Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,957 Members 54,556 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

{Help}MSL Codes for Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider

Tip us?
 
rexxcastle
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default {Help}MSL Codes for Virgin Mobile Optimus Slider

Hello i just recently got a new Optimus V Slider from Virgin. I have tried everything i know possible to get the MSL code out of this thing to no avail. I have tried the method that is used with the Reg Optimus V using CDMA Workshop and no matter what driver is used the workshop will not connect ot the com. I have also tried using getprop ril.MSL, all i get from that is a blank line.

Can someone please Help me get my MSL code.
 
rexxcastle
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Still trying to solve this issue
 
rutter9
Old
#3  
rutter9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 299
Join Date: Dec 2007
Just call tech support. Tell them you are a developer and need the code. If it doesn't work call back and get someone else.
 
sarcasmsiempre
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
This method works for the Motorola Triumph on VM, might be worth a try here.

1) Download aLogcat from the Market.
2) Press Menu and choose "Filter." Type in "SEC_CODE" without the quote marks.
3) Press Home. Go to your dialer and enter ##33284#.
4) You'll be prompted for your MSL. Enter 000000.
5) Now go back to aLogcat and the six-digit number showing after SEC_CODE: is your MSL.
 
rexxcastle
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 134
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarcasmsiempre View Post
This method works for the Motorola Triumph on VM, might be worth a try here.

1) Download aLogcat from the Market.
2) Press Menu and choose "Filter." Type in "SEC_CODE" without the quote marks.
3) Press Home. Go to your dialer and enter ##33284#.
4) You'll be prompted for your MSL. Enter 000000.
5) Now go back to aLogcat and the six-digit number showing after SEC_CODE: is your MSL.
this method also does not currently work for the Slider.
 
marley183rd
Old
(Last edited by marley183rd; 2nd March 2012 at 11:15 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Default yes it does work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexxcastle View Post
this method also does not currently work for the Slider.
download alogcat 2.3 from market and follow those directions but instead of putting a filter just scroll up and you should see D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr( 304): MSL=000000
 
Laserbeak43
Old
(Last edited by Laserbeak43; 22nd November 2012 at 09:42 AM.)
#7  
Laserbeak43's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 100
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by marley183rd View Post
download alogcat 2.3 from market and follow those directions but instead of putting a filter just scroll up and you should see D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr( 304): MSL=000000
Hi, I'm trying this now, but it's hard to find it in all of this information logcat is outputting. is there a filter that i could set?

-edit-
just looked through the whole thing again after a reeboot(the log was shorter) and there's no instance of " D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr"
 
flipinfin
Old
(Last edited by flipinfin; 24th December 2012 at 08:58 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laserbeak43 View Post
Hi, I'm trying this now, but it's hard to find it in all of this information logcat is outputting. is there a filter that i could set?

-edit-
just looked through the whole thing again after a reeboot(the log was shorter) and there's no instance of " D/SpecialCharSequenceMgr"
just type in msl in filter lol
 
PS4AndroidHacker
Old
(Last edited by PS4AndroidHacker; 27th February 2013 at 03:24 PM.) Reason: Edit
#9  
PS4AndroidHacker's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 313
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Barberton,Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Question MSL code for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus Slider

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipinfin View Post
just type in msl in filter lol
Just typing in MSL in the filter doesn't do squat. Ive tried it on my fiance's phone for the last two days and have got nothing.
Methods I've tried:
1. MSL Reader.apk- This was no-fu-go
2. Logcat.apk - Still havent seen anything pertinent on this app
3. Alogcat.apk - Havent seen any msl numbers or spc numbers.
4. Tried the usual 000000 when entering the MSL. - No-Fu-Go.
Tomorrow I am going to barage Virgin Mobile with phone calls and try to get the MSL for the phone and see how things go. I'm very doubtful they will give it up easily but I'll give it a try and let you all know how it goes. If anybody has any advice let me know please. I would greatly appreciate it and wouldnt mind donating beer money etc for a method that works. Lol. Any help greatly appreciated with this dumb smart phone lol.

[EDIT] I called Virgin Mobile and talked with Supervisors and their supervisors. They WILL NOT give out MSL codes for phones. You may have to contact the manufacturer of the phone in order to get the MSL for the phone. That's what they suggested to me. LOL! Virgin Mobile sucks ass!

Rooted Droid 3: Fiance' spilled coke on it,retired now.

Rooted Droid 4

Rooted Droid Razr

Rooted HTC Evo 3D 4G(Virgin Mobile) with unlocked bootloader!!

Rooted LG Optimus Slider(Virgin Mobile)
 
VicFreeze
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 80
Join Date: Aug 2009
For what it is worth, you can get the MSL pretty easily, but it requires using a tool to read the phone while in diagnostic mode like CDMA Workshop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more