Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,777 Members 41,738 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][2.2+] GTA3 Graphical Settings + Launcher [v1.4]

Tip us?
 
hacksteak25
Old
(Last edited by hacksteak25; 3rd January 2012 at 08:26 PM.) Reason: new version
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Lightbulb [APP][2.2+] GTA3 Graphical Settings + Launcher [v1.4]

Just a small quick and dirty app that let you change some of the GTA3 default settings.

Original settings are backed up to (GTA3 Folder)/files/GTA3/gta3.gtsettingslauncher.set. If the app completely fails or you want to use the original settings after uninstalling the app, just copy this file back to (...)/gta3.set.

When your gta3.set is missing, please start the game and go to the display options. Change some settings and then hit "restore defaults". Then try again and start the settings app.
If there is still no settings file, get one from this forum (e.g. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=29) or google. After launching the game with the downloaded settings file go to the in-game display settings an click "restore defaults". That should fix some problems with screen width and height.

Available Settings:
  • Shadows: On/Off
  • Lighting: On/Off
  • Resolution: High/Low
  • Rendering Distance: 18 Steps
  • Blur: On/Off *

* Blur is not working for me. The setting is always disabled when starting the game. Maybe it is working on other devices (Tegra?).

Currently only tested on I9100 with GTA3 German. Please let me know if it is working or not.

Changes:

2012/01/03 - v1.4:
  • catch more exceptions
  • changed launcher, it now hopefully will find the target more often

2012/01/02 - v1.3:
  • added another external_sd path (now searching in "/mnt/sdcard/external_sd/Android/data/", "/mnt/sdcard/Android/data/", "/mnt/sdcard/external_sd/data/" for package)

2011/12/31 - v1.2:
  • added launcher icon
  • added blur setting (which might have no effect)
  • changed namespace - please uninstall the old version manually. I used an example package found on the internet as skeleton and forgot to change it, sry

2011/12/29 - v1.1:
  • added external_sd to search path

Make sure to download the LATEST version.
The Following 64 Users Say Thank You to hacksteak25 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jikobutsu
Old
(Last edited by jikobutsu; 29th December 2011 at 08:57 PM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2010
Thankyou excellent work dev,works great.

My device is zte skate
And at 900Mhz on Atomic 2.5 rom,
Chainfire reduce texture size and quality,
With this app you have created,
It is running good now.
The Following User Says Thank You to jikobutsu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kxlling
Old
#3  
kxlling's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
I just get instant force close when trying to run this. I was looking to try the lower resolution for performance increase.

I'm using a rooted vibrant (t959), with a custom 2.2 rom
Current:
Samsung Galaxy S III Blue (Sprint), Quantum
Prev:
Samsung Vibrant (T-Mobile), Axura Ryder/Fishman Mod {sold}
HTC G1 Black (T-Mobile), CM6 {sold}


Wife's:
Samsung Galaxy S III White (Sprint), Stock
Prev:
LG MyTouch Q Violet (T-Mobile), Stock
HTC MyTouch Slide 3G Black (T-Mobile), Stock - broken display
 
hacksteak25
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kxlling View Post
I just get instant force close when trying to run this. I was looking to try the lower resolution for performance increase.

I'm using a rooted vibrant (t959), with a custom 2.2 rom
Can you please post the full path to the original gta3.set? I think the path can't be found.
The Following User Says Thank You to hacksteak25 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kxlling
Old
#5  
kxlling's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by hacksteak25 View Post
Can you please post the full path to the original gta3.set? I think the path can't be found.
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y8/...-29_130706.png
The path is in that screen shot.
Current:
Samsung Galaxy S III Blue (Sprint), Quantum
Prev:
Samsung Vibrant (T-Mobile), Axura Ryder/Fishman Mod {sold}
HTC G1 Black (T-Mobile), CM6 {sold}


Wife's:
Samsung Galaxy S III White (Sprint), Stock
Prev:
LG MyTouch Q Violet (T-Mobile), Stock
HTC MyTouch Slide 3G Black (T-Mobile), Stock - broken display
 
hacksteak25
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2011
Added "external_sd" to search path. Please try again with the new version.
The Following User Says Thank You to hacksteak25 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
starbase64
Old
#7  
starbase64's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 527
Posts: 2,951
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lennestadt

 
DONATE TO ME
+ 1
Starbase64 YouTube Channel | Stabase64 Blog | Starbase64 Flickr Stream


Device: HTC One m8ul
ROM: InsertCoin
Kernel: Stock is the best
S-OFF: Yes
SuperCID: Yes
MID: 0P6B10000
PVS: 1

Device: Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7''
ROM: CM 10.2
Kernel: stock
Recovery: TWRP
Baseband: stock
 
kxlling
Old
#8  
kxlling's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Works great now, thanks for the fix. Almost lag free now. Thanks!
Current:
Samsung Galaxy S III Blue (Sprint), Quantum
Prev:
Samsung Vibrant (T-Mobile), Axura Ryder/Fishman Mod {sold}
HTC G1 Black (T-Mobile), CM6 {sold}


Wife's:
Samsung Galaxy S III White (Sprint), Stock
Prev:
LG MyTouch Q Violet (T-Mobile), Stock
HTC MyTouch Slide 3G Black (T-Mobile), Stock - broken display
 
mypainkiller
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2011
thanks for sharing, i hope this is worked on my device
 
Ditti4
Old
#10  
Ditti4's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 197
Posts: 429
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rochlitz

 
DONATE TO ME
Works perfect on the HTC Desire HD! Thank you! :>

Sent from my loved HTC Desire HD@CM7. <3
HTC Desire HD|rooted|S-Off|Probably running a Android ROM (Flash-o-holic, so I can't keep this information up to date)

Loving to help people who have problems with something.

Got a problem with one of my projects? Feel free to write me a PM.

GNU/Linux on Android? No problem:


Like my work? Hit the Thanks-button!
Love my work? Donate to me!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes