Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,266 Members 40,883 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[UTIL] DeSense, Cleanup, NEW MainVer fix, + more ** [v9 updated 3/8]

Tip us?
 
danutzz
Old
(Last edited by danutzz; 30th March 2012 at 11:35 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 241
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [UTIL] DeSense, Cleanup, NEW MainVer fix, + more ** [v9 updated 3/8]

"So easy, a caveman can do it"

AS ALWAYS use at your own risk. Not responsible for anything that might happen to your phone.

Updated DeSense for both, ICS and GB, roms. Changes are NO LONGER permanent.

What can I use this for?:

- set your mainver to accept any of the rezound PH*.zip files while using bootloader
- change look and feel of your rom from sense to something else
- remove extra apps not needed to use your phone
- install apps you need before logging into market
- easily reboot into recovery/bootloader w/o pulling the battery
- block ads
- fix bluetooth on ICS roms


Instructions:
** Must ALREADY be rooted before running (htc Dev Unlock)**
- HTC Drivers must be installed on PC
- USB Debugging turned on for phone
- Connect via usb and charge only
- extract zip somewhere and double click DeSense_v#.bat
- Choose option in menu
Extra steps (recommended)
- Prior to de-sense, log in to all your accounts and setup the intial syncing because you may not be able to once you have de-sensed. Syncing should work after you de-sense if you do this...
Optional:
- Nandroid backup your phone in case you run into issues.

Available options:
**1** DeSense for both ICS and GB
Removes Sense UI. Must have a launcher already installed!!!

**2** Fix Bluetooth on ICS roms
Thx to JoelZ. Click here and thank/donate!

**3** Restore
Restores all of the original apk's you have removed using this util

**4** Install apps (choice menu)
Included apps are:
- wifi tether
- es file explorer
- titanium backup
- Swype
- Nova Launcher (ICS Only)

**5** Remove more HTC, Verizon & google extras
Now removes even more apps!!! If you need something back that this removed, you can use any root exploring program to move the apk from /system/bkup/ to /system/

**6** Change Mainver to universal
Will set your MainVer to "1.00.000.0". This should allow you to install any rom's boot image without getting a mainver error.
Big thanks to drellisdee. Click here to thank/donate!

**7** Remove HTC Lockscreen
Removes HTC circle lockscreen and reverts to default android (NOTE: See Troubleshooting/Issues below, before performing this option*.)

**8** Install ICS notification bar and settings (!!!do not use!!!)
do not use this option as most of (if not all) the newer roms will not be based off the 3.0.11


**9** Install ad-block hosts file
This will block ads in your browser(s) and apps. Must reboot to take effect.

**0** Reboot (choice menu)
Reboot options
- into bootloader
- into recovery
- or normal

Change Log:
v7 -Changed ICS launcher to nova launcher
-Changed settings.apk to a stable one tweaked by romanbb
-Added "flash boot.img" option (use caution)
v7_1 - No longer deleting files, making a backup instead.
- No longer removing htc video (apk)
- Made flashing a boot.img even easier and fail proof
- No longer installing swype/wifi on system (applications were not opening on some roms also gives u ability to uninstall them)
v8 - Updated with new options
- No longer removing htc video (for real this time )
v8_1 - Made instructions clearer for new 4.0.3 builds
- correctly mounting system for option 8
v9 - Removing more extra apps that might be on your phone
- Added TiBu, ES File Explorer
- Updated wifi tether, nova launcher
- removed go launcher, mms, and contacts apks because of confusion (use v8.1) if you want those apks

Troubleshooting/Known Issues:
Wifi tether isn't working
- Open the app go to
settings > change device profile > "Samsung Galaxy Nesus (CDMA/LTE)"
settings > change setup method > "Netd (master)"
settings > check "Routing Fix"

I get error messages after removing HTC extras, Verizon/Google exras, etc
- Reboot your phone!!!

HTC Lockscreen no longer has shortcuts
- No fix available

*Need to unlock phone to answer calls
- No fix available, if this is a problem DO NOT uninstall HTC lockscreen

**Cannot click "About" & "ROM Control" in ICS settings
- No fix available, if this is a problem DO NOT install ICS notification and settings

**System UI crashes after boot
- No fix available, if this is a problem DO NOT install ICS notification and settings
- It only crashes once after boot, other than that I have not seen it crash again.

Download Link:

v9
Download v9 Here

v8.1
Download v8.1 Here
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to danutzz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Tenchi4U
Old
(Last edited by Tenchi4U; 8th December 2011 at 08:30 PM.)
#2  
Tenchi4U's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 109
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Antonio
Does the wifi tether charge against normal data or will carrier detect and add?

Also, is there a list of all items frozen? I've been slowly freezing htc stuff with zerg/titanium bu and I know I missed some stuff out of caution/uncertainty/fear.

Thanks!

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
matt moore
fauxtographer geek
http://www.theArtOfMoore.com
 
danutzz
Old
(Last edited by danutzz; 8th December 2011 at 08:38 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 241
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
if you open the batch file with any text editor you can see what gets disabled. If you disable an apk twice, it will not affect your phone. So no worries about re-freezing frozen stuff.

wifi tether uses root to provide the service, i cannot make any guarantees to what Verizon will or will not do. I have been using this apk for a while without issues, but I am not making any claims. This stuff is always "use at your own risk"!

The program uses your phone data connection (which is part of your data plan) to provide wifi to other devices i.e. other phones, laptops, desktops, ps3's, etc. If you have limited data plan you can go over the limit using this app.
 
PaulTheBuilder
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2011
So i posted this in the Supertool thread - removing sense stops the gallery/album app from working properly. Does anyone know what dependencies the gallery app needs to work?

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulTheBuilder For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mohkg
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 347
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tinley Park
This is ****in awesome excuse my language

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
 
zeroxg4
Old
#6  
zeroxg4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 542
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTheBuilder View Post
So i posted this in the Supertool thread - removing sense stops the gallery/album app from working properly. Does anyone know what dependencies the gallery app needs to work?

Thanks
+1 I haven't been able to track it down either.
 
danutzz
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 241
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeroxg4 View Post
+1 I haven't been able to track it down either.
I found the missing package is "com.htc.opensense". I'm not to sure what else this enables but I still have a de-sensed ui. I will create a batch file for easy use.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to danutzz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PaulTheBuilder
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2011
That was it. Thanks!
 
danutzz
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 241
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
I understand my original .bat file is not working correctly... i'll update the original file when i get home later tonight. In the meantime you can use the frigid's super tool (link provided) although a lot of the features won't work for our rezounds...
 
mohkg
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 347
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tinley Park
how come after my screen just stays blank not even a lockscreen please help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes