Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lumia 800 Touchscreen Bug?

OP rockvoid

31st December 2011, 04:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
502 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
do all Lumis 800 have this bug?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=DXlvh-Rz9j0
http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/...h/td-p/1221503
1st January 2012, 08:13 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 20
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
The one I received yesterday doesn't have this issue.
1st January 2012, 01:38 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 30
 
316 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Mine does but only with the charger plugged in. Try plugging in your charger and open up a webpage, try holding down on some text until the cursor pops up and see if it shakes about.
1st January 2012, 03:02 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
357 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
I did notice this a few days ago. But it stoped behaving this way a few days ago and now everything works fine.
2nd January 2012, 12:43 AM   |  #5  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 1,783
 
8,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickfarr

Mine does but only with the charger plugged in. Try plugging in your charger and open up a webpage, try holding down on some text until the cursor pops up and see if it shakes about.

Yep, just checked mine plugged in and it does it. Seems a lot of phones get digitizer issues when plugged in, you'd think they'd have isolated the cause by now.
2nd January 2012, 12:11 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty!

Yep, just checked mine plugged in and it does it. Seems a lot of phones get digitizer issues when plugged in, you'd think they'd have isolated the cause by now.

I don't seem to be able to do it. As soon as I leave my finger for 2-3 seconds it enter tile relocation mode.
2nd January 2012, 11:25 PM   |  #7  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 1,783
 
8,000 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Scroll first
6th March 2012, 10:22 PM   |  #8  
Heathcliff74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,056
 
1,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
The new 12070 update is available here. It is confirmed unbranded. You can update any Lumia 800. It improves battery, fixes hardware keys and also fixes the touchscreen-issue described in this thread.

Ciao,
Heathcliff74

EDIT: OOPS!! Spoke too soon! Touchscreen issue is back!
Last edited by Heathcliff74; 6th March 2012 at 11:05 PM.
7th March 2012, 10:28 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
It's a grounding issue. How bad it is can depend on the humidity in the room and if the phone is plugged in our not.

It affects all capacitive screens to a degree, just some companies are better at masking the effect. It depends on how good your touchscreen controller is, and nokia's isn't the best.
7th March 2012, 07:18 PM   |  #10  
ShotSkydiver's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 98
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yeah, mine does this often. Every touchsceen phone I've owned does it to some extent, though the lumia seems to do it more frequently/worse.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes