5,594,282 Members 43,052 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

Tip us?
 
geetarplayer
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE, PA
Default [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

I noticed that in the Shostock3 ROM - in the change history, it lists apps being updated. Like gmail, youtube, etc. And I also see that there is no separate "gapps" zip file to flash. I suppose that means the ROM itself has the apps embedded in it. Does that mean you have to wait for a ROM update to gave the apps updated? Or do the OTA updates to these apps such as gmail still happen for you?
 
Pirateghost
Old
#2  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4607
Posts: 9,064
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

It means its just like stock. The Google apps are in the zip and get updated from the play store.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Nick281051
Old
#3  
Nick281051's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1327
Posts: 4,619
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northport, NY
Default Re: [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

Only aosp roms need a gapps file to be flashed, I forget exactly why, I think pirate knows more than I do.

Sent from my Zanpakuto using Getsuga Tensho!
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-I777

HTC Inspire 4g collecting dust

Old Phone: Samsung Captivate (At&t)- Returned
HTC Tilt 2 (AT&T)- Sold

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621 View Post
Nice job bro! Not only have you insulted the dev of the rom thread you're posting in , but you also took offense to an internet forum post which has no bearing on your life! This is the internet bro. You've got to have a thick skin.
 
Pirateghost
Old
#4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4607
Posts: 9,064
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick281051 View Post
Only aosp roms need a gapps file to be flashed, I forget exactly why, I think pirate knows more than I do.

Sent from my Zanpakuto using Getsuga Tensho!
It goes back to Google telling CyanogenMod that they can't bundle gapps with the ROM. Aosp actually doesn't contain any Google apps as Google apps are closed source.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
The Following User Says Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dsmboost
Old
#5  
dsmboost's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 421
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost View Post
It goes back to Google telling CyanogenMod that they can't bundle gapps with the ROM. Aosp actually doesn't contain any Google apps as Google apps are closed source.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
What's to stop them from just putting the gapps into the flashable package? Is it just the principle or something?
Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 i777
Rom: SHOstock3 v4.0
Kernel: AJK 4.3
 
Nick281051
Old
#6  
Nick281051's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1327
Posts: 4,619
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northport, NY
Default Re: [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmboost View Post
What's to stop them from just putting the gapps into the flashable package? Is it just the principle or something?
Because that's what Google told them, as pirate just said.

Sent from my Zanpakuto using Getsuga Tensho!
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-I777

HTC Inspire 4g collecting dust

Old Phone: Samsung Captivate (At&t)- Returned
HTC Tilt 2 (AT&T)- Sold

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621 View Post
Nice job bro! Not only have you insulted the dev of the rom thread you're posting in , but you also took offense to an internet forum post which has no bearing on your life! This is the internet bro. You've got to have a thick skin.
 
dsmboost
Old
#7  
dsmboost's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 421
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick281051 View Post
Because that's what Google told them, as pirate just said.

Sent from my Zanpakuto using Getsuga Tensho!
I'm talking about other AOSP roms.
Device: Samsung Galaxy S2 i777
Rom: SHOstock3 v4.0
Kernel: AJK 4.3
 
Nick281051
Old
#8  
Nick281051's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1327
Posts: 4,619
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northport, NY
Default Re: [Q] Shostock3 Rom - Apps are embedded?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmboost View Post
I'm talking about other AOSP roms.
Same reason I would assume.

Sent from my Zanpakuto using Getsuga Tensho!
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-I777

HTC Inspire 4g collecting dust

Old Phone: Samsung Captivate (At&t)- Returned
HTC Tilt 2 (AT&T)- Sold

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx7621 View Post
Nice job bro! Not only have you insulted the dev of the rom thread you're posting in , but you also took offense to an internet forum post which has no bearing on your life! This is the internet bro. You've got to have a thick skin.
 
geetarplayer
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SE, PA
Thanks for the info. That explains it.
 
CyanJustice
Old
#10  
CyanJustice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 235
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Round Rock
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsmboost View Post
What's to stop them from just putting the gapps into the flashable package? Is it just the principle or something?
Something called lawyers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...