FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

{Help}MSL Codes for Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider

173 posts
Thanks Meter: 39
 
By rexxcastle, Senior Member on 1st January 2012, 04:39 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello i just recently got a new Optimus V Slider from Virgin. I have tried everything i know possible to get the MSL code out of this thing to no avail. I have tried the method that is used with the Reg Optimus V using CDMA Workshop and no matter what driver is used the workshop will not connect ot the com. I have also tried using getprop ril.MSL, all i get from that is a blank line.

Can someone please Help me get my MSL code.
 
 
2nd January 2012, 05:59 AM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Still trying to solve this issue
2nd January 2012, 05:54 PM |#3  
rutter9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Just call tech support. Tell them you are a developer and need the code. If it doesn't work call back and get someone else.
2nd January 2012, 08:20 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This method works for the Motorola Triumph on VM, might be worth a try here.

1) Download aLogcat from the Market.
2) Press Menu and choose "Filter." Type in "SEC_CODE" without the quote marks.
3) Press Home. Go to your dialer and enter ##33284#.
4) You'll be prompted for your MSL. Enter 000000.
5) Now go back to aLogcat and the six-digit number showing after SEC_CODE: is your MSL.
2nd January 2012, 09:55 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarcasmsiempre

This method works for the Motorola Triumph on VM, might be worth a try here.

1) Download aLogcat from the Market.
2) Press Menu and choose "Filter." Type in "SEC_CODE" without the quote marks.
3) Press Home. Go to your dialer and enter ##33284#.
4) You'll be prompted for your MSL. Enter 000000.
5) Now go back to aLogcat and the six-digit number showing after SEC_CODE: is your MSL.

this method also does not currently work for the Slider.
2nd March 2012, 11:10 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Donate to Me
More
yes it does work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexxcastle

this method also does not currently work for the Slider.

download alogcat 2.3 from market and follow those directions but instead of putting a filter just scroll up and you should see D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr( 304): MSL=000000
Last edited by marley183rd; 2nd March 2012 at 11:15 PM.
22nd November 2012, 09:38 AM |#7  
Laserbeak43's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marley183rd

download alogcat 2.3 from market and follow those directions but instead of putting a filter just scroll up and you should see D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr( 304): MSL=000000

Hi, I'm trying this now, but it's hard to find it in all of this information logcat is outputting. is there a filter that i could set?

-edit-
just looked through the whole thing again after a reeboot(the log was shorter) and there's no instance of " D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr"
Last edited by Laserbeak43; 22nd November 2012 at 09:42 AM.
24th December 2012, 08:40 AM |#8  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserbeak43

Hi, I'm trying this now, but it's hard to find it in all of this information logcat is outputting. is there a filter that i could set?

-edit-
just looked through the whole thing again after a reeboot(the log was shorter) and there's no instance of " D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr"

just type in msl in filter lol
Last edited by flipinfin; 24th December 2012 at 08:58 AM.
18th February 2013, 04:17 AM |#9  
PS4AndroidHacker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barberton,Ohio
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
Question MSL code for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus Slider
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipinfin

just type in msl in filter lol

Just typing in MSL in the filter doesn't do squat. Ive tried it on my fiance's phone for the last two days and have got nothing.
Methods I've tried:
1. MSL Reader.apk- This was no-fu-go
2. Logcat.apk - Still havent seen anything pertinent on this app
3. Alogcat.apk - Havent seen any msl numbers or spc numbers.
4. Tried the usual 000000 when entering the MSL. - No-Fu-Go.
Tomorrow I am going to barage Virgin Mobile with phone calls and try to get the MSL for the phone and see how things go. I'm very doubtful they will give it up easily but I'll give it a try and let you all know how it goes. If anybody has any advice let me know please. I would greatly appreciate it and wouldnt mind donating beer money etc for a method that works. Lol. Any help greatly appreciated with this dumb smart phone lol.

[EDIT] I called Virgin Mobile and talked with Supervisors and their supervisors. They WILL NOT give out MSL codes for phones. You may have to contact the manufacturer of the phone in order to get the MSL for the phone. That's what they suggested to me. LOL! Virgin Mobile sucks ass!
Last edited by PS4AndroidHacker; 27th February 2013 at 03:24 PM. Reason: Edit
14th August 2013, 08:16 AM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
For what it is worth, you can get the MSL pretty easily, but it requires using a tool to read the phone while in diagnostic mode like CDMA Workshop
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes