Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,560 Members 53,277 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Guide - Unlock XT862 for T-mobile/ATT

Tip us?
 
RWALEY
Old
#291  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 111
Join Date: Sep 2008
Have you used an updated build.prop? The end results from the first post are a bit out of date now.

I have uploaded some newer build.prop files in this thread that adjust the signal reading among other things. Verizon intentionally made the signal bars report a lower reading.

There are also some newer radio basebands that are also available in this thread. Not sure how much of a help they are compared to the original.



Quote:
Originally Posted by KayxGee1 View Post
Thanks! I am now using my Droid 3 with AT&T with 3G.


I don't get great service, however. In my house I usually get full bars. Now I get 1 bar.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
 
leerpsp
Old
#292  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 360
Join Date: May 2011
Location: not saying

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northernrock View Post
I use my droid 3 without unlock code outside the US and can't use GSM network in my country ( VietNam , 3G WCDMA 2100Hz band ) . Can I try this GUIDE on my droid 3 to use my country network ????

Many thankxxx for any reply my question . Thankxxx for read :X
It will work but you still need to buy the unlock code after you do that use the guide then it will work

Sent from my XT862 using XDA
 
KayxGee1
Old
#293  
KayxGee1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 627
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Totowa
I can no longer us HDMI when doing this hack.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
 
koukobin
Old
#294  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 59
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by KayxGee1 View Post
I can no longer us HDMI when doing this hack.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
I was using my Droid 3 XT862 with AT&T (after using radio from XT883) and never had a problem with HDMI. Maybe you used the bloat remover script and you removed the DLNA apk or your HDMI cable is bad.
 
KayxGee1
Old
#295  
KayxGee1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 627
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Totowa
I kept DLNA. I guess no HDMI for me.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
 
koukobin
Old
#296  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 59
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by KayxGee1 View Post
I kept DLNA. I guess no HDMI for me.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Use the restoration script and try again. I am 99% sure your problem is related with the bloatware removal script.
 
kaiya215
Old
#297  
kaiya215's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 106
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legacystar View Post
could you explain how to get it to connect to verizon with the xt833 radio?
yes thats my question as well is there anyway to get it to switch it back to work on verizon after being unlocked
 
nemiroG1
Old
#298  
nemiroG1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 291
Join Date: Jun 2010
Just flash back the SBF (.890 or .906, as required), and the Verizon radio will be flashed back at the same time.
_________________________
Phone #1: Samsung Galaxy S5 Active
ROM: KoolKit
Recovery: Safestrap/TWRP
Baseband: NE4

Phone #2: Samsung Galaxy SIII
ROM: Task650 AOKP
Recovery: CWM Touch
Radio: UCUEMJB

Retired: Samsung Galaxy S4, Motorola Droid 3, HTC Vision G2, OG HTC G1
 
MrObvious
Old
#299  
MrObvious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 262
Posts: 1,904
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Or take the 890 SBF, switch the radio out of it into the 883 flash stuff, and flash the Verizon radio on here. Problem solved.

Sent from my XT862 using XDA
 
5318008
Old
#300  
5318008's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 409
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWALEY View Post
I use Eclipse, that ROM only shows 3G. Not to worry about the icon, it is just cosmetic. The phone has the capability to get up to 14.4 HSDPA.

At the bottom of my build.prop, the area marked GSM SIGNAL IMPROVEMENTS, that would be the place to experiment with. I believe those settings are tweaked for 1900MHz. You may want to try some different hsdpa/hsupa categories. I do not know what it would be for 2100. I would probably wait for some other non-US users to chime in and see if they are also experiencing your reception issues.

Also, I am fairly certain flashing the XT860 radio will not work due to a signature mismatch. The XT862/XT883 are the exact same hardware, same signatures and everything. I believe the XT860 does have some differences.

There is a collection of XT860 fastboot SBF files here:
http://sbf.droid-developers.org/umts_solana/list.php

I have contemplated flashing one but I do not want to permanently brick the phone. Perhaps someone else knows if they will work?
Not to sidetrack the current conversation to an older one, but anybody try this yet? If so, I'm curious to hear how it went.

Found another thread on the same topic.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1443359
Droid 3 with XT883 radio.img
I occasionally draw comics

The Following User Says Thank You to 5318008 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes