5,599,977 Members 45,417 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Really Slow Internet Speeds In LTE Market.

Tip us?
 
icemanscion
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default Really Slow Internet Speeds In LTE Market.

So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.
 
jedah
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 459
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanscion View Post
So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.
Sorry if this is a stupid question, but are you seeing the 4G LTE icon? Or just 4G?

I also exchanged an S2 for an SR, and they also just swapped my SIM. LTE recently soft launched in LA, and I've gotten speeds between 8 to 19Mbps (before I usually hovered between 2 and 3Mbps).
 
DRamer77
Old
#3  
DRamer77's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hagerstown,MD
i was going to ask the same thing.. im guessing your not even getting LTE just HSPA+
 
icemanscion
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default LTE ICON

I see the LTE Icon.
 
FireBladeCBR
Old
#5  
FireBladeCBR's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2008
I get 15 to 25 dn and 10 up in dfw, stock skyrocket
 
Mortem Tuam
Old
#6  
Mortem Tuam's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2185
Posts: 2,565
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanscion View Post
So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.
Chicago was one of the first LTE markets and with 10 million people in the city and suburbs...it's bound to be a little slower than some of the smaller citys.

I live in Naperville and usually get 10-15 down and occasional 25-30 down....I am sure the city of Chicago is probably less.
Nexus 7 : Galaxy Nexus : Samsung Galaxy S2 SkyRocket : LG GSlate

Follow The Collective on Twitter @CollectiveDevs
Follow The Collective on G+ http://gplus.to/CollectiveDevs
 
00mred00
Old
#7  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 2,934
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Princeton Tx

 
DONATE TO ME
At the far edge of a towers broadcast I have seen the speeds will be lower.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
 
DRamer77
Old
#8  
DRamer77's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hagerstown,MD
yea thats way low for LTE no matter how many people are on the network.. have you tried restarting the phone and see if it is better ?

this is the best ive seen locally on HSPA+

 
00mred00
Old
#9  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 404
Posts: 2,934
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Princeton Tx

 
DONATE TO ME
When you press menu.settings.about phone.status

What is listed next to network type.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
 
shaggyskunk
Old
#10  
shaggyskunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3796
Posts: 6,086
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: IDK
I AM in Ottawa, Canada and LTE speed is great.... IF you are in the pretty narrow band of coverage.
Some people have reported issues, with not being able to make calls when the LTE icon was displayed..
LTE may have been up for a few months, but it seems that maybe the carriers rushed, just to be the first?

Sent from my SGH-I727R using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more

A More Competitive Spin on the Addictive 2048 Puzzle

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we talked about a rather interesting take on … more

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more