FORUMS

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

[Radio]Skyrocket Radio Thread

4,054 posts
Thanks Meter: 363
 
By twopumpchump, Recognized Developer / Retired Senior Moderator on 10th December 2011, 05:35 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
10th December 2011, 10:36 AM |#11  
RiNo808's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 113
 
More
For AT&T, which radio has the best reception in you're opinion...

Sent via rooted SkyRocket
 
 
10th December 2011, 08:30 PM |#12  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
After much testing, the current selection of radios seem to offer no difference in performance, the major difference is that the Rogers radio is RAT unrestricted vs. RAT restricted AT&T radio, which allows you to type "*#2263#" in the dialer and set the phone to 2g only, 3g only, 4g only, etc.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Da_G For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th December 2011, 09:05 PM |#13  
Longcat14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 135
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da_G

After much testing, the current selection of radios seem to offer no difference in performance, the major difference is that the Rogers radio is RAT unrestricted vs. RAT restricted AT&T radio, which allows you to type "*#2263#" in the dialer and set the phone to 2g only, 3g only, 4g only, etc.

Ok... so I totally managed to **** something.

Picked a band, and I can't get signal anymore. Reflashed TPC v3, nothing. New modem, nothing...

Crap.

---------- Post added at 03:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longcat14

Ok... so I totally managed to **** something.

Picked a band, and I can't get signal anymore. Reflashed TPC v3, nothing. New modem, nothing...

Crap.

FIXED IT! Apparently taking out my SIM card and putting it back in fixed it.
10th December 2011, 09:54 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 199
 
More
I'm running KK1 and can dd a partition if that's what you need. PM me or message me on irondust(lart).
10th December 2011, 10:27 PM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hey, noob question but whats the point of flashing this radio lol? Does this actually allow you to use the radio that the skyrocket was supposed to come with but doesnt have an app for?
10th December 2011, 10:34 PM |#16  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
These are the firmware that control the Cellular Radio, DSP (Digital Signal Processor) and various bootloaders, not the FM radio that may or may not be part of our bluetooth chipset

BTW, AT&T 2.3.6 KK1 radio coming up shortly courtesy of lart, I'm just packaging it up now
10th December 2011, 10:40 PM |#17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks for the fast apply, I appreciate it =) I wish we could get the radio to work on the phone if it really is built in
10th December 2011, 10:43 PM |#18  
Da_G's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Senior Recognized Developer
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,541
 
Donate to Me
More
Did anyone take close up photos of our motherboard yet?

There are various FM radio drivers contained in the kernel, but all of them are disabled @ stock config. No idea if the chip is actually present or not, or if it is, if it's physically wired to the headphone jack (FM radio uses headphone cord as antenna generally speaking)

Close up pics of the motherboard would tell us if it's there or not
11th December 2011, 12:54 AM |#19  
Junior Member
Flag LA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I just tried out the rogers radio (I am on ATT) and I was getting extremely low data speeds on EDGE, UMTS, and HSPA+ (10kBps) (tried both phone and PTA apns). Making calls worked fine though.
11th December 2011, 03:02 AM |#20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Flashed the radio and am playing around with the bands using 2263, looks like I can force EDGE by selecting GSM (I assume we should select the 850/1900 for AT&T) and can force hspa by selecting the WCDMA)

How would I force it into 3G only mode, (UMTS?)
11th December 2011, 03:48 AM |#21  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalo960

I just tried out the rogers radio (I am on ATT) and I was getting extremely low data speeds on EDGE, UMTS, and HSPA+ (10kBps) (tried both phone and PTA apns). Making calls worked fine though.

Exact same here

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes