Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Does the Xperia Arc S housing crack?

OP ARC X12

6th December 2011, 04:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Good day I just sold my xperia arc and planning to get the Xperia Arc s. i really like the xperia arc because i didnt have any problem with it except the crack on the housing which occurred twice. It was replaced twice by SE. I would want to get the Arc S because of the white housing which i really like. My question is, has anyone experienced a crack on their Xperia Arc S? I do not know if they have corrected the problem with the housing especially the one near the censor with the Xperia Arc S. Hope anyone could share
6th December 2011, 08:19 PM   |  #2  
Luhccas-X10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fortaleza - Ceará
Thanks Meter: 61
 
390 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Until the moment it didn't have claims about this...
7th December 2011, 01:26 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Aberdeen
Thanks Meter: 50
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I have had no problems with the white housing yet.

Keith
7th December 2011, 02:05 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I just hope that SE has really modified the ARC S housing this time.
7th December 2011, 05:36 PM   |  #5  
dong2007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag subsurface
Thanks Meter: 132
 
533 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
My Arc S also fine
14th December 2011, 02:17 PM   |  #6  
Markus-SonyXperiaSupport's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Several users have already posted they have no issues but I want to step in and comment anyway.

I work with social media at Sony Ericsson and see and hear a lot of different problems/stories and so far I have not seen one single user saying his or her arc S have cracked.
14th December 2011, 02:22 PM   |  #7  
Flo95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
2,882 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I heard that fixed case will be available in January for the old Arc, is that right or can we already get the fixed one for our old Arc, if it has the crack?

And where can I find a german statemant that it's handled under warranty?
In a Vodafone shop here in Germany they said the problem isn't known and I'd have to pay the ~100€ myself.


Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk
14th December 2011, 07:28 PM   |  #8  
reptile64's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Drama
Thanks Meter: 360
 
770 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markus-SEAnswers

Several users have already posted they have no issues but I want to step in and comment anyway.

I work with social media at Sony Ericsson and see and hear a lot of different problems/stories and so far I have not seen one single user saying his or her arc S have cracked.

Hi Markus and welcome to XDA forums (if this is really you)
Have you heard anything for the original Arc? And what about it?
Do they use a reinforced replacement or the same ****ty plastic?
21st December 2011, 03:39 PM   |  #9  
Markus-SonyXperiaSupport's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Thanks! I can promise it really is me.

Yes. We have made changes to improve the front cover on the phone. I don't work with repair myself and I don't know what exactly has been changed. I have just been informed that some changes have been made to make the cover better.

So if you have this crack on the front cover on Xperia arc, hand it in at a service centre together with the receipt and it should be handled within warranty.

-Markus
Sony Ericsson Answers Team
21st December 2011, 04:01 PM   |  #10  
Flo95's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 635
 
2,882 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Ok, gonna go to a service center in early January to get the new housing
Thanks for the information.

Do I need to reflash it and wipe my data or can I give it to repair with my data and custom stuff like DooMKernel?
Software stuff shouldn't void warranty on the case imo

Sent from my iPad 2 using Tapatalk
Last edited by Flo95; 21st December 2011 at 04:31 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes