GMD GestureControl Gets Lollipop Support

GMD GestureControl is an app that allows you to control your (rooted) devices with multitouch … more

Xiaomi Finally Releases Kernel Sources

If you are familiar with Xiaomi, you might have heard that they are not the most compliant when … more

SwipeBack for Xposed Updated with Lollipop Compatibility

When the Xposed Framework was announced for Android Lollipop, most modules … more

One M9 Firmware Guide & Collection

While it is still under construction, XDA Recognized Contributor herwegan‘s thread will … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

AT&T Limiting Network Speeds on Titan

2nd December 2011, 07:41 PM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Salt Lake City, Utah
Thanks Meter: 2
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Can anyone atest to this? There's a thread on a another forum about this. People are saying that the Focus S has twice the speed on the network (non-Wi-Fi) than the Titan.

http://forums.wpcentral.com/titan/184114.htm

Check your speed here:
http://mobilespeedtest.net

3rd December 2011, 02:07 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 13
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I noticed this inthe ATT store, when I was checking out the Titan and Focus S.They were side by side, every page loaded much faster on the Focus S. I even asked if there was a way to change the settings on the Titan because I had a feeling ATT would do this. They did it for the Focus. I was lose connection all the time until I turn my speed up.
3rd December 2011, 02:11 AM |#3  
uncled1023's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I was checking reviews and specs, and the speeds of the Focus S are faster than on the Titan. Whether this is from AT&T dicking around, or from the radios inside the hardware, or some other factor, idk. I have yet to have an issue with it though, and the speed difference is not that noticeable in my opinion.
3rd December 2011, 02:53 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Has anyone actually tried to contact AT&T or HTC regarding this? The Titan has
850/900/2100 MHz bands while the Focus S has 850/1900/2100 if that matters.
3rd December 2011, 05:38 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Contacted At&t about data speeds, both cellular and wi-fi.

The I got pushed through to a senior engineer who took my information and reset the provisions on my phone. Speeds increased quite a bit, between 3g and 4g speeds. Big difference from the sub 3g speeds I was getting. Also websites aren't timing out like before.

Wi-fi still hasn't improved for still around 14-17Mb downloads compared to 22-24Mb download speeds on my Iphone.

The engineers final resolution was to keep an eye on my 30 day return policy and recommended I go with a real LTE device.
3rd December 2011, 06:07 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
What did he do to provision your settings?
3rd December 2011, 06:38 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
The AT&T Titan is also 850/1900/2100.

Sent from my Titan using XDA Windows Phone 7 App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes