Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,995 Members 49,358 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile(SMS/MMS/VOICE/3G)*WORKING!* UPDATED:2-19-2013

Tip us?
 
brooksyx
Old
#331  
brooksyx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,877
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by peryp9 View Post
I got my Epic 4G Touch on Craigslist from some guy in Bronx for $200 (probably stolen)... and since I got it, I've been trying to fix this MMS issue. I just don't have the time to learn Java (although I would love to).

If I could dedicate a weekend, I'm sure I can fix it for this Epic 4G Touch running a stock and rooted ROM. I will post my results when they become available ...
Got an epic touch on the way! Got lucky and snagged a mint one off eBay for 240. I'll probably end up switching to that and keeping the epic as a backup or sell it. I would consider selling it to one of you guys as well with most of the virgin settings already configured.

Anyways my mms flashable zip should work on all future builds of the epic cm9 once the next beta comes out. Once it comes out I'll release it.

As for the epic touch if I end up keeping it I plan on maintaining a cm9 and/or AOKP ics patches for virgin mms. I'm pretty excited for the epic touch. Gonna miss the keyboard but I find myself using the touch screen mostly anyways and the epic touch has such sweet specs. The phone was kind of expensive but at 25 bucks a month for service I can splurge a little on the phone right?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
Boost & Virgin Mobile Epic 4g Touch CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6#post28439426
Virgin Mobile Epic 4g CM7 & CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post22403917
Coug Companion App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...aC55a3lhY3ciXQ..
The Following User Says Thank You to brooksyx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mucus_android
Old
#332  
mucus_android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
does anyone know what phones can be ported over?
would ALL (most) samsung phones be able?
would htc/other phones be able?
<---Yeah stuff--->
 
brooksyx
Old
#333  
brooksyx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,877
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucus_android View Post
does anyone know what phones can be ported over?
would ALL (most) samsung phones be able?
would htc/other phones be able?
Pretty much any CDMA phone that can be put into diagnostic mode and have the settings edited with qpst or a similar program can be ported over. So pretty much all the galaxy s cdma phones can be. I don't see why HTC and Motorola phones wouldn't work. Maybe even a jail broken iPhone 4. GSM phones (sim card phones) cannot be.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
Boost & Virgin Mobile Epic 4g Touch CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6#post28439426
Virgin Mobile Epic 4g CM7 & CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post22403917
Coug Companion App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...aC55a3lhY3ciXQ..
 
mucus_android
Old
#334  
mucus_android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
i'm having difficulty getting data to work . . .
calls and sms work.
i don't get any notification of 3g, so i assume i am not getting it. (also simple tests like opening a web browser won't connect)
<---Yeah stuff--->
 
brooksyx
Old
#335  
brooksyx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 470
Posts: 1,877
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucus_android View Post
i'm having difficulty getting data to work . . .
calls and sms work.
i don't get any notification of 3g, so i assume i am not getting it. (also simple tests like opening a web browser won't connect)
Only thing I can say is check your settings and look for typos. I followed the tutorial exact and my data started right up. Also maybe trial a different prl.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA
Boost & Virgin Mobile Epic 4g Touch CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6#post28439426
Virgin Mobile Epic 4g CM7 & CM9 MMS Fix: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7#post22403917
Coug Companion App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...aC55a3lhY3ciXQ..
 
mucus_android
Old
#336  
mucus_android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
yeah i'm certain i did something wrong. . .
i just can't tell where :x
<---Yeah stuff--->
 
mucus_android
Old
#337  
mucus_android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
I tried for several hours.
I refollowed all the steps from the guide.
i rechecked and doublechecked all the information i've entered.
i still am not getting data!
i only get calls and sms.
is there something that i am possibly overlooking?
<---Yeah stuff--->
 
rkmj
Old
#338  
rkmj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 158
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Which program are you using, QPST or DFS? Sometimes, if you're using QPST, you have to go in through DFS in order to get some settings to save correctly. It might also help if you could list what fields you have changed. Don't give us any of your personal info, but telling us what you have changed might give us a bit more insight.

If I have helped you, don't hesitate to hit the THANKS button
 
mucus_android
Old
#339  
mucus_android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 83
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkmj View Post
Which program are you using, QPST or DFS? Sometimes, if you're using QPST, you have to go in through DFS in order to get some settings to save correctly. It might also help if you could list what fields you have changed. Don't give us any of your personal info, but telling us what you have changed might give us a bit more insight.
okay when i get home tonight i will take screenshots of everything i am doing.
and yes i have used both qpst and dfs.
<---Yeah stuff--->
 
UncivilSavage
Old
#340  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 239
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Whittier

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucus_android View Post
okay when i get home tonight i will take screenshots of everything i am doing.
and yes i have used both qpst and dfs.
Best advice I could give you is to connect the donor phone and new phone to DFS tools at the same time, select read with the donor, switch to new phone and hit write. Repeat for MIP and PPP.

Sent from a dark hole in my backyard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes