Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,599 Members 38,590 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kindle Fire Update

Tip us?
 
PurpleSh4rk
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Kindle Fire Update

Amazon just pushed 6.2.1 to devices. It breaks any rooted devices and superoneclick no longer works it gets stuck on step #7 with this error:

export TEMPRANDOM=11153;export PS1=END:$TEMPRANDOM;mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/platform/mmci-omap-hs.1/by-name/system /system

mount: Operation not permitted

END:11153export PS1=""

Hopefully an updated root solution will be created soon.
 
BigFuzzyArchon
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2011
I really hope so too.
 
arh2o
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2011
Ugh, is there any way to block this update? I hate how Amazon auto-pushes and installs the updates.
 
PurpleSh4rk
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
No practical ways. CM7 might be worth looking into. I believe it breaks auto updates.
 
prjkthack
Old
#5  
prjkthack's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 125
Posts: 889
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kansas City
Yep, just got an update pushed to my device, and oneclick no longer works. Great.

Seriously, I think I'm gonna return this thing. Get a Transformer, or even just get a BlackBerry PlayBook instead until something better comes out (that I feel is worth dropping a lot of money on).
prjkthack
Nokia Lumia 1520, Nokia Lumia 1020, Nokia Lumia 928, iPhone 5s
Microsoft Surface Pro 128GB
Retired: Helio Ocean, HTC Touch Pro, HTC HD2, HTC EVO 4G, HTC HD7, HTC Touch Pro2, HTC HD7S, HTC One X, HP Veer 4G, HTC TITAN, HTC Thunderbolt, HTC One, Nokia Lumia 800, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia Lumia 920, HTC Droid DNA

Windows Phone Expert / Development
 
himu007
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 74
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London
I've got one for my girlfriend. Same thing happened here too. Update 6.2.1 breaks root

Sent from my GT-I9100
Google Nexus 5 (Current)
PiPO M9 3G Tablet (Current)
Galaxy Nexus
Samsung Galaxy SII
T-Mobile G1 White
T-Mobile G1 Black
 
PurpleSh4rk
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 70
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by prjkthack View Post
Yep, just got an update pushed to my device, and oneclick no longer works. Great.

Seriously, I think I'm gonna return this thing. Get a Transformer, or even just get a BlackBerry PlayBook instead until something better comes out (that I feel is worth dropping a lot of money on).
Do not get a playbook! That is the worst device out there! I used it for a day and its just a huge dissapointment. Its depressing to use. I immediately returned it and I never want one even if it is free.

The transformer prime on the other hand is pretty awesome. Ive preordered mine and I'm really excited about it.

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk
 
CrackMonkey91
Old
#8  
CrackMonkey91's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 175
Join Date: Apr 2010
The moment I found out this I went back too cm7

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk
Follow on twitter (please follow me i need followers )
 
BriDroid-74
Old
#9  
BriDroid-74's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 75
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Does the update at least FIX anything (i.e. light sensor, touch screen)?

I'm afraid to turn mine on when I get home from work!
HTC One VX
Rooted, JmzTotemC2 ICS
AT&T 4G LTE

Motorola Xoom
Rooted, Team EOS 3.0 JB
Verizon 4G LTE

Wife's: Samsung Vibrant
Rooted, Bionix-v 1.3.1 Froyo
T-Mobile
 
sl0ttedpig
Old
#10  
sl0ttedpig's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 154
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackMonkey91 View Post
The moment I found out this I went back too cm7

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk
Yeah, I'm on CM7 too, so quite glad at the moment (even if I don't like it that much)! I'm sure some bright spark will fix zergrush, or come up with another exploit to use. Has anyone tried gingerbreak, or the other option instead of running it as auto?

I will look at the wife's one who is stock, and see if she got the update...and may try this out.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes