Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,830 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Lumia 800 Touchscreen Bug?

Tip us?
 
rockvoid
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 501
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Lumia 800 Touchscreen Bug?

do all Lumis 800 have this bug?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=DXlvh-Rz9j0
http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/...h/td-p/1221503
 
srikat
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 189
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne

 
DONATE TO ME
The one I received yesterday doesn't have this issue.
Daily driver: OnePlus One

Backup phones: Moto G, Note 2.
 
mickfarr
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 316
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dublin
Mine does but only with the charger plugged in. Try plugging in your charger and open up a webpage, try holding down on some text until the cursor pops up and see if it shakes about.
 
ChrisKringel
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 357
Join Date: Jan 2009
I did notice this a few days ago. But it stoped behaving this way a few days ago and now everything works fine.
 
Rusty!
Old
#5  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,751
Posts: 7,918
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickfarr View Post
Mine does but only with the charger plugged in. Try plugging in your charger and open up a webpage, try holding down on some text until the cursor pops up and see if it shakes about.
Yep, just checked mine plugged in and it does it. Seems a lot of phones get digitizer issues when plugged in, you'd think they'd have isolated the cause by now.
Google Nexus 5 on Three UK
 
joaocardoso
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty! View Post
Yep, just checked mine plugged in and it does it. Seems a lot of phones get digitizer issues when plugged in, you'd think they'd have isolated the cause by now.
I don't seem to be able to do it. As soon as I leave my finger for 2-3 seconds it enter tile relocation mode.
 
Rusty!
Old
#7  
Rusty!'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,751
Posts: 7,918
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portsmouth
Scroll first
Google Nexus 5 on Three UK
 
Heathcliff74
Old
(Last edited by Heathcliff74; 6th March 2012 at 10:05 PM.)
#8  
Heathcliff74's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2,054
Posts: 1,439
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
The new 12070 update is available here. It is confirmed unbranded. You can update any Lumia 800. It improves battery, fixes hardware keys and also fixes the touchscreen-issue described in this thread.

Ciao,
Heathcliff74

EDIT: OOPS!! Spoke too soon! Touchscreen issue is back!

www.wp7roottools.com

Developer of "WP7 Root Tools"
Pioneer of "Interop Unlock"
Pioneer in Native Code Development on WP7


Also look at some of my other work:
Collection of all official WP7 updates, language packs and OEM updates
Guide for deploying files to your WP7 device


If you have questions about unlocking, please read this before you start mailing me, because my mailboxes are full

 
Boburto
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 94
Join Date: Feb 2011
It's a grounding issue. How bad it is can depend on the humidity in the room and if the phone is plugged in our not.

It affects all capacitive screens to a degree, just some companies are better at masking the effect. It depends on how good your touchscreen controller is, and nokia's isn't the best.
 
ShotSkydiver
Old
#10  
ShotSkydiver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 90
Posts: 426
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tempe

 
DONATE TO ME
Yeah, mine does this often. Every touchsceen phone I've owned does it to some extent, though the lumia seems to do it more frequently/worse.

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Board Express
AT&T

HTC One M8 Gunmetal Gray
Samsung Galaxy SIII
Nokia Lumia 920
HTC Surround

1st Gen Kindle Fire
HP TouchPad 4G 32GB
-----------------------------------
Latest Work
Pantech Discover Rooting/Modding
Galaxy Note II ParanoidAndroid Unofficial

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more