FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Guide] Absolute Newbie's Guide to Rooting a Streak 7 that has Stock Honeycomb

263 posts
Thanks Meter: 31
 
By EwanG, Senior Member on 26th December 2011, 02:40 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th May 2012, 02:40 PM |#41  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by manjulapra

Thanks.
Please pardon me if I look dumb. But I have already installed HC by DJSteve given at XDA. I want to update it. For that I think I need to root it. The tried the guide here but for that I need Drivers.zip which should be in the tablet. But I can not find it.

Somewhere in these threads and I don't exactly know where someone was missing those same files. Someone posted a link to them. Try to do a search on "drivers.zip" and maybe you can locate the post.
 
 
31st May 2012, 09:12 AM |#42  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
new DS7 user here
Help!!!

my new DS 7 with Android 2.2 stock just arrived and need your help guys. I've been looking around the thread if I can use this GUIDE directly from stock FROYO? or do i need to upgrade first.


just unboxing my unit now.

any input pls.
2nd June 2012, 12:11 AM |#43  
Junior Member
Flag Laredo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Finally Rooted my DS7
I wish to thank EwanG for making this so simple to accomplish. I had been holding off in doing it and finally got down to doing it. I can't seem to find the "Thanks" button on the forum, so again, thanks EwanG.

Edit: Found the button!
Last edited by sanchezrd13; 2nd June 2012 at 12:22 AM. Reason: Thanks button found.
4th June 2012, 03:01 PM |#44  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
@ EwanG thank you so much for this easy to follow guide....

Im happy with my DS7...

also guys,

any update on this ice cream thread???

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1316719
22nd August 2012, 05:29 PM |#45  
Junior Member
Flag Hualahuala
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Unhappy Bootloader error
[/QUOTE]
Steps 1-15)

16) To get it to reboot into CWM, turn the Streak off, and then turn it on again while holding the Power Button and Volume UP (+) at the same time. This may take up to 30 seconds

From here you would follow the normal CWM options to install just the root files (Superuser7 for one example) or install a custom ROM.[/QUOTE]



I have followed these instructions, from step one. I have tried it twice, but when I reboot to go into CWM it gives a stock recovey and when I try option #2 it gives the following error " Unrecoverable Bootloader error (0x00000000). "
What did I do wrong?

I have A Dell Streak 7 with OTA Honeycomb.
Last edited by baracalao; 23rd August 2012 at 12:30 AM. Reason: update system information
23rd August 2012, 07:44 AM |#46  
FALCON-LORD's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hey All.
I have a Stock 7 with Honeycomb, and have followed the above. When I boot with the + down the menu shows no change, though during the attempt at installing clockwork it looks like it came up with no issues.
Is anyone able to shone some light on the issue?
(Dos output below)
C:\StreakRoot\Win32>fastboot -i 0x413C flash recovery C:\StreakRoot\S7_3.2-6.0.1
.1.img
sending 'recovery' (4732 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.408s]
writing 'recovery'...
OKAY [ 1.316s]
finished. total time: 1.726s
C:\StreakRoot\Win32>fastboot -i 0x413C reboot
rebooting...
finished. total time: 0.001s
C:\StreakRoot\Win32>
23rd August 2012, 06:59 PM |#47  
giveen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Caldwell, ID
Thanks Meter: 1,547
 
Donate to Me
More
You need to select now the update package option and that will take you to recovery mode

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to giveen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2012, 02:11 AM |#48  
FALCON-LORD's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Got Root!
Thanks for getting me over that last hurdle giveen.
24th August 2012, 07:15 PM |#49  
Junior Member
Flag Hualahuala
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
question about rooting problem
Greetings to all.

I have tried the instructions. I have actually run through the process 4 times now, from step one.

I get the same error each time. When I try to boot into recovery. It appears to still be the stock recovery, when I select option #2 it gives a bootloader error message.

Has anyone else had this issue?

Any of you gurus have a suggestion?

I will try anything at this point to get cwm working and root.
Last edited by baracalao; 25th August 2012 at 04:04 AM.
29th August 2012, 05:54 AM |#50  
Nocturnal_50's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Coolah
Thanks Meter: 134
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baracalao

Greetings to all.

I have tried the instructions. I have actually run through the process 4 times now, from step one.

I get the same error each time. When I try to boot into recovery. It appears to still be the stock recovery, when I select option #2 it gives a bootloader error message.

Has anyone else had this issue?

Any of you gurus have a suggestion?

I will try anything at this point to get cwm working and root.

did you put the device into fastboot and flash recovery? if no, do it. if yes did you rename your recovery image to "recovery.img" minus the quotation marks and use "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" through the fastboot command?
29th August 2012, 06:31 AM |#51  
Junior Member
Flag Hualahuala
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Unhappy Still no dice!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal_50

did you put the device into fastboot and flash recovery? if no, do it. if yes did you rename your recovery image to "recovery.img" minus the quotation marks and use "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" through the fastboot command?

Yeah, I have tried that. This is really frustrating.

Any other suggestions?

I have the .27 Honeycomb OTA. I don't know if that is making a difference.
Last edited by baracalao; 29th August 2012 at 06:49 AM. Reason: add information

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, root, streak 7
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes