FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Install Swype Beta on your RAZR!

OP runner1717

23rd December 2011, 01:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I love having Swype installed on my RAZR but I like the BETA version because they keep adding more and more cool features. The newest includes Dragon Dictate which really works great! It also now learns your writing style and improves it's predictions.

Problem is if you have Swype pre-installed on your phone you can't install the new BETA, until now.......

Here are the directions to remove your stock Swype and install the BETA:

** warning - changing the wrong files can brick your phone so be careful! **

First, your RAZR must be rooted.

Using Root Explorer:

1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
2. Mount file system as R/W
3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
6. Reboot
7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer

If you get FC's after installing Swype BETA then remove Swype and the Swype Installer under Manage Apps, re-boot and install the BETA again. Seems to be some stuff left over from the old version that can cause this problem.

Enjoy!

-runner1717
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to runner1717 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd December 2011, 04:52 AM   |  #2  
Caseyk621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 185
 
543 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Thanks I've been waiting for these instructions. Worked perfectly!

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA App
23rd December 2011, 11:09 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Awesome
Also works on Bionic rooted
31st December 2011, 12:01 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Thank you so much for this.
1st January 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by runner1717

I love having Swype installed on my RAZR but I like the BETA version because they keep adding more and more cool features. The newest includes Dragon Dictate which really works great! It also now learns your writing style and improves it's predictions.

Problem is if you have Swype pre-installed on your phone you can't install the new BETA, until now.......

Here are the directions to remove your stock Swype and install the BETA:

** warning - changing the wrong files can brick your phone so be careful! **

First, your RAZR must be rooted.

Using Root Explorer:

1. Change your default input method to anything other than Swype.
2. Mount file system as R/W
3. Delete (or move/rename) \system\app\swype.apk
4. Delete (or move/rename) \data\dalvik-cache\system@app@Swype.apk@classes.dex
5. Delete (or move/rename) \system\lib\libSwypeCore.so
6. Reboot
7. Download and Run the latest Swype Beta installer

If you get FC's after installing Swype BETA then remove Swype and the Swype Installer under Manage Apps, re-boot and install the BETA again. Seems to be some stuff left over from the old version that can cause this problem.

Enjoy!

-runner1717

I am getting the force closes, but under manage apps, I only see uninstall the Swype Installer. Where do I uninstall the actual Swype app from?

---------- Post added at 03:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 AM ----------

I guess another question I have is what's the difference between this and the FlexT9 keyboard. It has Swype and Dragon Diction by Nuance built in, correct?
24th January 2012, 04:30 AM   |  #6  
Godswrath's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icyhot1966

I am getting the force closes, but under manage apps, I only see uninstall the Swype Installer. Where do I uninstall the actual Swype app from?

---------- Post added at 03:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:08 AM ----------

I guess another question I have is what's the difference between this and the FlexT9 keyboard. It has Swype and Dragon Diction by Nuance built in, correct?

Did you ever figure out how to uninstall it? I'm stuck at the same place,ie FC's after following the installation steps

EDIT: Do anyone having the same issue...

FIX: Move or Delete the 3 files (Renaming did NOT work for me- caused FCs)
Last edited by Godswrath; 24th January 2012 at 07:00 AM.
24th January 2012, 12:56 PM   |  #7  
drolgnir's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kingston
Thanks Meter: 47
 
309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I did this previous to this post and I just removed the swype apk in system\app and com.swype??.inputmethod stuff in data, didnt touch dalvik cache or the lib.so stuff. I think if you change you keyboard method away from swype and delete the apk(in system\app and if its in data\app too", clear the swype data and even dalvik perhaps, then install the new swype.

All manually of course with es explorer or capable root file explorer.
Last edited by drolgnir; 24th January 2012 at 12:57 PM. Reason: blah

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes