FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Portal Refresh Bug Report and Feature Request

3,743 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,752
 
By svetius, User Experience Admin on 30th December 2011, 03:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
30th December 2011, 07:37 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 458
 
Donate to Me
More
I get the feeling there are some very inconsistant rendering results.

The first time i logged on all i saw was adverts, there maybe the same number but they where much more in your face and apeared larger, it really did look terrible which might explain some of the comments you've had

I then reset my IE9 settings an i now cant comment on any portal posts, just doesnt let me type any more screen is there, all the buttons etc but it wont physically let me type, very odd. but on the plus side the adverts seem to have shrunk a bit. However there are some large gaps, namely below the widget that also doesnt work

There are 5 adverts on the portal, and although they appear larger and more in your face its not as bad as it was the first time i loaded the website and before i reset my browser, which to be fair, i shouldnt need to do. However when you click on the comments button for the article it brings up the list of comments and comments box (which i cant use) but also a couple of adverts right next to each other, that looks terrible, ill see if i can get a pic

oh, you might want to change the first article in the portal, the one with the pic of the new portal, your looking at the new portal, so you see what the pic is showing, except its like picture in picture, which might be a reason some folk think it looks messy, sounds silly, but youd be surprised how our minds work

oh an finally, will the new buttons frame be consistant through XDA, looks better if the buttons stay the same on all pages.
Last edited by dazza9075; 5th June 2012 at 02:24 AM.
 
 
30th December 2011, 08:02 AM |#12  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_scotsman

The Twitter, Facebook and Google+ links at the bottom of each post on the main portal page are just images. They're not linked to anything.

Yes, they do not work.
I've tried clicking the hyperlinks using Chrome, IE, and Firefox.
Those links are just images.
30th December 2011, 08:18 AM |#13  
victy23's Avatar
Junior Member
China
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Google Chrom
30th December 2011, 10:16 AM |#14  
Faryaab's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 14,255
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_scotsman

Google text still not hyperlinked for me.

Tried logging out, wiping cache and logging back in. Widget still doesn't work. This is in Chrome / W7 x64.

Also tried on IE, which I have never used for xda, so it's a fresh start. Logged in, widget still doesn't work.

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x64..
30th December 2011, 10:29 AM |#15  
the_scotsman's Avatar
Assistant Forum Admin / Moderator Committee / Haggis Muncher
Flag NSW, Australia
Thanks Meter: 10,927
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo

this WORKS fine for me on the ones i tried, make sure the link has /#comments BROKEN LINKS (top 2 posts) are /#respond
but tweet/+1/fb arent hyperlinked as posted above,

Nah, they all show up as #respond for me.....
30th December 2011, 11:25 AM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thumbs up Good job
The new layout looks good without my addblocker but with it is a lot of white but great job
30th December 2011, 12:27 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Flag Caracas
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faryaab

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x64..

Widget not working using Chrome / W7 x32
30th December 2011, 01:20 PM |#18  
DeadSOL's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,801
 
More
The widget doesn't work here, either.
Also, I clicked on the "Galaxy S and Galaxy Tab Will Probably Get ICS" article at the top of the page but it is taking me to the HTC unlocked bootloaders article.


EDIT: Could you also space out the links to Forums, XDA TV, WIKI, Device DB, etc? They look a little too cramped.

Google Chrome 16 (with Adblocker installed) and Windows 7 (64 bit).
30th December 2011, 01:21 PM |#19  
imfloflo's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Flag Guyancourt/Clermont-Ferrand, France
Thanks Meter: 802
 
Donate to Me
More
I think it's too much white, where is the yellow-brown XDA theme.
Same pb widget login/ social button

BTW Maybe the Donation page need a refresh too : http://forum.xda-developers.com/donations.php
30th December 2011, 01:29 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag Shipley
Thanks Meter: 69
 
Donate to Me
More
Am logged in on the forums, but i cant use the widget ? say i need to login ??

---------- Post added at 01:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by imfloflo

I think it's too much white, where is the yellow-brown XDA theme.
Same pb widget login/ social button

BTW Maybe the Donation page need a refresh too : http://forum.xda-developers.com/donations.php


+1 for Donations revamp !
30th December 2011, 01:45 PM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I see another problem - when you try to open xda-developers in secure http, web doesn't work properly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xda-developers.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	11.1 KB
ID:	835405  

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes