Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,324 Members 42,957 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [HELP] Best way to recover an Archos 101 G9 (then root it)

Tip us?
 
Cavey.co.uk
Old
#1  
Cavey.co.uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 261
Join Date: Jun 2006
Unhappy [Q] [HELP] Best way to recover an Archos 101 G9 (then root it)

Hi,

Was trying to root an Archos 101 G9 and followed the instructions here -

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1360840

No problem. Paul's root worked, broke my sound, installed 1 and 2, removed local.prop, all working nicely.

So I rebooted it and tried to get into the recovery console so I could have a play with the SDE menu and now it just comes up with a menu

Quote:
"Archos A101S Recovery

Would you like to recover your system?

No
Reboot
Update firmware
Repair System
Format System"
Whatever I do, it just reboots to this screen. Hold vol - or vol + makes no difference, it flashes up the Archos boot screen and then goes white.

As for the menu, I have tried most of them, only "Format" left and I don't know if I can fix it if I do that, so decided to ask here....

So, any clues?

Thanks in advance.
Samsung S4 i9505 4.4.2 Stock. Rooted. Write access to SD enabled. No triangle. Knox 0x1
"Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur"
 
letama
Old
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2310
Posts: 1,679
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Well, if you don't see the developer menu, it means that the sde kernel didn't flash properly.

When you don't press volume keys, does the device boot properly ?

If it does, re-do the whole procedure and show me what is displayed when you launch the batch file. Launch it in a cmd window, not directly from explorer to be able to copy/paste.

If it doesn't boot normally, make it work again first by re-flashing firmware with "update firmware " in recovery.
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
 
Cavey.co.uk
Old
#3  
Cavey.co.uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 261
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thank you for your reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by letama View Post
When you don't press volume keys, does the device boot properly ?
Sadly, that was the problem. Endless loop of boot into white screen.... boot into white screen.... ever since I went anywhere near the SDE console.

Finally got it to re-do the firmware so is now back to stock. Turns out it doesn't like it if you rename the firmware AOS file (ie "firmware_archos_it4.aos") to include a version number (ie "firmware_archos_it4_3_2_56.aos") and just says "Update Failed".

Once that's figured out, it's "Update firmware", copy AOS file across into the RAMFS drive you can see in windows and select OK on the tablet. Rest is automated.

Starting again....

Paul's root, done.....

SDE enabling done.

Remove Paul's root (fixes sound and sleep issues).....

Tablet still works.... now to figure out how to root it.
Samsung S4 i9505 4.4.2 Stock. Rooted. Write access to SD enabled. No triangle. Knox 0x1
"Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur"
 
letama
Old
#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2310
Posts: 1,679
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavey.co.uk View Post
Tablet still works.... now to figure out how to root it.
Ok, good. So now, in recovery you should have the developer menu.

If you do have it, next step is flashing from developer menu a rooted firmware, take a look here.
Sony Xperia S (Boot Manager, JB AOSP 4.2.2, JB AOSP 4.3)
Archos A70IT2 Honeycomb model (SDE and rooted firmware)
Archos A101 G9 (SDE enabling, SDE root firmware , G9 ICS Alpha 0 )
Want to buy me a beer? Here is my donation link.

"I herd you like updates so we put an update in yo update so you can update while u update" g.revaillot (Archos)
The Following User Says Thank You to letama For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Cavey.co.uk
Old
#5  
Cavey.co.uk's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 261
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by letama View Post
If you do have it, next step is flashing from developer menu a rooted firmware, take a look here.
Thank you. Will get up the courage to try that one later...
Samsung S4 i9505 4.4.2 Stock. Rooted. Write access to SD enabled. No triangle. Knox 0x1
"Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum videtur"
 
hitman72
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 81
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ortona
same problem here, Endless loop of boot into white screen! all operations made from dos prompt! I have roted/modified a lot of phones... I want use latema's 3.2.78 roted firmware. please help! sorry for my poor english. ciao :)
 
Sepol P
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default recovery mode

Hi, I was trying to do a temp-root to then install de sde but now my archos 101 g9 250gb, when I turn it on it goes directly
to the recovery menu, seems that it have not boot. Something that I can do??

Thanks.

Tags
archos, broken, gen9, root
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google Play Store 4.9 Brings New, Image-Rich UI with a Hint of Material Design

It’s not Wednesday yet, but we’ve got a great … more

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more