery image posted and I figure this is the only solution. Wiping out the phone and flashing a fresh ROM but unfortunately I can only get as far as installing the drivers to my Windows 7 machine. Some reason when I plug the phone in after installing the drivers, Windows will prompt me that the device is plugged in but before I get a chance to hit F9 for SP Flash Tool to do it's thing, the device quickly disconnects.

NOTE: I am able to browse Google via WiFi only by using HotSpot Shield VPN (Which is problematic in itself).

I'm currently losing the battle with this phone and at my wits end. Is there anyone out there who is experiencing the same situation or has some sort of solution which doesn't involve be shelling out more money for a new phone?
 
adil_007
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default good work brother

i understood the above problem n i too experienced the same problems so now i will take ur research to next level n see my know of network .
i appreciate all the work done you , in research of this LITTLE but hetic problem.
i have learned a lot through u r research.
n will do more n keep u guys posted if i found somthing on this

---------- Post added at 11:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx0964 View Post
Here is basically a run-down of what I did. I hope this helps everyone out.

Device specs:
  • Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0 Rooted

Network Specs:
  • DSL Modem
  • Router (DHCP with WPA security and does not have MAC Filtering)
  • 4 Access Points (all on same channel broadcasting same SSID with same WPA security DHCP)
  • 2 Servers - Static IPs
    -Server 1 - DNS (not sure if it is actually a DNS server or just forwards the requests). Also storage/application server.
    -Server 2 - Storage/Application/SQL server
  • Many clients on network (unsure of total amount but somewhere around 30 would be my guess)

Problem (note this is only on this network, every other network wifi
works just fine):
  • Wifi Connected but no internet.
  • My Windows 7 laptop (same network) gets internet access with no problems
  • No reports of any other clients on the network having this issue
  • Device has assigned a good DHCP IP address
  • Subnet, Gateway, and DNS IPs are all correct (they match the ones on my laptop)
  • Connection strength is great (speed is 52mbps)
  • Device has full local access (intranet). It can access all files and other devices on the network.
  • On occasion the device will get "internet" access for a brief period of time but will go back to "intranet" access only after a few minutes.

Tests Performed (My android device will be referred to as "device" my laptop will be reffered to as "laptop". All tests were performed with both laptop and device connected to the network in question, unless otherwise specified, and device was not able to access internet):
  • Ping from laptop to device - Successful
  • Ping from device to laptop - Successful
  • Ping from laptop to gateway - Successful
  • Ping from device to gateway - Failed
  • Resolve DNS IP on device - Successful
  • Resolve DNS IP on laptop - Successful
  • Ping from laptop to google - Successful
  • Ping from device to google - Failed
  • Small FTP file transfer from laptop to device - Successful
  • Small FTP file transfer from device to laptop - Successful
  • Device has no problems on other networks (tried un-secured, WEP, and WPA/WPA2)
  • Connect device using Google public DNS servers
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - Failed
    -Resolve DNS IP - Successful
  • Connect laptop using Google public DNS servers
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - Successful
    -Resolve DNS IP - Successful
  • More that I cannot remember right now. Will add as they come to me.

At this point I gave up for a few days. Every test and every bit of research returned nothing. I had spent many many hours trying to figure this out and testing theories and nothing ever pointed me in the right direction of where to go. Nothing made sense EVERY single setting is the same is on my laptop. Started thinking maybe there was something in the router that could be blocking Android devices (since it is a work network). Although I am not a aware of a router feature to do that I figure I would try some more tests.

Testing Round 2 (same conditions as initial tests):
  • Configured laptop to be a Wifi hotspot.
    -From CMD command 1: netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=AP key=XXXXXXXXX
    -From CMD command 2: netsh wlan start hostednetwork
    -From network and sharing center: Shared the physical wireless network connection with the Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter.
    -The above commands create a virtual wireless adapter and set it broadcast the specified SSID with the specified WPA security key. Then you can choose any available, connected, physical, internet connection and share it's internet connection with the virtual connection, thus theorectically turning my laptop into a 5th access point on the network.
  • Connected device to the SSID "AP"
    -Intranet - Successful
    -Internet - SUCCESSFUL

Horray!!!! Progress! So with the above information I went to our IT guy and we sat down and looked at some stuff (settings in the router, access points, and servers). After digging and digging around within the settings we came up with.... you guessed it NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I was in "Its on!" mode and decided I wasn't going to stop until I found out at least what was causing the problem. My IT guy was also very determined to figure this out as he doesn't like to get beat either. So we both went at it. We decided the first thing to do was make a very detailed network map containing every piece of information we could possibly find. We did this all from his machine (laptop with Windows 7) and wrote everything down on paper (we even used a piece of our 36" wide roll paper from our plotter to make sure everything would fit) and made an excel spredsheet with all the info. Now with the newly aquired network information I decided I was going to do more testing.

Testing Round 3 (same conditions as initial test):
  • Map the entire network again gathering every piece of information possible just like before but this time using MY DEVICE (not my laptop).
  • Compare

Finally! I have found the problem! As stated before my device was getting the correct gateway IP (XXX.XXX.XXX.1) which is the same as my laptop). However the assigned MAC address OF THE GATEWAY (router) to my device is XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB but the MAC address OF THE GATEWAY (router) to my laptop is XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA. Got back with our IT guy and we found (by looking the router config) that the XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA is the LAN MAC address for the router. The XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB is the WAN MAC address for the router.

Testing Round 4 (same conditions as intial test):
  • Connected laptop to network, confirmed XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA MAC address was assigned for the gateway by running "arp -a" in CMD.
    -Pinged google - Passed
    -Changed assigned MAC address of gateway by running "arp -s XXX.XXX.XXX.1 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB" in CMD
    -Verified new MAC address assignment by running "arp -a" in CMD
    -Pinged google - Failed
    -Changed the MAC back and pinged google again - Successful
  • Connected device to network, confirmed XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FB MAC address was assigned for the gateway by running "arp -a" in Terminal.
    -Pinged google - Failed
    -Changed assigned MAC address of gateway by running "su" then "arp -s XXX.XXX.XXX.1 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:FA" in Terminal
    -Verified new MAC address assignment by running "arp -a" in Terminal
    -Pinged google - Successful
    -Changed the MAC back and pinged google again - Failed

Conclusion:
For some reason the device is getting assigned the correct gateway IP but the wrong gateway MAC. This is allowing the device to connect to the network but not communicate with the router. Since it can't communicate with the router any "Internet" requests time out because the packets have to go through the router to make it to the "Internet". Since it is not blocked from the network it can still connect and communicate with other clients on the "Intranet" but not the router.

Our IT guy thinks there is a client somewhere on the network in the same subnet that is configured in this matter and it just so happens that for some reason my device is picking that up when it connects. He is going to look into it more when time permits but since we are very busy and we have already spent way too much time on this, and I now know at least what the issue is, he is going to move on for now.

Why would my device be picking up the WAN MAC address of the router?

What would be responsible for assigning a WAN or LAN MAC address?

How can I prevent this?

Has anyone ever experienced anything like this?



Temporary Solution (must be rooted):
  • Open your favorite terminal app on your device.
    -Enter "su" (without quotes)
    -Enter "arp -s [Your gateway IP here] [Your gateway's LAN MAC address here]
  • Browse away!!!!!



i would like to add if u have seen the
cmd-ncpa.cpl-ipv4-propreties- in this section u see its Dhcp so all fields are inactive
but u can see gateway ip which is inactive such as in my case 192.168.1.1
u cannot remove that.
any body saw the reply....

thanks regards

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more