FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[fastboot] stock 6.2.1 fastboot mode without rooting or cables

767 posts
Thanks Meter: 397
 
By pokey9000, Senior Member on 28th December 2011, 07:21 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
All you need is working adb and fastboot on your PC.

Just like doing "idme bootmode 4002" in 6.2 but working in 6.2.1.

Download the attached fbmode.zip and run:

Code:
adb push fbmode /data/local/tmp
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/fbmode
adb shell /data/local/tmp/fbmode
adb reboot
Then follow instructions to flash TWRP or whatever.

Experimental Version 0.9: includes nbmode for setting normal boot (4000) and rcmode for setting recovery boot (5000). Untested, PM me if there's a problem.
Attached Files
File Type: zip fbmode.zip - [Click for QR Code] (255.7 KB, 61508 views)
File Type: zip fbmode-0.9.zip - [Click for QR Code] (767.0 KB, 18630 views)
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to pokey9000 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pokey9000 Ad-Free
 
 
29th December 2011, 07:37 PM |#2  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 14,587
 
10
Donate to Me
More
This should allow users who chmod'd/deleted /system and no longer have root to reboot to fastboot, correct?
29th December 2011, 08:34 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 397
 
More
I haven't tested it in that scenario, but it should. It shouldn't need anything more than adb. It's even static since I was too lazy to figure out why I was having trouble with shared libs.
29th December 2011, 09:03 PM |#4  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 14,587
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokey9000

I haven't tested it in that scenario, but it should. It shouldn't need anything more than adb. It's even static since I was too lazy to figure out why I was having trouble with shared libs.

Confirmed, works fine for ppl that screwed off /system without a recovery.

*Stickyfied for awesomeness.
30th December 2011, 05:27 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hello
thanks for your help
but it doensn't work for me
i booted the KF with the standard usb cable to use ADB
but refused this line : "adb shell /data/local/tmp/fbmode"
and impossible to go further
thanks if you have an idear
jluc
30th December 2011, 06:55 PM |#6  
jcase's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Taco Vendor
Flag Sequim WA
Thanks Meter: 14,587
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucien12

hello
thanks for your help
but it doensn't work for me
i booted the KF with the standard usb cable to use ADB
but refused this line : "adb shell /data/local/tmp/fbmode"
and impossible to go further
thanks if you have an idear
jluc

First make sure adb i even functioning
Code:
adb shell
if you get a $ or # prompt then it is,
then exit
Code:
exit
then
Code:
adb push fbmode /data/local/tmp
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/fbmode
adb shell /data/local/tmp/fbmode
adb reboot
30th December 2011, 09:22 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Talking
Worked like a charm recovering a bricked KF 6.2.1.
applied this, installed TWRP, modified the driver, rebooted in recovery, and installed the stock update to 2.6.1 without wiping.

Now my KF is working again. this would have been a sad long day if you weren't here. thanks pokey9000
31st December 2011, 05:18 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thanks a ton! This works great! Any chance you're willing to release the source code to this?
31st December 2011, 06:59 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 397
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonas3d

Thanks a ton! This works great! Any chance you're willing to release the source code to this?

No, I'm hoping to make it a little harder for Amazon to close this up. That said, you could recreate this very quickly from an strace.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to pokey9000 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pokey9000 Ad-Free
31st December 2011, 08:59 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
done that. device reboot and then pc show device as "unknown".
tried to install recovery no good. device not found.
only after "reboot normal" the pc find the device but then its like before: abdb cannot ......
please help
31st December 2011, 10:15 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Austin
Thanks Meter: 397
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilanlen

done that. device reboot and then pc show device as "unknown".
tried to install recovery no good. device not found.
only after "reboot normal" the pc find the device but then its like before: abdb cannot ......
please help

Sounds like you have a problem with fastboot on your PC. Search in General, there are a bunch of threads on this.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to pokey9000 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift pokey9000 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes