[Guide] Absolute Newbie's Guide to Rooting a Streak 7 that has Stock Honeycomb

Search This thread

EwanG

Jan 16, 2009
San Antonio, TX
500px.com
Obviously this guide owes a huge bunch of thanks to "TheManii", "Giveen" and other folks who can't be named on this forum. I have tested this on both a Streak 7 WiFi and a Streak 7 4G. In both cases they had the Stock Honeycomb already on them. So if you are coming from some other version of Android you may wish to reconsider :D

1) Download the Fastboot+ADB.zip file for Clockwork Mod 5.0.2.7 from the XDA Developers thread (http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1334487)

2) Download the Clockwork mod 5.0.2.7 file from the XDA Developers thread (http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1334487)

3) Go into Settings->Applications and turn on "Run Applications from Unknown Sources"

4) Go to Development Settings and select "USB Debugging"

5) Unpack the Fastboot+ADB file into a directory on your computer where you can find it again

6) Attach the Streak to your PC, and copy the "Drivers.zip" file from the root directory of the Streak (/sdcard) to the same directory where you unpacked the Fastboot file

7) Turn off your Streak after you have copied this file, and disconnect it from the PC

8) Unpack the drivers.zip file and find the "Setup.MSI" file. Execute this file to install the drivers you will need

9) Put your Streak into Fastboot mode - i.e. turn it off, then turn it on by pressing the Power button while holding the Vol DOWN (-) at the same time. This can take up to 20 seconds

10) You will get some red text followed by a white line saying something about Fastboot USB downloading is active

11) Connect the streak to the PC now, and it should install an Android ADB driver. Depending on what you have already setup you may get some drivers installed successfully, and some not. In general if you've been following this guide, you'll be ok