Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Portal Refresh Bug Report and Feature Request

OP svetius

30th December 2011, 08:37 AM   |  #11  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 449
 
2,786 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
I get the feeling there are some very inconsistant rendering results.

The first time i logged on all i saw was adverts, there maybe the same number but they where much more in your face and apeared larger, it really did look terrible which might explain some of the comments you've had

I then reset my IE9 settings an i now cant comment on any portal posts, just doesnt let me type any more screen is there, all the buttons etc but it wont physically let me type, very odd. but on the plus side the adverts seem to have shrunk a bit. However there are some large gaps, namely below the widget that also doesnt work

There are 5 adverts on the portal, and although they appear larger and more in your face its not as bad as it was the first time i loaded the website and before i reset my browser, which to be fair, i shouldnt need to do. However when you click on the comments button for the article it brings up the list of comments and comments box (which i cant use) but also a couple of adverts right next to each other, that looks terrible, ill see if i can get a pic

oh, you might want to change the first article in the portal, the one with the pic of the new portal, your looking at the new portal, so you see what the pic is showing, except its like picture in picture, which might be a reason some folk think it looks messy, sounds silly, but youd be surprised how our minds work

oh an finally, will the new buttons frame be consistant through XDA, looks better if the buttons stay the same on all pages.
Last edited by dazza9075; 5th June 2012 at 03:24 AM.
30th December 2011, 09:02 AM   |  #12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_scotsman

The Twitter, Facebook and Google+ links at the bottom of each post on the main portal page are just images. They're not linked to anything.

Yes, they do not work.
I've tried clicking the hyperlinks using Chrome, IE, and Firefox.
Those links are just images.
30th December 2011, 09:18 AM   |  #13  
victy23's Avatar
Junior Member
China
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Google Chrom
30th December 2011, 11:16 AM   |  #14  
Faryaab's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 14,227
 
2,834 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_scotsman

Google text still not hyperlinked for me.

Tried logging out, wiping cache and logging back in. Widget still doesn't work. This is in Chrome / W7 x64.

Also tried on IE, which I have never used for xda, so it's a fresh start. Logged in, widget still doesn't work.

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x64..
30th December 2011, 11:29 AM   |  #15  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 9,571
 
10
23,614 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo

this WORKS fine for me on the ones i tried, make sure the link has /#comments BROKEN LINKS (top 2 posts) are /#respond
but tweet/+1/fb arent hyperlinked as posted above,

Nah, they all show up as #respond for me.....
30th December 2011, 12:25 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Thumbs up Good job
The new layout looks good without my addblocker but with it is a lot of white but great job
30th December 2011, 01:27 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Flag Caracas
Thanks Meter: 60
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faryaab

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x64..

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x32
30th December 2011, 02:20 PM   |  #18  
DeadSOL's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,797
 
3,102 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
The widget doesn't work here, either.
Also, I clicked on the "Galaxy S and Galaxy Tab Will Probably Get ICS" article at the top of the page but it is taking me to the HTC unlocked bootloaders article.


EDIT: Could you also space out the links to Forums, XDA TV, WIKI, Device DB, etc? They look a little too cramped.

Google Chrome 16 (with Adblocker installed) and Windows 7 (64 bit).
30th December 2011, 02:21 PM   |  #19  
imfloflo's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Guyancourt/Clermont-Ferrand, France
Thanks Meter: 801
 
3,004 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
More
I think it's too much white, where is the yellow-brown XDA theme.
Same pb widget login/ social button

BTW Maybe the Donation page need a refresh too : http://forum.xda-developers.com/donations.php
30th December 2011, 02:29 PM   |  #20  
Simon_WM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bradford
Thanks Meter: 69
 
1,690 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Am logged in on the forums, but i cant use the widget ? say i need to login ??

---------- Post added at 01:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by imfloflo

I think it's too much white, where is the yellow-brown XDA theme.
Same pb widget login/ social button

BTW Maybe the Donation page need a refresh too : http://forum.xda-developers.com/donations.php


+1 for Donations revamp !

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes