FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

6.2.1 User Unrooted Needed (Finished Root Done!)

411 posts
Thanks Meter: 601
 
By Vashypooh, Senior Member on 23rd December 2011, 08:29 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Thanks all, got all the help we needed.

With the help of Jcase of TeamAndIRC, I spent a good bit of the night bothering / learning from him and he was able to beat 6.2.1. He will be releasing it tomorrow morning over at Rootzwiki.

Once posted, I will have a new KFU ready to flash TWRP, and allow users to flash the rooted here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1402440

Please take the time to thank him when it is posted, and make a few donations after you check it out and get your fire back to root Let's get him his own fire to break haha.

Code:
tools\adb install kindleroot.apk
3676 KB/s (15060 bytes in 0.004s)
        pkg: /data/local/tmp/kindleroot.apk
Success
tools\adb shell
$
tools\adb kill-server
tools\adb root
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
restarting adbd as root
tools\adb shell
error: device not found
tools\adb shell
error: device not found
tools\adb shell
error: device not found
tools\adb shell
error: device not found
tools\adb shell
#
Link will be posted tomorrow.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Vashypooh For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Vashypooh Ad-Free
 
 
23rd December 2011, 09:31 AM |#2  
Droidanian's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
So those with 6.2.1 will be able to root their devices?
The Following User Says Thank You to Droidanian For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Droidanian Ad-Free
23rd December 2011, 09:32 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids, MI
Thanks Meter: 601
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droidanian

So those with 6.2.1 will be able to root their devices?



Yep.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Vashypooh For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Vashypooh Ad-Free
23rd December 2011, 09:37 AM |#4  
Droidanian's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Awesome. I was going to install CM7 but fell asleep and when I had turned on my KF the following morning I had received the update.

Much thanks for this.
23rd December 2011, 09:39 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Talking
Whew was beginning to sweat it, actually was about to order a factory cable.
Guess I will need to be a lot more careful after I get root back
23rd December 2011, 09:41 AM |#6  
juaduve's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks for your job, i will be pleased to donate.

BB
23rd December 2011, 10:00 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Talking
Great news given that even pre-rooted 6.2.1 are being updated to stock 6.2.1
23rd December 2011, 10:20 AM |#8  
tannerzion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Nice! Will be waiting for this!
23rd December 2011, 10:25 AM |#9  
movieaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 362
 
Donate to Me
More
Is it very complicated to do? The new root?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using xda premium
23rd December 2011, 10:43 AM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Grand Rapids, MI
Thanks Meter: 601
 
Donate to Me
More
No, it is not. You launch an app on the kindle fire, and you can launch this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1407249

Jcase's root you will need to setup root yourself. I will add that tomorrow morning to my TWRP installer, but at the moment I am exhausted and need sleep.

So it may be a bit harder, only in that it doesn't install permanent root, just temporary to get ADB into root to flash TWRP.
The Following User Says Thank You to Vashypooh For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Vashypooh Ad-Free
23rd December 2011, 11:13 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vashypooh

No, it is not. You launch an app on the kindle fire, and you can launch this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1407249

Jcase's root you will need to setup root yourself. I will add that tomorrow morning to my TWRP installer, but at the moment I am exhausted and need sleep.

So it may be a bit harder, only in that it doesn't install permanent root, just temporary to get ADB into root to flash TWRP.

I'll answer here because I can't reply in development forum:

The link in the TWRP Installer post downloads a file without extension ("TWRP_Installer_v1"), it has to be renamed to .zip ("TWRP_Installer_v1.zip")

Great job anyway
The Following User Says Thank You to jovi_juan For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jovi_juan Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes