5,596,568 Members 41,066 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[We Need] Working Nvflash.... :(

Tip us?
 
shep211
Old
(Last edited by shep211; 21st December 2011 at 12:05 AM.)
#1  
shep211's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,966
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Layton, Ut

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [We Need] Working Nvflash.... :(

I rooted the galaxy tab using nvflash when it first came out in the US. With nvflash we can flash rooted roms and do full backups. I am trying the same process with the TP but I have ran into some issues. First issue was the drivers would not install. I added the TP device id then I installed the drivers. I tried nvflash --sync command but get a unkown device message. We need a updated nvflash that supports tegra 3. If anyone has an updated version of nvflash please pm me.
Thanks

Shep

Edit: I checked online and dev package for tegra platform from nvidia but could not find a updated version of nvflash that supports TP. Are device does have APX & nflash support(Vol+ then power button then hold both 15 secs then release).
The Following User Says Thank You to shep211 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
curreyr
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 152
Join Date: Dec 2011
might be interesting to try the sbkcheck from rayman
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1290503

(note: IIRC there was a modified version at androidroot.mobi that could check for a "v3" SBK as well).
Use the thanks button if you find someones posts helpful!

Read the RULES please.

"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and it looks like work." Thomas Edison
The Following User Says Thank You to curreyr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
biggem001
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 493
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah
 
Wordlywisewiz
Old
#4  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,123
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brattleboro

 
DONATE TO ME
This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
 
shep211
Old
#5  
shep211's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,966
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Layton, Ut

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggem001 View Post
its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah
I already got the drivers working. Nvflash says unknown device whe you try to use the sync command. We need new version of nvflash.
 
shep211
Old
#6  
shep211's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,966
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Layton, Ut

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wordlywisewiz View Post
This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.
 
Wordlywisewiz
Old
#7  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 1,123
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brattleboro

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by shep211 View Post
Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.
Yes! Can't wait to root! I had root then it forced the update on me!

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
 
Superguy
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 441
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Baltimore
So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
 
biggem001
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 186
Posts: 493
Join Date: Sep 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superguy View Post
So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
yep, it wipes the /system/ directory
 
1wayjonny
Old
#10  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 454
Join Date: Jan 2007
I have same issue it says unknown device, we need a new EXE. Hope to get one soon.
.: HTC One Google Play Edition
.: Nvidia Shield
.: Nexus 10
.: Download Android Universal Naked Driver for your ADB,Fastboot & APX needs
_________________________________


1) Test Subject

2) Results

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes