Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[D2G][CM9] N.HA ICS 4.0.3 Alpha 1

OP ngocha2006

25th December 2011, 10:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
[D2G][CM9] N.HA ICS 4.0.3 Alpha 1

What works:
Phone GSM\CDMA
Wi-Fi
SMS
Audio
Sensors
SDCard
EGL
GPS
Bluetooth
HW 2d And 3D
USB
Charging

What doesn't work:
Camera
Download Market
Talk
Data phone (I don't have the test)
Possibly more..........................
.................................................. ........................


N.HA D2 CM9-ICS 4.0.3: http://www.mediafire.com/?ph3pxcvgy71xeg7
GAPPS ICS 12/22/11: http://www.mediafire.com/?db9zc0mq1lj0gqe

Donate for hard work:
donate to ngocha2006
Last edited by ngocha2006; 25th December 2011 at 10:39 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to ngocha2006 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 02:24 AM   |  #2  
ZOMBI3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ann Arbor, Michigan
Thanks Meter: 108
 
275 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Really ? Its already out ? Ill try it then,

EDIT,I Tried it pretty sweet stuff, Can't wait for everything to work

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
Last edited by ZOMBI3; 26th December 2011 at 03:56 AM.
27th December 2011, 03:13 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
This is such great news!!! knowing that motorola is unlikely to release an official build of ICS! I will follow this thread closely!
27th December 2011, 06:38 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
69 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
This should develop a lot quicker since they have an absolute vanilla ROM to start with, right?
27th December 2011, 10:29 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
wow, i honestly wasn't expecting to see this thread that soon!
I am definitely going to give it a try.

I wonder if market download issue is related to drm server not started. HTC Vision ICS alpha builds had this problem. I will report back once I get a chance to try it.

Edit: Just as I thought issue with market not downloading is due to DRM server not started at boot. To fix market downloads do the following on shell as root:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw /system
chmod +x /system/bin/drmserver
/system/bin/drmserver&
mount -o remount,ro /system
After this Market will install fine.

How do we get in CWR? Reboot to recovery doesn't appear to be working, even wipe data from settings doesn't engage. I noticed now during boot while at M logo, brightness goes down and notification light goes blue for a second, then green for another second then off, shortly after boot animation starts. I tried holding vol+- keys and camera to see if I boot into something else than normal boot, but no luck. Actually - managed to boot in "safe mode" by holding the camera key I believe (or was it some of the vol keys?). Phone started but was saying "safe mode" in the lower left corner of the screen.

So far I can say WIFI, bluetooth and GPS work fine, but GSM/CDMA connection is not. Phone says no service and signal bar is blank. I cannot even get into mobile network settings (force closes), even *#*#4636#*#* service menu FC's. Also messaging app crashes on boot (I guess related to GSM/CDMA issue).

But I am impressed how smoothly phone operates, transitions and all!
Last edited by leobg; 27th December 2011 at 11:57 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to leobg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2011, 12:32 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Another bug I found - HW keyboard has issues with ~ button (top left corner). In most cases it engages as Tab key. I managed to get it do ~ once or twice. The rest of the blue symbols (ALT) work fine. ALT Lock functions properly too (except for ~ key).

Also launcher seems to be not quite landscape aware, or at least there is something buggy there. When I slide keyboard open while on home screen or in app drawer, the screen orientates and shows fine in landscape in split second then goes back portrait.

As far as GSM/CDMA goes - no go. Tried both with and without SIM card - nothing happens. Phone settings keep force closing.
The Following User Says Thank You to leobg For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th December 2011, 02:46 AM   |  #7  
Dark Cricket's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Phone.apk
In order to change from GSM to CDMA, you must edit the phone.apk to withstand the global mode
28th December 2011, 02:56 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Cricket

In order to change from GSM to CDMA, you must edit the phone.apk to withstand the global mode

Not sure exactly what you mean honestly. I am in Canada and use the phone on GSM. My CDMA radio is active too, but I only use it when travelling in the US. The thing is phone does not start in either mode. Nor there is way to flip between modes. I was thinking of editing build.prop to set in either mode (not default Global), but data wipe doesn't work either. And I can't figure way how to enter Clockwork either. Waiting on more knowledgeable people to shed some light here...

Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
28th December 2011, 09:37 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by leobg

wow, i honestly wasn't expecting to see this thread that soon!
I am definitely going to give it a try.

I wonder if market download issue is related to drm server not started. HTC Vision ICS alpha builds had this problem. I will report back once I get a chance to try it.

Edit: Just as I thought issue with market not downloading is due to DRM server not started at boot. To fix market downloads do the following on shell as root:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw /system
chmod +x /system/bin/drmserver
/system/bin/drmserver&
mount -o remount,ro /system
After this Market will install fine.

How do we get in CWR? Reboot to recovery doesn't appear to be working, even wipe data from settings doesn't engage. I noticed now during boot while at M logo, brightness goes down and notification light goes blue for a second, then green for another second then off, shortly after boot animation starts. I tried holding vol+- keys and camera to see if I boot into something else than normal boot, but no luck. Actually - managed to boot in "safe mode" by holding the camera key I believe (or was it some of the vol keys?). Phone started but was saying "safe mode" in the lower left corner of the screen.

So far I can say WIFI, bluetooth and GPS work fine, but GSM/CDMA connection is not. Phone says no service and signal bar is blank. I cannot even get into mobile network settings (force closes), even *#*#4636#*#* service menu FC's. Also messaging app crashes on boot (I guess related to GSM/CDMA issue).

But I am impressed how smoothly phone operates, transitions and all!

Right when the LED turns blue, I've pressed volume down and I was in the android boot menu. Hope this helps. Still can't figure how to make GSM work. It worked on first install, but after I installed gapps refused to work anymore and keeps giving an error at startup about messaging service. But I'm not giving up...
The Following User Says Thank You to bebilakner For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th December 2011, 12:06 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 141
 
1,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebilakner

Right when the LED turns blue, I've pressed volume down and I was in the android boot menu. Hope this helps. Still can't figure how to make GSM work. It worked on first install, but after I installed gapps refused to work anymore and keeps giving an error at startup about messaging service. But I'm not giving up...

Thanks!! I guess my timing was bad when I was trying combinations

Now at least I know how to get into recovery. I'll try playing with build.prop to see if I can fire up in GSM or CDMA mode instead of Global..

---------- Post added at 06:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:01 PM ----------

Another interesting thing is about battery. Not sure if gauge works, but today after 12+ hours on battery (with wifi enabled!) I am still at 100%...

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes