FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[We Need] Working Nvflash.... :(

1,966 posts
Thanks Meter: 294
 
By shep211, Retired Forum Moderator on 20th December 2011, 02:45 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I rooted the galaxy tab using nvflash when it first came out in the US. With nvflash we can flash rooted roms and do full backups. I am trying the same process with the TP but I have ran into some issues. First issue was the drivers would not install. I added the TP device id then I installed the drivers. I tried nvflash --sync command but get a unkown device message. We need a updated nvflash that supports tegra 3. If anyone has an updated version of nvflash please pm me.
Thanks

Shep

Edit: I checked online and dev package for tegra platform from nvidia but could not find a updated version of nvflash that supports TP. Are device does have APX & nflash support(Vol+ then power button then hold both 15 secs then release).
Last edited by shep211; 21st December 2011 at 12:05 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to shep211 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
21st December 2011, 05:29 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
might be interesting to try the sbkcheck from rayman
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1290503

(note: IIRC there was a modified version at androidroot.mobi that could check for a "v3" SBK as well).
The Following User Says Thank You to curreyr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2011, 09:09 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
Donate to Me
More
its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah
25th December 2011, 04:01 PM |#4  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
Donate to Me
More
This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
25th December 2011, 05:04 PM |#5  
shep211's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Layton, Ut
Thanks Meter: 294
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggem001

its not a driver issue. the drivers that come with the latest version of NVflash are the drivers supplied by ASUS, BUT the PID/VID

try adding these lines to the NvidiaUSB.inf under the x86 and amd64 lines

%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D01&MI_01
%USB\NvidiaUsb.DeviceDesc% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0B05&PID_4D03&MI_02


then force uninstall any drivers (you may even go as far as installing old google ADB drivers) and then try installing the nvflash drivers (with the new lines added)

i was trying to do this, but i cant find my device in hardware list. like literally its not that hahah

I already got the drivers working. Nvflash says unknown device whe you try to use the sync command. We need new version of nvflash.
25th December 2011, 05:07 PM |#6  
shep211's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Layton, Ut
Thanks Meter: 294
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wordlywisewiz

This will give us the ability to flash roms right?



Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk

Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.
25th December 2011, 05:15 PM |#7  
Wordlywisewiz's Avatar
Senior Member
Brattleboro
Thanks Meter: 226
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shep211

Yes you can edit system partition and flash with root or custom rom but flashing recovery & boot loader is the main goal.

Yes! Can't wait to root! I had root then it forced the update on me!

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
26th December 2011, 02:29 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
26th December 2011, 03:01 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superguy

So if you have root then apply the OTA, it hoses root?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App

yep, it wipes the /system/ directory
30th December 2011, 03:15 PM |#10  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,150
 
More
I have same issue it says unknown device, we need a new EXE. Hope to get one soon.
30th December 2011, 11:03 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
Donate to Me
More
I went into NVFLASH and saw that it takes the USB PID of the device, and that tells how the device is what it is. so the TP needs to be added to NVFLASH.. im seeing if i can do it be playing with the exe
The Following User Says Thank You to biggem001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes