Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Hp Touchpad running Windows 8?

OP miqueas6

16th December 2011, 08:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I recently got my hands on Hp Touchpad 32gb. And I have been running windows 8 preview on another pc. I know that the windows 8 Market will be here in a couple months. And since I would love to use my touchpad at work to edit my office files kind of like what im able to do on my Windows Phone. I guess my question is am I alone in wanting to port Windows 8 to the Touchpad? Im not sold on the adroid port.
Last edited by miqueas6; 16th December 2011 at 08:31 PM. Reason: gramar
16th December 2011, 11:28 PM   |  #2  
reverendkjr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati, OH
Thanks Meter: 849
 
891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...29&postcount=2
31st March 2012, 02:05 AM   |  #3  
ShoNuff2025's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Windows 8 for HP Touchpad
No you are not alone. I would love to have Windows 8 on my HP Touch pad.
31st March 2012, 06:44 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Watertown, NY
Thanks Meter: 334
 
1,316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
I would love to see it, but it may be very hard to port with it only being sold on shipped devices. Realize that what desktops run and what is sold on discs is either a 32 bit or 64 bit Intel x86/64 based version. What the Touchpad needs is the ARM version.
31st March 2012, 03:33 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by spunker88

I would love to see it, but it may be very hard to port with it only being sold on shipped devices. Realize that what desktops run and what is sold on discs is either a 32 bit or 64 bit Intel x86/64 based version. What the Touchpad needs is the ARM version.

Why anyone would want a resource hog like Windows on a tablet of any kind is beyond me. But it isn't going to happen anyway. MS has made it quite clear that the ARM version of Win8 will be strictly limited to devices that are manufactured to run ONLY Win8. Any port to devices like the Touchpad would be illegal and wouldn't pass activation.

BTW, this has been dicussed and debunked time and time again. If you had done a simple search of "Windows 8", you would know this.
31st March 2012, 07:20 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewmur

Why anyone would want a resource hog like Windows on a tablet of any kind is beyond me. But it isn't going to happen anyway. MS has made it quite clear that the ARM version of Win8 will be strictly limited to devices that are manufactured to run ONLY Win8. Any port to devices like the Touchpad would be illegal and wouldn't pass activation.

BTW, this has been dicussed and debunked time and time again. If you had done a simple search of "Windows 8", you would know this.

legal... lol. hackers unite!
The Following User Says Thank You to Tilde88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2012, 04:06 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Windows 8 will not hog resources like android does
1st April 2012, 02:42 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Carson,CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
285 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
This would be great. After using Win8 preview I thought it would be great on a touch screen. I liked it so much I ordered a WP7.5. BTW just but any software can be cracked.
1st April 2012, 02:49 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Saint-Petersburg
Thanks Meter: 13
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperfire21

Windows 8 will not hog resources like android does

Oh, really? Why do you think that?
1st April 2012, 04:58 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tilde88

legal... lol. hackers unite!

This is a "developer's" forum, not a "blackhat" one. Read the forum rules.

---------- Post added at 09:58 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:56 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperfire21

Windows 8 will not hog resources like android does

Windows not a resource hog? Get real!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes