Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] Unroot your HTC unlocked EVO 3D

OP Twolazyg

12th December 2011, 08:10 PM   |  #1  
Twolazyg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 122
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
I have noticed a lot of people asking how to unroot their 3d and return back to stock after unlocking with HTCDEV. Here's how:

Step 1: Download the RUU for your phone:
CDMA: PG86IMG.zip
GSM: GSM RUUs
(There are more GSM RUUs than CDMA, so here's all of them.)

Rogers RUU link is here.

Step 2: Place the PG86IMG.zip (CDMA- GSM will be similar) on the root of your sdcard.

Step 3: Reboot to recovery and wipe everything (Dalvik, cache, data, system, factory reset)

Step 4: Plug in your phone and reboot to bootloader via ADB
Code:
adb reboot bootloader
Step 5: Boot into Hboot and allow the RUU zip to flash to the phone.

Step 6: Boot into fastboot

Step 7: Relock your bootloader
Code:
fastboot oem lock
Setp 8: Reboot.

Note: Your bootloader will say *** RELOCKED *** after you're done. That is how your carrier and HTC will know you've unlocked. There is no way to avoid this yet.

***** Make sure you put the CORRECT RUU image on you sdcard. If you have Sprint you're CDMA, if not, you're GSM. Don't mix the two up.

If you want to unlock your phone again after relocking, boot into fastboot and type:
Code:
fastboot flash Unlock_Code.bin
That's assuming you still have the Unlock_code.bin. If you don't, you'll have to re-do all the steps on HTCDEV



GSM RUUs from Football's thread here

CDMA RUU from Mr.ESP's post here
Last edited by Twolazyg; 17th December 2011 at 10:19 PM.
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Twolazyg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2011, 02:20 AM   |  #2  
digitaljeff's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 5
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Rogers RUU link is dead from filefactory (footballs gsm ruu thread)...this has been confirmed from multiple sources
17th December 2011, 04:31 AM   |  #3  
Twolazyg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Twin Cities
Thanks Meter: 122
 
538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by digitaljeff

Rogers RUU link is dead from filefactory (footballs gsm ruu thread)...this has been confirmed from multiple sources

I would contact Football and see if he still has access to it then. Google doesn't bring anything up for Rogers. Let me know if you get it.
17th December 2011, 04:52 AM   |  #4  
digitaljeff's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 5
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
thanks to bebolf for having it in his dropbox and posting a link here ive gone ahead and uploaded the Rogers RUU to multiupload ... see below link, will post in footballs thread in gsm forum..

http://www.multiupload.com/7JM43LU588
Last edited by digitaljeff; 17th December 2011 at 05:06 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to digitaljeff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th December 2011, 12:18 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag High Point, NC
Thanks Meter: 3
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Hey just to add to this. I tried doing this method, but I couldn't get hboot to update my phone. I got hboot 1.50 stock, cause I just got the phone last week. I have no idea why ur method wouldn't work.....I'm a NOOB HERE. I tried even flashing in recovery. When I also tried to "Relocked" my phone it wouldn't even boot past the HTC screen.

Well what happened to begin was I put a different kernel on my using flash image gui, and when I tried going back to stock via backup, some of the functions didn't work wifi 4g...etc. I knew it had to be the kernel. So what I did was I found this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1223979, and downloaded the Shooter_2.08.651.2_odexed_rooted-signed.zip complete ROM.

Thanks @xHausx for that thread you saved me

Then i flashed it. I rebooted back into the bootloader and ran the lock code.
Code:
fastboot oem lock
This time the phone booted. I used one of RUU .exe from Football's post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1334473
and completely restored the phone to stock.

Idk if this helps any one or not, but this is how I got my phone back to stock without using the PG86IMG.zip and flashing in hboot.

Again noob here, but it worked.
Last edited by RedHeadMan; 19th December 2011 at 12:38 AM.
10th January 2012, 09:39 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I followed all the steps, my phone now shows RELOCKED, but I still have the superuser app. Am I missing something? How do I get rid of superuser?

Thank you
11th January 2012, 12:07 AM   |  #7  
Karl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 469
 
1,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
did you run the ruu after relocking
The Following User Says Thank You to Karl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2012, 12:25 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I downloaded the file from the OP, renamed it PG86IMG.zip and copied it to my sd card. I then boot into hboot and it loads the file. This is all after I relocked the phone. Is this correct?
11th January 2012, 12:28 AM   |  #9  
Karl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 469
 
1,524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by richsky

I downloaded the file from the OP, renamed it PG86IMG.zip and copied it to my sd card. I then boot into hboot and it loads the file. This is all after I relocked the phone. Is this correct?

yep.. ......
The Following User Says Thank You to Karl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th January 2012, 12:34 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Esp

yep.. ......

Well still showing the superuser app, any idea how to get rid of that?

Thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
1.5 hboot, htc method, relock, return to stock, unroot
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes