Post Reply

[TOOL] WP7 Easy Backup Tool (BETA)

OP MarcHoover

6th December 2011, 10:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Han(n)over
Thanks Meter: 147
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Hello XDA-Community,

I am back with a new tool for Windows Phone 7 (<3).

The WP7 Easy Backup Tool allows WP7 users to create or restore a backup on the easy way and without hacking skills. The tools wraps the Windows Phone Support Tools to create or restore updates, that means backups are 100% Zune compatible.

This software is still in development, but there is already an stable version.
I've tested with my HD7 and HD2 (depends on the ROM), more test devices would be nice.


This tool requires .NET 3.5, Zune 4.8.2345.0 and Windows Phone Support Tools



Successful tested on:
  • HTC HD7 (original HTC ROM)
  • HTC HD2 (Back to the Future ROM, xmb Rom 7740.16)
  • HTC 7 Mozart
  • HTC Arrive
  • HTC Titan
  • Samsung i917
  • Dell Venue Pro
  • Samsung Omnia 7 (I8700)
  • Nokia Lumia 800
  • Samsung Focus S


WARNING: The Tool didn't cares about previous backups! Please save your backups as first step.
Your backup should be stored here: "%localappdata%\Microsoft\Windows Phone Update\"

WARNING #2: THE BACKUP PROCESS COULD LEAD TO A FAILURE ON CUSTOM ROMS! ZUNE AND ZUNE UPDATES NEED TO BE SUPPORTED BY YOUR CUSTOM ROM.

HINT: The backup process could take up to 1h depending on your device.

IF YOU STUCK DURING THE BACKUP PROCESS IT'S NOT NECESSARY TO HARDRESET. REMOVE YOUR BATTERY AND BOOT NORMAL. (Sorry rubbish ;()

Use this software at your own risk

Please give me feedback on bugs or feature requests.

You found a bug? Okay, I need a description, device informations and your Zune version to kill that thing

DOWNLOAD

If you get the message: "There was a known problem with your Windows Phone Support Tools. Do you want to open the Microsoft Knowledge Base to get fix?" follow this instructions! Otherwise you can download the Windows Phone Support Tools here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8&postcount=40
Last edited by MarcHoover; 27th January 2012 at 06:08 PM.
The Following 64 Users Say Thank You to MarcHoover For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2011, 11:11 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
This Tool does full backup how Zune?

Looks nice and simple!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to minep For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th December 2011, 11:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Han(n)over
Thanks Meter: 147
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by minep

This Tool does full backup how Zune?

Looks nice and simple!

Thank you

Yes, its also full compatible to Zune. The tools uses similar mechanics. (Faking an update).
6th December 2011, 11:28 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I'll use it. Before change registry values, you need use it!

Danke!
The Following User Says Thank You to minep For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2011, 01:01 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 29
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Thanks for the app although it seems to not be ready for prime time yet :)
I've tried to backup and it seemed to show progress while phone (having rebooted itself) was showin 'do not disconnect' graphics. After the progress bar has reached 100% the phone was still at 'do not disconnect' stage so I've waited 10 minutes and unplugged it. It was still showing the same graphics. So I rebooted few times to only see the same 'do not disconnect' thing. So (being a bit worried at this stage) I've pressed factory reset buttons combination (worked) then exited it and only then phone booted normally. I have Focus with 7720 firmware.
The Following User Says Thank You to crubbish For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2011, 02:12 AM   |  #6  
xfernand's Avatar
Senior Member
Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 2
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubbish

Thanks for the app although it seems to not be ready for prime time yet :)
I've tried to backup and it seemed to show progress while phone (having rebooted itself) was showin 'do not disconnect' graphics. After the progress bar has reached 100% the phone was still at 'do not disconnect' stage so I've waited 10 minutes and unplugged it. It was still showing the same graphics. So I rebooted few times to only see the same 'do not disconnect' thing. So (being a bit worried at this stage) I've pressed factory reset buttons combination (worked) then exited it and only then phone booted normally. I have Focus with 7720 firmware.

Same thing. Had to pull batt out to get it to restart...
The Following User Says Thank You to xfernand For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th December 2011, 06:13 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag Han(n)over
Thanks Meter: 147
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Sorry guys ;( Which Zune version you are running? I had no problems with 4.8.2345.0
7th December 2011, 07:18 AM   |  #8  
jcsy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of the Z1/EVO3D/GTAB10.1(2)
Thanks Meter: 941
 
3,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcHoover

Hello XDA-Community,

This software is still in development, but there is already an stable version.
I've tested with my HD7 and HD2 (depends on the ROM), more test devices would be nice.


DOWNLOAD

notice the bold part

what ROM were u using on HD2?
7th December 2011, 07:20 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag Han(n)over
Thanks Meter: 147
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Update:
+ Bugfix: Progressbar, no 100%-flapping before the process starts.
+ Text added: "IF YOU STUCK DURING THE BACKUP PROCESS IT'S NOT NECESSARY TO HARDRESET. REMOVE YOUR BATTERY AND BOOT NORMAL."
+ Buttons now locked instant after clicking "Backup" or "Restore". (Could lead to multiple backup / restore processes)

Please Re-Download if you want the update.
7th December 2011, 07:28 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Han(n)over
Thanks Meter: 147
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsy

notice the bold part

Yes, sir

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsy

what ROM were u using on HD2?


Back to the Future - Updateable ROM by Yuki / XBMod

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MarcHoover For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes