Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 42,305 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[RECOVERY] Safestrap Recovery v3.7x [05/15/2014 V3.73 - TWRP 2.7.0.0]

Tip us?
 
Eiht
Old
#241  
Eiht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 551
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by budfarmer420 View Post
Yea I have everything booting perfectly fine but whenever I go to do a factory reset it says that it failed because it couldn't mount the /data and /system partitions.
Are you trying to do it in the os? Just do it in SafeStrap instead.

Sent from my Bionic
The Following User Says Thank You to Eiht For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
budfarmer420
Old
#242  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Eden
Default Factory reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eiht View Post
Are you trying to do it in the os? Just do it in SafeStrap instead.

Sent from my Bionic
I was trying to do it from safestrap but was unable to. I rebooted to safestrap and was completely able to mount both /data and /system in order to do the reset. No idea why I had to do it that way but I got it so no worries. lol. I definitely appreciate the help man will be hitting the thanks button.
The Following User Says Thank You to budfarmer420 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RandomPooka
Old
#243  
RandomPooka's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 633
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by budfarmer420 View Post
I was trying to do it from safestrap but was unable to. I rebooted to safestrap and was completely able to mount both /data and /system in order to do the reset. No idea why I had to do it that way but I got it so no worries. lol. I definitely appreciate the help man will be hitting the thanks button.
Just an added bit of info, a factory data reset would be wiping /data and /cache, but not /system

All user specific data is stored in /data. That's why it's there. Device manufacturers create their system partition and flash it to the device at manufacture (more or less), and we're not meant to be able to modify that unless it's via manufacturer OTA. If you wipe /system and try to boot, you're not going to have an OS to boot to.

Because Android functions in the same way whether it's the manufacturer's stock ROM or a custom ROM, you don't wipe /system for a data reset, unless you plan on reflashing a ROM immediately after.
 
jyazzie110
Old
#244  
jyazzie110's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 1,348
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

 
DONATE TO ME
Have been a Samsung guy but I just got a new bionic for free and its basically.....install app, install recovery and then install custom ROM for root?

Thanks in advance

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda app-developers app
 
Eiht
Old
(Last edited by Eiht; 24th December 2013 at 01:18 AM.)
#245  
Eiht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 551
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyazzie110 View Post
Have been a Samsung guy but I just got a new bionic for free and its basically.....install app, install recovery and then install custom ROM for root?

Thanks in advance

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda app-developers app
You have to be rooted first on stock to install safestrap then install roms which will include root. You have a variety of ways to root stock depending on whether you have ICS or JB.

Sent from my Bionic
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Eiht For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orpamoc
Old
#246  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Fix Permissions issues

I keep getting a Fix Permissions Failed error after updating to new SafeStrap. Error reads something like "Unable to CHMOD E:....."

im currently at work so i dont remember the exact error message. Just wondering if anyone else is having this issue..thanks in advance


Droid Bionic here BTW
 
NWKENT
Old
#247  
NWKENT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 448
Posts: 998
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by orpamoc View Post
I keep getting a Fix Permissions Failed error after updating to new SafeStrap. Error reads something like "Unable to CHMOD E:....."

im currently at work so i dont remember the exact error message. Just wondering if anyone else is having this issue..thanks in advance


Droid Bionic here BTW
Sir..I do believe you are installing the incorrect version..Please..someone correct me if I'm wrong..You need v3.11 for the Bionic, I have 2) RAZR Maxx's also..they are on v3.11 and during boot, in the device list is also your device..try v3.11

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
12.15.15.obake-maxx_verizon
Android > 4.2.2 Jelly Bean
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)
 
orpamoc
Old
#248  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWKENT View Post
Sir..I do believe you are installing the incorrect version..Please..someone correct me if I'm wrong..You need v3.11 for the Bionic, I have 2) RAZR Maxx's also..they are on v3.11 and during boot, in the device list is also your device..try v3.11

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
12.15.15.obake-maxx_verizon
Android > 4.2.2 Jelly Bean
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)


cool, thank you. will try that when I get home. Thought I had the correct version...but it was 4am So I prolly messed up. Thanks again.
 
NWKENT
Old
#249  
NWKENT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 448
Posts: 998
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by orpamoc View Post
cool, thank you. will try that when I get home. Thought I had the correct version...but it was 4am So I prolly messed up. Thanks again.
"prolly" lol..I understand.. v3.11 should do the trick..

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
12.15.15.obake-maxx_verizon
Android > 4.2.2 Jelly Bean
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)

---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:10 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by orpamoc View Post
cool, thank you. will try that when I get home. Thought I had the correct version...but it was 4am So I prolly messed up. Thanks again.
Sir..Friend..don't know if its true or not..but..seems as thow I have read where SS v3.11 download is hard to find..here's a link to my personal copy >> https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B67R...p=docslist_api

Hope this helps..

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)
The Following User Says Thank You to NWKENT For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orpamoc
Old
#250  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWKENT View Post
"prolly" lol..I understand.. v3.11 should do the trick..

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
12.15.15.obake-maxx_verizon
Android > 4.2.2 Jelly Bean
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)

---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:10 PM ----------



Sir..Friend..don't know if its true or not..but..seems as thow I have read where SS v3.11 download is hard to find..here's a link to my personal copy >> https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B67R...p=docslist_api

Hope this helps..

sent by my
RockMyMoto Root
SafeStrap ver. 3.65
XT1080M (aka) Droid Maxx
(device #1)


This helps a ton. I really appreciate your response. Will report back if the issues persist.

The Following User Says Thank You to orpamoc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes