FORUMS

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

New Firmware downloading now..

1,217 posts
Thanks Meter: 232
 
By recklesslife85, Senior Member on 2nd January 2012, 11:49 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
2nd January 2012, 08:54 PM |#101  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Mine updated without problems, but did take 8 minutes to restart... I do wonder why some have experience bricked updates... could it be instability caused by a certain combination of installed apps? is it important to do a clean reboot first before applying the update? (postpone , then reboot and apply?)

If we could try to identify a cause for the bricks, then perhaps we could at least have a "best practices" before applying any updates.

Just a thought... since this could happen next time to any one of us.
Last edited by mazjohn; 2nd January 2012 at 08:57 PM.
 
 
2nd January 2012, 08:57 PM |#102  
deviouskater's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Did anybody install all three successfully. Or did ppl only install 2

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium
2nd January 2012, 09:00 PM |#103  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I got 3 updates, two firmware, one camera, the screen sensitivity is much better, that makes me really happy cause it was missing quite a few presses sometimes especially when it's really cold and dry out, low humidity
2nd January 2012, 09:00 PM |#104  
the_game_master's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quinnco

Just the first today. I did the Dec updates when I got it. I knew it was too good to be true. I did not have the issues others were having, no light bleed, good Wifi, GPS locks,... Perfect until the .33 OTA update. Oh hell. I am going to have to use my GTab until I get this back sometime in the spring. I am too mad to even call Asus yet. I am going to go and get some food and calm down before calling tonight.

I feel your pain.


If my Prime comes in perfect tomorrow I will likely skip these automatic updates.
2nd January 2012, 09:01 PM |#105  
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Uhhh my tablet just rebooted itself
2nd January 2012, 09:02 PM |#106  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
completed all 3 updates, running just fine.
2nd January 2012, 09:05 PM |#107  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deviouskater

Did anybody install all three successfully. Or did ppl only install 2

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium

I got 3 updates in total- the first one was the main update, after accepting, it rebooted on its own and I got the green robot with gears spinning... this went on for a few minutes-

Then , I got the ASUS logo- it sat on this screen for over 7 minutes.

then it finally reached the login screen.

I logged in, and there was a firmware upgrade available- I accepted, and it downloaded and installed. It popped up saying that update was finished. It did not ask me to reboot. I did not reboot.

Then I received another update notice. (third one) This one was for the camera. I accepted. It downloaded (took a good 2 minutes to download) It installed and popped up saying "update complete"

Thats where I am at. I have let the screen sleep but have not yet done a full shutdown and restart.

Hope this can help others.
2nd January 2012, 09:08 PM |#108  
demandarin's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Alexandria, Va
Thanks Meter: 2,050
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyMcBain

I got 3 updates, two firmware, one camera, the screen sensitivity is much better, that makes me really happy cause it was missing quite a few presses sometimes especially when it's really cold and dry out, low humidity

people who got mulitple updates were most likely on older versions than a good number of people. as the different versions that people had were a lil fragmented and some were on older cam and build versions than others. I only received the one system update to put me at .33. as my other component versions are up to date already.
2nd January 2012, 09:11 PM |#109  
deviouskater's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_game_master

I feel your pain.


If my Prime comes in perfect tomorrow I will likely skip these automatic updates.

Sorry man. I feel it too. I was all excited about my prime but this happened.

Well im just going to wait till its instock and its easy to find. Or wait to see if Google brings out a nexus line for tablets.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium
2nd January 2012, 09:20 PM |#110  
deviouskater's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjohn

I got 3 updates in total- the first one was the main update, after accepting, it rebooted on its own and I got the green robot with gears spinning... this went on for a few minutes-

Then , I got the ASUS logo- it sat on this screen for over 7 minutes.

then it finally reached the login screen.

I logged in, and there was a firmware upgrade available- I accepted, and it downloaded and installed. It popped up saying that update was finished. It did not ask me to reboot. I did not reboot.

Then I received another update notice. (third one) This one was for the camera. I accepted. It downloaded (took a good 2 minutes to download) It installed and popped up saying "update complete"

Thats where I am at. I have let the screen sleep but have not yet done a full shutdown and restart.

Hope this can help others.

Yeah my first updated fine. But once I hit to upgrade the 2nd eeepad update the screen became unresponsive for about an hour. Didn't show update complete in background.

Sent from my PC36100 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes