Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 51,943 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

CM7 for Kindle Fire (aka standing on the shoulders Giants)

Tip us?
 
vexingv
Old
#501  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default wifi issue?

anyone have any issues w/ the wifi not reconnecting to previous SSID when powered on from sleep. i currently have the wifi turn off when the screen is off both to conserve power but also this device is not used like a phone. however, it doesnt see my SSID and i actually have to turn off wifi and reenable it in order for it to connect again...
Nexus One (ATT) 2.2 stock
 
txtj
Old
#502  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2011
Has anyone been able to use the OpenVPN in CM7? When I try to connect to my office it tries to connect then stops. So I was judt curious if anyone has been sucessful using it.
Thanks
 
paulswift36
Old
#503  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 108
Join Date: Feb 2007
Whole CM7 installation worked perfectly, thanks a millon
 
androidcues
Old
#504  
androidcues's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 713
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston
Default Feeling bad for the Kid...

go to this thread and thank all the posts by Kid2 jack up his thank meter so the Mods waive the noob-guard as clearly this guy is no noob. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1406845

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKid2 View Post
I could not post directly in the development thread as I joined simply to share my solution. If anyone can confirm and prepare a better guide please post to CM7 thread by whistelstop.

You will need your factory mac address.

MAC Addresses all being the same is due to the nvs_map.bin file required by the tiwlan driver. dmseg driver will tell you it is looking for it and defaulting mac address.

I am running CM7 mileage will vary in stock rom.

As I can not post links you will need to google my text and find correct link (noob)
maybe a moderator can fix for me.

######.omappedia.org/wiki/Porting_MCP_WLAN_to_Android#TxBiP_Calibration

I used the calibration instructions in terminal as "su"
#wlan_cu b
# / w p 1 l 2 f 2
# / t b v 21
# / t b t 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
#/ q

New nvs_map.bin file will be ceated in /data/misc/wifi/
#cp /data/misc/wifi/nvs_map.bin to /sdcard/nvs_map.bin

connect to linux/windows host copy file to pc

open with hex editor I used xvi32 for windows.

link to my source for instruction for byte order and editing.

##processors.wiki.ti.com/index.php/OMAP35x_Wireless_Connectivity_WL1271_Command_Line_ Interface_(CLI)_User%27s_Guide#Editing_the_MAC_Add ress

Short instructions:

Editing the MAC Address

After the TX BIP runs, there is a new file called nvs_map.bin in Linux that contains the MAC address and the calibration data. The document SWAA044_NVS_INI_File_Functions_AN.pdf contains the format of the NVS file. If MAC address fields are manually edited with a hex editor, the byte order should be low byte first, followed by the high byte:
MAC address low register (offset 0x01 to 0x02)
MAC address LSB (offset 0x3 to 0x06)
MAC address high register (offset 0x08 to 0x09)
MAC address MSB (offset 0x0A to 0x0D)
The MAC address LSB and MAC address MSB, respectively, are shown in bold in the
following code for 08:00:28:12:34:56:
0000: 01 6d 54 56 34 12 28 01 71 54 00 08
For 11:22:33:44:55:66:
0000: 01 6d 54 66 55 44 33 01 71 54 22 11 00 00
Using a hex editor, you should change the bold numbers to the MAC address you
want to use.

Be careful about byte order and look closely at examples.

Good Luck
Please confirm instructions yourself and use at your own risk
Quote:
Originally Posted by TesseractSpace View Post
Is there a way to get the factory MAC address while still in CM7 or do I have to load the stock ROM to get it and then go back to CM7?
did you make a backup of your stock ROM? it will be somewhere in /system.ext file -- I thought it would be in xbin but I couldnt see it as easily as I have with other nandroids... but itll be in there, unless these are different from my usual G1/G2 backups.
hammerhead / grouper / htc ville tmous one-s / otter -kindle fire /htc vision tmous g2 / htc dream - tmous g1
seriously, i love the Android community.
The Following User Says Thank You to androidcues For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hydrocharged
Old
#505  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 113
Join Date: Aug 2010
Is there a way to enable hardware video rendering on the regular Kindle Fire ROM? That's truthfully the only thing that is missing right now for me. Thanks!
 
whistlestop
Old
#506  
whistlestop's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 264
Posts: 88
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by borborpa View Post
If you look on the overclocked kernel thread, in the first post there is a new wifi driver, I find it to be much snappier.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
Hey, are you talking about this link. If so, I don't see anything about a new wifi driver. If there's one different than what I'm currently using that works better then I'll grab a copy and see about integrating it into my next build.
If you'd like to buy me a beer, you can donate here Thank you!!
 
G1ForFun
Old
#507  
G1ForFun's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 2,917
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Jacksonville
Quote:
Originally Posted by whistlestop View Post
Hey, are you talking about this link. If so, I don't see anything about a new wifi driver. If there's one different than what I'm currently using that works better then I'll grab a copy and see about integrating it into my next build.
Here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1382999
Phone: Nexus 5 16GB Black
ROM: Purity
Kernel: Code Blue
Recovery: TWRP
Radio: Stock
 
MaxRabbit
Old
#508  
MaxRabbit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 712
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by whistlestop View Post
Hey, are you talking about this link. If so, I don't see anything about a new wifi driver. If there's one different than what I'm currently using that works better then I'll grab a copy and see about integrating it into my next build.
He's talking about the tiwlan_drv.ko in this thread.
Addicted to Cyanogenmod
Stock voice recorder leave you wanting? Literally hear my review of the best Android voice recorder.
"I came here to drink milk and kick ass... And I've just finished my milk."
 
borborpa
Old
#509  
borborpa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 245
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxRabbit View Post
He's talking about the tiwlan_drv.ko in this thread.
Yup that's it.

I was getting 2 bars of quality on Amazon VOD before, now getting full bars constantly on it.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using xda premium
 
MaxRabbit
Old
#510  
MaxRabbit's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 712
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin
Unfortunately, though, as I just learned you cannot just include the driver; you have to flash the kernel, too.
Addicted to Cyanogenmod
Stock voice recorder leave you wanting? Literally hear my review of the best Android voice recorder.
"I came here to drink milk and kick ass... And I've just finished my milk."

Tags
cm7, fire, kindle, sound, video
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes