Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Help: AT&T Wants to disconnect my Galaxy Note

OP danteusel

22nd December 2011, 04:01 AM   |  #461  
Senior Member
Flag Arlington Virginia
Thanks Meter: 403
 
1,246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Day 2 with my Note. Something I should point out: I may have mentioned earlier on in this thread (or another one, not sure), but I did a "manual override" of my IMEI with my SGS2 way back in May by using the IMEI of an Infuse 4G display unit from the AT&T store. Basically, I asked the service rep to associate the Infuse 4G's IMEI with my phone line, and that has stayed that way ever since.

So far, that Infuse 4G IMEI is still what is registered to my line, and thus far I have had no issues whatsoever with using my Note. No texts of doom, nothing. Just a great experience so far. Hopefully it will remain this way for the foreseeable future!!

I'm posting this as an interim solution (in addition to backing up your /efs folder and deleting the contents of the original) for those of you having problems until AT&T gets the real issue fixed. Just FYI
The Following User Says Thank You to Jade Eyed Wolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2011, 02:48 AM   |  #462  
Phateless's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oakland
Thanks Meter: 447
 
4,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Apologize if this has already been suggested, but why don't we add a poll to isolate some patterns? Or perhaps the gentleman who spoke to AT&T via email could ask for the imei range of affected devices?
25th December 2011, 03:12 AM   |  #463  
GenghisKhent's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bates Motel
Thanks Meter: 3
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jade Eyed Wolf

I did a "manual override" of my IMEI with my SGS2 way back in May by using the IMEI of an Infuse 4G display unit from the AT&T store. Basically, I asked the service rep to associate the Infuse 4G's IMEI with my phone line, and that has stayed that way ever since.So far, that Infuse 4G IMEI is still what is registered to my line, and thus far I have had no issues whatsoever with using my Note.

This is what I did. Only difference was I did this over the phone with an AT&T tech rather than in store with a rep, and got the Infuse IMEI from my good friend Mr. Google rather than from a display unit. But the concept is exactly the same.

For whatever reason, while the Note IMEI now thankfully is associated with a phone rather than a tablet it apparently won't get you provisioned for the phone APN (at least not yet). That's basically what the AT&T tech told me. So you have to play this game of using another phone's IMEI. The AT&T people go along with it, I suspect because they realize you're not going anything wrong, and instead it is a problem with AT&T's system. Good for them!
12th February 2012, 04:13 PM   |  #464  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I have a question.
I'm not 100% sure whats been going on in this thread, but here's what I'd like to do:

- I have a SIM unlocked Motorola Atrix 4G.
- I have an unactivated AT&T SIM card.
- I'd like to have a DATA ONLY PLAN on it.
- The only thing that has data only is a tablet plan.

If I took the IMEI of a tablet and registered it to my SIM card with a 4G tablet data plan, would AT&T say or do anything if I used it on my Atrix?
13th February 2012, 07:05 AM   |  #465  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 9
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I have an unlimited data / text smartphone plan on a Google-branded Nexus One, and I am planning on getting the unlocked Note. Will I be flagged by AT&T? If I just switch the sim card, I assume I will only be getting 3G speeds. Right? Do I need to upgrade my plan to get 4G? If so, will I lose my unlimited plan? Thank you in advance for your replies.
13th February 2012, 11:37 PM   |  #466  
sl8125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
It looks it you are on an unlimited media net plan you will be flagged. If you are on a iPhone unlimited data plan you should be fine. I also looking into a note but changed my mine.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
garbagecanman
14th February 2012, 02:25 AM   |  #467  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenghisKhent

This is what I did. Only difference was I did this over the phone with an AT&T tech rather than in store with a rep, and got the Infuse IMEI from my good friend Mr. Google rather than from a display unit. But the concept is exactly the same.

For whatever reason, while the Note IMEI now thankfully is associated with a phone rather than a tablet it apparently won't get you provisioned for the phone APN (at least not yet). That's basically what the AT&T tech told me. So you have to play this game of using another phone's IMEI. The AT&T people go along with it, I suspect because they realize you're not going anything wrong, and instead it is a problem with AT&T's system. Good for them!

So when i get my note just throw the sim in and leave the infuse imei on the account? Anything else i need to do for hspda+

Sent from my A500 ICS dream machine
14th February 2012, 04:10 AM   |  #468  
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 43
 
297 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl8125

It looks it you are on an unlimited media net plan you will be flagged. If you are on a iPhone unlimited data plan you should be fine. I also looking into a note but changed my mine.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App

This might have been mentioned somewhere in this massive thread, but why not just back up and delete the /EFS folder?
14th February 2012, 05:53 AM   |  #469  
sl8125's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
953 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarplayerone

This might have been mentioned somewhere in this massive thread, but why not just back up and delete the /EFS folder?

Maybe I missed it. I will have to go back and read again. If there is s way keeping my media net plan I would like to pick up a galaxy note.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
26th February 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #470  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl8125

Maybe I missed it. I will have to go back and read again. If there is s way keeping my media net plan I would like to pick up a galaxy note.

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App

Is ATT throwing people off the medianet plan? Havent seen it yet, not on mine atleast.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
at&t, galaxy note
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes