Google Play Music Customizations – XDA Xposed Tuesday

If Cyanogen Inc. has its way, you won’t be forced into the Google … more

Sony Xperia Z3 Lollipop Framework Ported to CM12

Android 5.0 for Xperia has a unique look and feel. You don’t have to get a Sony … more

Do You Use Recents as a Task Switcher?

Google introduced a revamped Recents interface with Lollipop in the hopes of making it easier for … more

YU Yureka All-in-One ToolBox (CM12S Only)

This packed toolbox by XDA Senior Member gohel.vishal makes many useful tweaks … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Guide] How to restore to pure stock (no root, FFF, etc.) with TWRP

18th December 2011, 07:47 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
just thought I'd post as a quick note;

if you wish to restore to stock from CM7 or just go back to stock with no root or FireFireFire at all, TWRP works for it. quick tutorial:

1. download amazon's stock software: http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custom...deId=200790620

2. rename it to update.zip and place on root of sdcard

3. boot into TWRP and wipe cache, dalvik cache and factory reset

4. flash update.zip, however it will stop the install mid-way and say it can not find the misc volume or something, but fear not

5. boot up and you'll be restored to stock! note FireFireFire and TWRP will have to be re-installed as well as re-root

I had issues at first boot like WiFi not working, but a factory reset changed that. now I'm gonna reinstall FFF and TWRP for some kernel action
The Following 51 Users Say Thank You to iDylan1357 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th December 2011, 07:56 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
This worked for my Kindle Fire. But it did give me a scare though, since after I flashed it the Kindle Fire seemed to be on a boot loop as it kept blinking the "Kindle Fire" boot screen over and over, but then it suddenly started up.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gqkevyn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st December 2011, 03:16 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
When I try to do this, I get an error from TWRP saying that it could not mount /sdcard/udpate.zip, any ideas?
21st December 2011, 07:20 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Muscat
Thanks Meter: 6
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Make sure your file isnt update.zip.zip
Check your windows settings for hidden file extensions.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
21st December 2011, 07:44 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Yeah, I double checked that. Been bit by that before. I am using ubuntu also.
21st December 2011, 11:52 PM |#6  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 558
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonelliott

When I try to do this, I get an error from TWRP saying that it could not mount /sdcard/udpate.zip, any ideas?

Make sure you checked the MD5sum of the file against what it is supposed to be. this would ensure that the file didn't get corrupted in the transfer(s)
22nd December 2011, 03:03 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I will check it again to be safe. Also, I tried to do a restore with a system.img and it said the file was to large, using fastboot and quit the flash.
23rd December 2011, 09:42 PM |#8  
tkalli's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego, CA/Melaka, Malaysia
Thanks Meter: 246
 
2,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Restore to stock from CM7 worked fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to tkalli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 05:07 AM |#9  
jmbneaf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mtgy-AL, USA
Thanks Meter: 6
 
160 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2003
More
Quick question, does the restore/factory reset wipe the SD Card?

Thanks,
~J
26th December 2011, 05:39 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbneaf

Quick question, does the restore/factory reset wipe the SD Card?

Thanks,
~J

nope, just system.
The Following User Says Thank You to iDylan1357 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes