Post Reply

Really Slow Internet Speeds In LTE Market.

10th December 2011, 06:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.
10th December 2011, 07:35 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
459 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanscion

So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but are you seeing the 4G LTE icon? Or just 4G?

I also exchanged an S2 for an SR, and they also just swapped my SIM. LTE recently soft launched in LA, and I've gotten speeds between 8 to 19Mbps (before I usually hovered between 2 and 3Mbps).
10th December 2011, 01:22 PM   |  #3  
DRamer77's Avatar
Member
Hagerstown,MD
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
i was going to ask the same thing.. im guessing your not even getting LTE just HSPA+
10th December 2011, 04:54 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
LTE ICON
I see the LTE Icon.
10th December 2011, 07:18 PM   |  #5  
FireBladeCBR's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I get 15 to 25 dn and 10 up in dfw, stock skyrocket
10th December 2011, 07:31 PM   |  #6  
Mortem Tuam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2,185
 
2,565 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemanscion

So I live in Chicago, IL and have a skyrocket from ATT with the rooted 2.3.6 stock rom. I have however never gotten anywhere near the LTE speeds others rave about. The highest speed I have ever had was 6m d 2m up and that was RARE. I usually get 3m up 1m down. I wonder however if it could be from my sim card as the guy at att just took my Galaxy s2 sim and put it in the skyrocket. Any help would be much appreciated. And I am always in the city or in the suburb which houses O'Hare international airport so I think I should be doing fine signal wise.

Chicago was one of the first LTE markets and with 10 million people in the city and suburbs...it's bound to be a little slower than some of the smaller citys.

I live in Naperville and usually get 10-15 down and occasional 25-30 down....I am sure the city of Chicago is probably less.
10th December 2011, 09:26 PM   |  #7  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Princeton Tx
Thanks Meter: 411
 
2,940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
At the far edge of a towers broadcast I have seen the speeds will be lower.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
10th December 2011, 10:30 PM   |  #8  
DRamer77's Avatar
Member
Hagerstown,MD
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
yea thats way low for LTE no matter how many people are on the network.. have you tried restarting the phone and see if it is better ?

this is the best ive seen locally on HSPA+

10th December 2011, 10:37 PM   |  #9  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Princeton Tx
Thanks Meter: 411
 
2,940 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
When you press menu.settings.about phone.status

What is listed next to network type.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
10th December 2011, 10:48 PM   |  #10  
shaggyskunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag IDK
Thanks Meter: 5,265
 
7,460 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
I AM in Ottawa, Canada and LTE speed is great.... IF you are in the pretty narrow band of coverage.
Some people have reported issues, with not being able to make calls when the LTE icon was displayed..
LTE may have been up for a few months, but it seems that maybe the carriers rushed, just to be the first?

Sent from my SGH-I727R using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes