Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,506 Members 40,207 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Update Unlocked HTC with RUU Package

Tip us?
 
abray1978
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2011
Talking Update Unlocked HTC with RUU Package

As a quick FYI, I spent a lot of time yesterday trying to get the stock RUU update to flash my HTC Raider. I played around with a custom ROM and wasn't too happy with it, but stupidly I didn't backup my stock rom with CWM... Lesson learned!

Anyways, if you are trying to go back to stock and are hitting Error 155 during the RUU Update, try re-locking the bootload with "fastboot eom lock". I tried this today and the stock firmware flashed on first try and I'm back to the good old Bell bloat!

Hope this helps anyone!
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to abray1978 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
HackitZ
Old
#2  
HackitZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 267
Posts: 856
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North of the Border

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi I was trying to make a rom and ended up in a bootloop, so i made a mistake and flashed the boot.img from the android sdk folder to my raider and now I can't get into hboot, but with adb can get into cwm. i did have a backup and can restore the backup.
now when the restore is complete i try to restart and the phone hangs at the htc logo, then the screen turns black. phone never boots.


any ideas on what might fix this?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by abray1978 View Post
As a quick FYI, I spent a lot of time yesterday trying to get the stock RUU update to flash my HTC Raider. I played around with a custom ROM and wasn't too happy with it, but stupidly I didn't backup my stock rom with CWM... Lesson learned!

Anyways, if you are trying to go back to stock and are hitting Error 155 during the RUU Update, try re-locking the bootload with "fastboot eom lock". I tried this today and the stock firmware flashed on first try and I'm back to the good old Bell bloat!

Hope this helps anyone!
 
abray1978
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 8
Join Date: Dec 2011
Can you get back into HBOOT now that you did the restore?

I'm by far no expert but I'm curious if you can get back to HBOOT if you can put it into fastboot, re-lock the bootloader (fastboot oem lock) and then use the RUU to restore back to stock. That should fix the boot image and I you then can start the process over again by unlocking and playing.

That's what I did and I'm back to a non-bricked phone. You can get the Holiday (aka Raider) RUUs by searching these forums. Just download the one for your carrier.

Good luck
 
gmarcoux
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 106
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Saskatoon,SK
Quote:
Originally Posted by abray1978 View Post
As a quick FYI, I spent a lot of time yesterday trying to get the stock RUU update to flash my HTC Raider. I played around with a custom ROM and wasn't too happy with it, but stupidly I didn't backup my stock rom with CWM... Lesson learned!

Anyways, if you are trying to go back to stock and are hitting Error 155 during the RUU Update, try re-locking the bootload with "fastboot eom lock". I tried this today and the stock firmware flashed on first try and I'm back to the good old Bell bloat!

Hope this helps anyone!
Where did you find an RUU for the HTC Raider?
Phone: Motorola Moto X
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Firmware: 4.2.2
Baseband: MSM8960PRO_BP_2323.011.75.00r
Kernel: 3.4.42
Build Number: 13.9.0Q2.X-116-LCX-26
" Grammar is my mistress and i'll use her how I want!" - Mark Little
 
ican123
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beppu
I need RUU. I am in japan,but there is some thing wrong with my vivid, factory reset did not work....I can just see htc logo and then att logo, and then...though there is a setup but when i click that it shut down directly.....can any one help me ?
 
zombie.raised
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 318
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1416836

2nd post has the links for stock ruu for all carriers

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using XDA App
HTC Raider (Bell)
Right now running Stock
The Following User Says Thank You to zombie.raised For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ican123
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beppu
thank you sooooo much.

Sent from my HTC PH39100 using XDA App
 
xavier_largeaux
Old
#8  
xavier_largeaux's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 120
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Poole

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by abray1978 View Post
As a quick FYI, I spent a lot of time yesterday trying to get the stock RUU update to flash my HTC Raider. I played around with a custom ROM and wasn't too happy with it, but stupidly I didn't backup my stock rom with CWM... Lesson learned!

Anyways, if you are trying to go back to stock and are hitting Error 155 during the RUU Update, try re-locking the bootload with "fastboot eom lock". I tried this today and the stock firmware flashed on first try and I'm back to the good old Bell bloat!

Hope this helps anyone!
Many thanks! I thought that mine Raider was completly dead. Didn't want get into CWM only 2 lines for less than 0.25sec with messsage that is unable to get acces to cache then reboot and stuck with htc logo forever. Then i read this post and my Raider is get back to live.
Many thanks once again.
 
thanhkho
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thank you so much!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes