FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Samsung Galaxy S2 tmobile home button and other not working

8 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ken2110, Junior Member on 3rd December 2011, 09:34 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Samsung Galaxy S2 tmobile home search,menu,back button not working

Phone is rooted and below is the configuration

Model nuumber sgh-T989
Android version : 2.3.5
Build number: gingerbread.uvkid
Last edited by ken2110; 3rd December 2011 at 09:38 PM.
 
 
3rd December 2011, 10:06 PM |#2  
daddymatt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warner Robins, Georgia
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Take out your battery, put it back in, restart. If they still don't work, flash a different kernel.

Sent from my Beastly SGS2!
3rd December 2011, 10:06 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can some one please check. I rooted the phone and the buttons were working after that. But they stopped working after I installed unlock sgs app from market. Did anyone faced any of these issues.

Problem is all the 4 buttons didn't work no LED light and no function.
3rd December 2011, 10:16 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have the kernel version of 2.6.35.11. Which one you think is good.
3rd December 2011, 10:25 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
took the battery out and restarted. But no effect. Still same. Any help will be greatly appreciated
3rd December 2011, 11:33 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken2110

Can some one please check. I rooted the phone and the buttons were working after that. But they stopped working after I installed unlock sgs app from market. Did anyone faced any of these issues.

Problem is all the 4 buttons didn't work no LED light and no function.

None of the unlock apps from the market work on the T-mobile/Telus version of the sgs2, so maybe that might be the problem? Try uninstalling it..

Or try wiping dalvik cache?

If that doesn't work, backup the apps and stuff using titanium backup and flash the rom/kernal again (factory wipe, wipe dalvik cache and other cache)
3rd December 2011, 11:40 PM |#7  
Towle's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,884
 
More
Yeah try uninstalling that app then reboot into recovery and clear your dalvik cache.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
4th December 2011, 01:48 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
No results
Done factory reset cleared all the cache and its same.. all 4 buttons not working..
4th December 2011, 02:08 AM |#9  
Towle's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,884
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken2110

Done factory reset cleared all the cache and its same.. all 4 buttons not working..

Alright well then you're going to have to do a full wipe and re flash the ROM.

Not positive that will work, but it's your only option at this point. If that doesn't work, it might be a hardware problem.

EDIT: I guess you could try clearing both caches and flashing the same ROM without a full wipe.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
Last edited by Towle; 4th December 2011 at 02:12 AM.
4th December 2011, 02:11 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
any idea how to do that
4th December 2011, 02:17 AM |#11  
Towle's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,884
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken2110

any idea how to do that

Put the ROM on the root of your external sd card, reboot into recovery, go to backup/restore and do a backup, wipe data, clear cache, go to advanced and clear dalvik, go to install zip from sd, choose zip from sd, then click on the ROM .zip file.

Let me know if you need help.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
Last edited by Towle; 4th December 2011 at 02:30 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread