Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[We Need] Working Nvflash.... :(

OP shep211

20th December 2011, 03:45 PM   |  #1  
shep211's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Layton, Ut
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
I rooted the galaxy tab using nvflash when it first came out in the US. With nvflash we can flash rooted roms and do full backups. I am trying the same process with the TP but I have ran into some issues. First issue was the drivers would not install. I added the TP device id then I installed the drivers. I tried nvflash --sync command but get a unkown device message. We need a updated nvflash that supports tegra 3. If anyone has an updated version of nvflash please pm me.
Thanks

Shep

Edit: I checked online and dev package for tegra platform from nvidia but could not find a updated version of nvflash that supports TP. Are device does have APX & nflash support(Vol+ then power button then hold both 15 secs then release).
Last edited by shep211; 21st December 2011 at 01:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to shep211 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st December 2011, 06:29 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
might be interesting to try the sbkcheck from rayman
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1290503

(note: IIRC there was a modified version at androidroot.mobi that could check for a "v3" SBK as well).
The Following User Says Thank You to curreyr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2011, 10:09 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah
25th December 2011, 05:01 PM   |  #4  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
25th December 2011, 06:04 PM   |  #5  
shep211's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Layton, Ut
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggem001

its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah

I already got the drivers working. Nvflash says unknown device whe you try to use the sync command. We need new version of nvflash.
25th December 2011, 06:07 PM   |  #6  
shep211's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Layton, Ut
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wordlywisewiz

This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk

Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.
25th December 2011, 06:15 PM   |  #7  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
1,123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shep211

Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.

Yes! Can't wait to root! I had root then it forced the update on me!

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
26th December 2011, 03:29 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 77
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
26th December 2011, 04:01 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 192
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superguy

So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App

yep, it wipes the /system/ directory
30th December 2011, 04:15 PM   |  #10  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,112
 
454 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
I have same issue it says unknown device, we need a new EXE. Hope to get one soon.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes