5,593,293 Members 32,550 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlock Bootloader on Mac OS X - Rezound

Tip us?
 
xjedi
Old
(Last edited by xjedi; 12th July 2012 at 04:29 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 466
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Default Unlock Bootloader on Mac OS X - Rezound

I had trouble unlocking the bootloader on my iMac but got it to work.

Just posting this to help out my fellow Mac Heads who've turned from the evil iPhone.

Unlocking your bootloader will probably or definitely void your warranty. I am in no way responsible for you screwing up your beautiful Rezound. (K, that's out of the way.)

Prep work:

1. I had an old Android SDK and couldn't get it to work.
HTC Dev site stated I only needed adb and fastboot for this (but I don't remember when I actually used an adb command). Anyhoo... download the latest Android SDK from the link provided by HTC Dev from the link at the right side (as your following the process). Save and uncompress it in the root of your hard drive and rename it ' android ' (no single quotes) - this step just makes it easier.

2. Check if there is a 'platform-tools' folder. If not then in the 'tools' folder just double click the 'android' file and it'll open Terminal and run the Android SDK Manager app. I only checked the 'Android SDK Platform-tools' for installation but you can install whatever else you want. Click the button 'Install (x) package' close to the bottom right. After it's done you'll find the 'platform-tools' folder and that's where adb will be. (Like I said, I don't remember using any ./adb commands, though)

NEXT FOLLOW THE HTC WEBSITE STEPS
(this is on the website)

1. After you've pulled the battery and placed it back in, hold VolumeDown and Power button to restart. At white screen, select Fastboot with volume rocker and hit the power button. Connect cable from phone to mac.

2. Download the Mac version of the Fastboot in Step 5 of the HTC Website. Uncompress it and place it in the root of the 'android' folder. Rename it 'fastboot' (without single quotes) from 'fastboot-mac'.

3. Open a new Terminal window (Applications/Utitilies).

Type: cd /android
(that's if you had placed the android folder at the root of your hard drive) or you can type: cd then <space> then drag the android folder from a finder window into the terminal window
hit return

Type: ./fastboot oem get_identifier_token

4. Per the instructions at the HTC Website Step 9, Copy the Identifier token text.
(I copied and pasted it into a text app and deleted the "(bootloader)" text in there, then copied the resulting text.)

5. Paste into HTC Website Step 10 inside the "My Device Identifier Token:" box and hit submit.

If it goes through you'll get a Congratulations webpage and your unlock file will be sent to your registered email.

6. Download the Unlock_code.bin file into the android folder where the 'fastboot' file should be.

7. Go back into the Terminal window.
Type: ./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin

8. Your phone should go off and come up with an Unlock Your Phone screen. Use the volume rocker to select Yes and hit the Power button. Should restart and you're good to go.

Good luck!

TIP:
Originally Posted by AshtonTS
to avoid having to use the ./ (this should probably be done after you set up adb and fasboot but before you start the Actual unlock part)
Code:
nano ~/.bash_profile
and then add
Code:
export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/yourusername/wherever/adbfolder
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to xjedi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
feralicious
Old
#2  
feralicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 673
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: City of Angels
Will unlocking on OS X also result in a factory reset at the end?
 
Slacker101
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 270
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by feralicious View Post
Will unlocking on OS X also result in a factory reset at the end?
Of course.
If I helped, thank me by hitting the button please
The Following User Says Thank You to Slacker101 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xjedi
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 466
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
What Slacker101 said. Yup
The Following User Says Thank You to xjedi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joeyrey
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 235
Join Date: Jan 2010
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.
 
MrSmith317
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 314
Posts: 970
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyrey View Post
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.
Did you check the permissions on the file? Hopefully you can read/write/execute them. I don't see any mention of needing to be root so I'd assume you're safe without su'ing.
 
xjedi
Old
(Last edited by xjedi; 10th January 2012 at 06:28 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 466
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyrey View Post
I get a permission denied when i type '/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token'.. any way around that? Also, i enabled myself at root user and admin.
Since you're on a shared computer, just login as the main administrator member. If you had to enter a password when you dropped in the Android SDK into the root of your drive your specific login will probably have permission problems. Not a big deal, just annoying.

Or you can drop the android folder onto your Desktop and cd into that. Then you would just modify it to /Users/<yourusername>/Desktop/android/fastboot oem get_identifier_token for example. But you may not have to if you've already cd into the folder anyway.
 
lloydcabraham
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 291
Join Date: Jun 2010
When I follow your steps, I get the following message:

cannot load unlock_code.bin

Please help me
 
xjedi
Old
(Last edited by xjedi; 25th January 2012 at 07:07 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 141
Posts: 466
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tempe, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydcabraham View Post
When I follow your steps, I get the following message:

cannot load unlock_code.bin

Please help me
What step are you on?

edit: I'm guessing you're on step 7. Did you download the unlock file you received via email from htc dev directly to where the fastboot directly is in, i.e., /android/ or to a different place?
 
MrSmith317
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 314
Posts: 970
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydcabraham View Post
When I follow your steps, I get the following message:

cannot load unlock_code.bin

Please help me
Are you currently in the same directory as unlock_code.bin when you run the fastboot command?
“Around here, however, we don't look backwards for very long.
We keep moving forward, opening up new doors and doing new things,
because we're curious...and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”

-Walt Disney

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes